Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2010, 04:55 PM   #1
yehgermeister
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Black Bars on side of HDTV when connected to mbp

i recently purchased a samsung hdtv. i tried connecting it to my early 08 penryn mbp with a dvi to hdmi cable. i'm mirroring by the way. overscan is turned on.

it works fine when i use 1080p, but there are black bars on the side. tried messing with the tv settings, but nothing helped. i'm sure the problem lies on the mbp side. how do i get rid of them? i don't have this issue when i boot into windows 7 on my boot camp partition.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

here's a picture. sorry it's a bit dark.
yehgermeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 07:43 PM   #2
FSUSem1noles
macrumors 65832
 
FSUSem1noles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Send a message via AIM to FSUSem1noles
Quote:
Originally Posted by yehgermeister View Post
i recently purchased a samsung hdtv. i tried connecting it to my early 08 penryn mbp with a dvi to hdmi cable. i'm mirroring by the way. overscan is turned on.

it works fine when i use 1080p, but there are black bars on the side. tried messing with the tv settings, but nothing helped. i'm sure the problem lies on the mbp side. how do i get rid of them? i don't have this issue when i boot into windows 7 on my boot camp partition.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

here's a picture. sorry it's a bit dark.
You may have to change your TV config from 16:9 picture size to "just scan".

Most of the influence on how the picture looks comes from the TV side, not the MBP side..
__________________
Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.
FSUSem1noles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Look for stuff on SwitchresX and the Samsung TV

Probably find stuff like

http://web.me.com/anthonysigalas/Site/Samsung.html
__________________
If you are the type of person who solves all their problems with a hammer, because it is the only tool in your toolbox. It would be wise of you to never get in an argument with a gunsmith.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 01:13 PM   #4
roidy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
I could be wrong but if you use mirroring then I think you can only use the lowest resolution of the two screens ie your samsung is 1920x1080 but your MBP is 1440x900. So it will only use 1440x900. If you look below the large resolution selection box it says "Usable Resolution 1440x900". Try turning off mirroring and just use the Samsung as the primary display and see it you can get the correct resolution.
roidy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2010, 08:59 PM   #5
iAlexG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Florida, Missing Britain.
Yh listen to the people above. Switch your samsung to scan and go into display preferences on your macbook and set your tv as the main monitor (by dragging the menu bar from the small screen to the big one).
__________________
13" MacBook Pro 2.53GHz | iPhone 4 16GB | 32GB Ipod Touch 2nd Gen
iAlexG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2011, 08:09 AM   #6
Aqwerfass
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
My Sony Tube set is just about done and I lose the picture at times every day. So I have been looking at purchasing an HDTV Set for my Bell Express Vu service. I currently subscribe to Satellite 91 and have been told its about $10 - 12 more per month to get the HDTV Channels on Satellite 82. I have the 9200 PVR Receiver with capability of 25 Hours of HD Recording. There are 2 cables coming down from the roof into my Bell 9200 Receiver.
Aqwerfass is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2011, 12:49 PM   #7
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Your MacBook's display is 16:10 and your TV's display is 16:9, so OS X uses the lowest common denominator (16:10 for both).

There isn't a solution to this, since the displays are different ratios. You can either stretch (yuck) or pillar box (a lot less yuck).
__________________
Hack Pro Mini Core i3 4130 | GTX 780 | 8GB 1033MHz | 840 EVO 120GB | OS X 10.9.1 / Windows 8 | White Bitfenix Prodigy
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pink bars/lines and black squares are appearing on my screen. (MBP Mid-2009). Help??? Chedd Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 23, 2014 01:41 PM
MBP External Monitor Black Bars hammerklavier MacBook Pro 0 Apr 18, 2013 04:31 AM
iphone white bars/black bars? duhyes iPhone 7 Jan 7, 2013 06:07 AM
iPad: iPad connected to the net and working fine, but no signal bars. Why? kdum8 iPad 3 Dec 22, 2012 03:17 AM
HELP: Black bars on left and right side of screen at resolution of 2560x1440 BNHabs MacBook Air 0 Jun 21, 2012 02:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC