Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac7

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 14, 2009
I'm entering college this coming fall, going to major in computer science, would a Macbook Pro be feasible or should I stick to PC?

Should I go with the 13" or 15"? My main use would be for school with whatever they throw at me within computer science. Some light gaming and photoshop. I might dab into imovie and garageband also. Then everyday use(firefox, email, itunes, etc.)

I also want the laptop to last atleast till I finish college.

nutman

macrumors regular
May 19, 2006
I am currently enrolled at UC Irvine and the majority of our classes are in java. For us, it really doesn't matter what os you ultimately choose. And plus, you will be meeting lots of linux heads in college.

Zortrium

macrumors 6502
Jun 23, 2003
I graduated in CS from a top liberal arts college last year and the CS department was about 80% Macs and 20% Linux. I can only think of one professor who used Windows on a regular basis (and he still had a MacBook Pro). Unless the department specifically stipulates that Windows is required, you should be fine with a Mac.

bluskale

macrumors regular
Mar 29, 2010
Xcode is pretty nice for developing, I understand. If you need to run windows stuff occasionally, you can always virtualize or boot camp it.

mikeo007

macrumors 65816
Mar 18, 2010
You will end up using linux more than anything, but if you have some old school professors, you're going to want to have windows as an option, even if it's just by virtual machine. Things like turbo assembler/pascal/other old crap are still around and taught for different reasons.

I preferred a PC for my comp sci studies, but that is just because I couldn't be bothered to virtualize everything. We used mostly windows/linux based tools.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
You will most likely use a lot of linux or unix.