Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2010, 02:08 AM   #1
hybridge
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Upgrade to 10.5.8 from 10.4.11

Hello.
I just bought Power mac G5 dual 2.0 precessor. It has OS 10.4.11 on it and I wouldlike to upgrade to 10.5.8. Can I upgrade directly or do I need to something else before that. Sorry this is my first Apple computer. Been always a PC guy. Thanks for any help.
hybridge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 02:11 AM   #2
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
you need to buy 10.5 upgrade discs, look on ebay or craigslist, they wont be very cheap though , make sure you get proper disc, dont buy them if there grey disc, as they are machine specific
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 02:11 AM   #3
TwinCities Dan
macrumors 603
 
TwinCities Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
You will need a Leopard install disc. They were originally $129, but I'm sure you can find them cheaper now...
__________________
Guilty feet do have rhythm, they just dance to the wrong theme music to amuse the villian
Instead of killin', I spare the raccoon n' start fillin' sand bags as I stare at the moon...Thoughts flood
TwinCities Dan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 02:30 AM   #4
hybridge
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks guys.
hybridge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 08:25 AM   #5
Gregg2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Sorry, but that's not good info. Hope you come back...

Call Apple to order a Leopard retail disc. Last month, I saw a post that said "I got it for $80."

If you order from eBay seller, you might get a machine-specific disc (or set) that will not install on your Mac, unless you have a system for winning the lottery.

People selling their old disc sets are trying to turn them into cash, and are charging outlandish prices in some cases. Stay away from gray discs. You want the black one with a big X on it.
Gregg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 09:47 AM   #6
hybridge
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks gregg2. I'll check out the Apple store this weekend. One more question on PC, I used to clone my hard drive with Acronis and wonder what program can I use in Mac to clone my hard drive? Sorry this is my first Mac and need some idea. Thanks for any help.
hybridge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 09:49 AM   #7
paddyhazard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
To clone a hardd drive use carbon copy cloner - http://www.bombich.com/ or superduper.
__________________
Mac Pro, 2x2.66 GHz, 5 GB, 20" ACD
13" MacBook Pro 2.26 GHz, 4 GB, 500 GB, 24" NEC Multisync;
paddyhazard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 10:13 AM   #8
hybridge
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks Paddy.
hybridge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 10:56 AM   #9
kudukudu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
My recommendation to you is the following:

1. purchase an external hard drive with a firewire connection.
2. backup your drive to the external drive using super duper (I like super duper more than carbon copy cloner, but both are good).
3. Change your settings so you boot from the external hard drive (this is one of the cool things about OS X, that the boot drive can be internal or external).
4. Upgrade the external drive OS from 10.4 to 10.5 using whatever option you like.
5. Make sure you are happy with the results.
6. Change your boot drive to your internal drive and perform the upgrade (alternatively you could just use super duper to copy the contents of the external drive to the internal drive).
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, single quad core CPU, 10 GB RAM, 8800GT, 128 GB SSD, 2 TB drive, 1 TB drive, 750 GB drive, 30" ACD
kudukudu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 11:12 AM   #10
hybridge
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks kudukudu. Wow I can see that clearly. Great idea.
hybridge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2010, 12:01 PM   #11
kudukudu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Of course if this is a new machine and you haven't started populating it yet with your user data, then I would simply go for a fresh install of 10.5 without going through the hassle of testing the upgrade out on an external hard drive first.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro, single quad core CPU, 10 GB RAM, 8800GT, 128 GB SSD, 2 TB drive, 1 TB drive, 750 GB drive, 30" ACD
kudukudu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you have an AT&T early iPhone upgrade? Check to see if today is a full upgrade... POLBOSS iPhone 0 Nov 23, 2013 02:40 PM
Upgrade wife's 2006 MacBook or trade her and upgrade my 2009 MBP? doctuh MacBook Pro 3 Nov 15, 2013 11:27 PM
[UPGRADE] Base 2012 Mac Mini SSD and Memory Upgrade That-Guy Mac mini 43 Apr 14, 2013 09:52 PM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 08:57 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 03:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC