Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2010, 09:39 AM   #1
Onomontopeka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Turn (power) a Mac on Remotely

Hi,
Does anyone know of any software that can power up on a mac from a remote location?

To my knowledge, it can't be done but I wanted to see if anyone knew of a way to do this either through the same network, or through an outside connection.

I'm on a PPC G5 Tiger 10.4.11.

I'm thinking the power button needs to be pushed physically, right?

Thanks
-Matt
Onomontopeka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 09:41 AM   #2
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onomontopeka View Post
Hi,
Does anyone know of any software that can power up on a mac from a remote location?

To my knowledge, it can't be done but I wanted to see if anyone knew of a way to do this either through the same network, or through an outside connection.

I'm on a PPC G5 Tiger 10.4.11.

I'm thinking the power button needs to be pushed physically, right?

Thanks
-Matt
You can set the timer for it to come on at certain times. Energy preferences I think.
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 09:42 AM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
There is a feature called wake-on-LAN, but it's only implemented in new Macs. The TCP/IP provides for it, but it needs to be implemented by software and hardware.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 09:44 AM   #4
MacBoobsPro
macrumors 603
 
MacBoobsPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Send a message via AIM to MacBoobsPro
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
There is a feature called wake-on-LAN, but it's only implemented in new Macs. The TCP/IP provides for it, but it needs to be implemented by software and hardware.
But doesnt the computer need to be sleeping and not off for this to work?
MacBoobsPro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 09:45 AM   #5
peterdevries
macrumors 68000
 
peterdevries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
There is a feature called wake-on-LAN, but it's only implemented in new Macs. The TCP/IP provides for it, but it needs to be implemented by software and hardware.
wake-on-LAN kind of implies that the Mac is asleep. So I guess it can't be turned off, because it needs to be listening through the network connection to get a wake-on-LAN command right?

If it's off, it isn't listening and it won't power up.. Just assumptions here though.

edit: what MacBoobsPro said...
__________________
Yeah, well, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man.
peterdevries is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote access to view, turn on/off iSight Camera Johnny Gilligan iPhone 11 Dec 26, 2013 06:57 PM
Excel 11 for Mac on a 27" iMac Crotonmark Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Sep 12, 2011 02:00 PM
Apple Remote with Mac Pro? futurevibe Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 25, 2011 06:31 AM
turning off ipod with apple remote (video) issicus iPod 1 Dec 21, 2010 02:30 AM
How can i see when my mac was first used/turned on? ReeceKidman Mac Basics and Help 4 Nov 8, 2010 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC