Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Old Apr 3, 2010, 11:28 AM   #1
sancho2
macrumors newbie

New 27" imac wont boot from leopord dvd

Here is the dumb mistake i made and need help fixing. I got the new imac with the Intel i7 and ATI card. I wanted to put windows 7 on a second partition but messed up bad as i erased my mac partition when i was in the windows installer. My imac wont boot from the leopord dvd as i can choose it but it locks up right after i click on the snow leopord dvd icon. I tried to boot from an external hard drive that was formatted from another mac with snow leopord on it and the guid partition is correct. same with a usb drive as it see it but locks up after clicking on it. Anyone know why i cant reinstall? Please im kind of new with mac and really need some help. Thanks gary
p.s. I tried the option key and pressing c at start up with the dvd in and it can see the install dvd but wont boot into it.
sancho2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2010, 11:34 AM   #2
Hellhammer

Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
http://guides.macrumors.com/Mac_doesn't_boot
Old Apr 3, 2010, 12:04 PM   #3
sancho2
macrumors newbie

my dumb mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Yes i did try your guide and nothing worked. Seems like the imac wont let me reinstall from snow leopard at all. Do you know if there is a utility disk i can get that will let me format the hard drive? Thanks again for the help. If i cant do it from a utility disk I will have to just send back but at least want to try to correct my mistake.
Old Apr 3, 2010, 12:11 PM   #4
Hellhammer

Quote:
Originally Posted by sancho2 View Post