Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:28 PM   #1
ozziegn
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Handbrake does not work for me. What are other options to put DVDs on my iPad?

as the title says. I have a PC with Windows 7 and Handbrake doesn't work. What are some other good options to rip my DVDs to my iPad?
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Milfin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I put my appletv format and it works perfect.
__________________
RMBP 2.7 ghz 16GB
20" Imac (2009)
Iphone 4 16GB, 32gb iPad 3 +LTE,TV
Milfin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:50 PM   #3
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milfin View Post
I put my appletv format and it works perfect.

okay but what does that do or me? I need a program that will convert my DVDs to the iPad format.
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:55 PM   #4
abijnk
macrumors 68040
 
abijnk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to abijnk
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
okay but what does that do or me? I need a program that will convert my DVDs to the iPad format.
Handbrake is by far, IMHO, the best option for you. Perhaps we could help you trouble shoot it?
__________________
Abbie
Twitter
Hockey Ramblings
abijnk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:57 PM   #5
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I think he was asking what kind of problems are you having with handbrake. Is it not installing, complaining about missing a dll, or is it producing videos, but they won't sync with iTunes?

I never could get handbrake to work on my pc, I could never get all the accessory programs installed correctly. I've had much better luck on the mac platform, although I did need to downgrade vlc to the last known 64 bit version to get the latest handbrake to work.

The only other method I can think of is try dvdfab, it's not free but they have a 30 day trial I think, and it will convert to some mobile formats. (I have not used it myself however......)
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:57 PM   #6
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I use to use Handbrake on my Mac and it worked great. But I have never had any luck with it on my Windows machines. I just assume find an alternative to Handbrake that will work on my Windows 7 machine if possible.
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 03:59 PM   #7
4DThinker
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Get a $50 external USB DVD drive and play them off that. That's all it would take with any good netbook anyway.
__________________
Visit my blog!
4DThinker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:02 PM   #8
MasterJack
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I hate to ask this but I can't seem to add movies to my iPad - not unless I got them from iTunes. I want to add some training videos (AVI files) which I know I need to convert to MP4 but when I do and drag them to iTunes (Movie Section) I get nothing. Is there no way to add our own files to the iPad (videos)? That would be sorry.....

MasterJack
MasterJack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:06 PM   #9
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DThinker View Post
Get a $50 external USB DVD drive and play them off that. That's all it would take with any good netbook anyway.
that's what I have. a netbook with an external DVD writer and Handbrake doesn't work.
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:09 PM   #10
Repo
macrumors 6502a
 
Repo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
What is the exact problem you're having with HandBreak?
Repo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:12 PM   #11
FSUSem1noles
macrumors 65832
 
FSUSem1noles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Send a message via AIM to FSUSem1noles
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
that's what I have. a netbook with an external DVD writer and Handbrake doesn't work.
if handbrake isn't working, you can try AnyDvd on the Windows side..
__________________
Sarchasm: The gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn't get it.
FSUSem1noles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:12 PM   #12
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repo View Post
What is the exact problem you're having with HandBreak?
when I start up HB and I tell it to use the DVD source, I acts like it's scanning the movie but nothing happens. I look at the activity log and it keeps giving all these errors....
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:15 PM   #13
Repo
macrumors 6502a
 
Repo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
when I start up HB and I tell it to use the DVD source, I acts like it's scanning the movie but nothing happens. I look at the activity log and it keeps giving all these errors....
That's very strange. I've successfully used HB on Win XP with no problems. Are you in any situation to try that?
Repo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:16 PM   #14
4DThinker
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
that's what I have. a netbook with an external DVD writer and Handbrake doesn't work.
Uhm... Play the DVD on your netbook? There are two parts to your problem. One is the iPad. Skip the iPad and play the DVD off the DVD drive on the netbook.
__________________
Visit my blog!
4DThinker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:17 PM   #15
ugp
macrumors 65816
 
ugp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Inverness, Florida
Send a message via AIM to ugp Send a message via Yahoo to ugp Send a message via Skype™ to ugp
I used Handbrake and converted 1080p rips down to 1024x*

Works just fine.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB Black
2nd Gen 16GB iPad Mini
ugp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:32 PM   #16
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DThinker View Post
Uhm... Play the DVD on your netbook? There are two parts to your problem. One is the iPad. Skip the iPad and play the DVD off the DVD drive on the netbook.
nice suggestion..... any other helpful ones???
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:33 PM   #17
dave1812dave
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
as the title says. I have a PC with Windows 7 and Handbrake doesn't work. What are some other good options to rip my DVDs to my iPad?
it should work on 7. what's your issue?
dave1812dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:33 PM   #18
esmode
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
when I start up HB and I tell it to use the DVD source, I acts like it's scanning the movie but nothing happens. I look at the activity log and it keeps giving all these errors....
You are probably running into copy protection. Handbrake doesn't circumvent that. You need to decrypt/rip your dvd in another app first, then convert the files to AppleTV format using Handbrake. I can confirm that the default AppleTV profile in Handbrake works.

As for ripping dvds you can go with AnyDvD or for older dvds, dvddecryptor. I did all of this on windows 7 64bit. Don't know the tools for Mac that well yet.
esmode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:33 PM   #19
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repo View Post
That's very strange. I've successfully used HB on Win XP with no problems. Are you in any situation to try that?
not really. I have Win 7 loaded on my netbook. I really don't feel like reformatting to XP only to find out it doesn't work either.
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:34 PM   #20
dave1812dave
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
not really. I have Win 7 loaded on my netbook. I really don't feel like reformatting to XP only to find out it doesn't work either.
use dvdecrypter to rip the dvd. use handbrake to encode. both are fine on win 7.
dave1812dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:37 PM   #21
ozziegn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1812dave View Post
use dvdecrypter to rip the dvd. use handbrake to encode. both are fine on win 7.
Okay, I tried that and so far it looks like it's gonna work. thanks for the helpful suggestion.
__________________
27" iMac 3.06 - Gold 16GB iPhone 6 Plus - 32GB white iPad Air

Last edited by ozziegn; Apr 4, 2010 at 05:12 PM.
ozziegn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:39 PM   #22
Repo
macrumors 6502a
 
Repo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
not really. I have Win 7 loaded on my netbook. I really don't feel like reformatting to XP only to find out it doesn't work either.
XP Mode?
Repo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:40 PM   #23
dave1812dave
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
okay. I'll try that.
works great. but be prepared to wait a while, depending on your cpu and memory. my toshiba lappy finishes way faster than my desktop HP which is fine for routine PC usage, but awful for encoding w/ handbrake.
dave1812dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:41 PM   #24
dave1812dave
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Repo View Post
XP Mode?
you are missing the point. handbrake DOES work fine in win 7.
dave1812dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2010, 04:42 PM   #25
Repo
macrumors 6502a
 
Repo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1812dave View Post
you are missing the point. handbrake DOES work fine in win 7.
As it should. The OP, however, says it doesn't.
Repo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mackeeper moved files to trash put back won't work! how do i put files back? canuckuk1 Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 18, 2014 02:27 PM
Want to copy some work training DVDs to my ipad wannabelean iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Jan 1, 2014 04:53 AM
16Gb iPad 4 and Handbrake - Settings for SD DVDs Tigerman82 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Feb 1, 2013 09:35 PM
Handbrake Anamorphic and 4x3 DVDs ???s spacepower7 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Dec 18, 2012 10:55 PM
Can't get my external DVD/Blueray to work with Handbrake. tmedia1 MacBook Pro 7 Oct 18, 2012 01:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC