Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:42 PM   #1
apatel87
macrumors regular

Comparison of Different Airport Extreme Models

Hi, there are a lot of Airport Express threads going around but since I didnt want to hijack anyone else's thread I thought I would start a new one. I need a router very soon and was hoping to get the Airport Extreme since the majority of the computers in the house are Macs. My friend was gifted an Airport Extreme MB763LL/A and was offering it to me for $105 brand new sealed. I am pretty sure that this is not the new model and was wondering what the differences were between this one and the new model and whether it was worth the extra movie. I think the main difference is the gigabit ethernet but as a noob I am not exactly sure the benefit of having it. Would streaming high definition files to the Apple TV become a problem?
Also does this model has simultaneous dual band. Amazon states that it does but I wanted to make sure. Finally, the computer that is going to be hardwired is actually a PC. Does this matter in the setup? Can I set it up using a Mac even though it wont be hard wired to the router. Many of these questions seem basic but they would help a lot. And also, responses are much appreciated as I need to get back to him by this evening. Thanks!
apatel87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:43 PM   #2
apatel87
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by apatel87 View Post