Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2010, 02:10 PM   #26
hliewprk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Number of Fingers on Space Bar For Tab

2 fingers on Space Bar, 2 spaces; 3 fingers on Space Bar, indent 3 spaces and even 4 fingers work. Give it a try.
hliewprk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 12:17 PM   #27
EssentialParado
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrlrd;
There is nothing I hate more than editing someone elses document that they wrote up that has spacing in it that was created using the tab key. If you do not know how to use margins in Pages then you should go learn how. Using the tab key is like typing on a typewriter from old days, you have a word processor that is capable of creating excellent margins and advanced spacing but you choose to screw up the entire formatting of your document by using the tab key? You are ridiculous, such an awful habit to reinforce, I am glad Apple did not include a tab key.
Thanks for making that point. it really does make sense to learn how to do things properly instead of complaining that the hack we were ignorantly using before doesn't exist anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hliewprk;
2 fingers on Space Bar, 2 spaces; 3 fingers on Space Bar, indent 3 spaces and even 4 fingers work. Give it a try.
Great tip! This is very useful for simple writing apps like Notepad.

I really wish these little shortcuts were documented by Apple somewhere.
EssentialParado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 04:46 PM   #28
Hammie
macrumors 65816
 
Hammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wash, DC Metro
Maybe, if you press the space bar five times you will get a tab.

Oh wait, you do.
Hammie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 02:33 PM   #29
j-a-x
macrumors 65816
 
j-a-x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by HBEE View Post
I haven't seen this posted anywhere, but I just figured out how to indent a bullet point in Keynote using the touch screen.

If you double click on the bulleted text, you get option to cut, paste etc. If you then touch between the bullet point and the text, the whole line gets highlighted and you can move it wherever you like. You can indent it or move it up or down.

I hope this isn't obvious to others 'cause I'll feel like a dork.

+1 you just made my day because now I can indent my presentation! Thanks!
j-a-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2011, 03:01 PM   #30
cbronfman
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Washington DC
Keynote - bullet indent

Thanks from me too. Very useful info.
cbronfman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2011, 05:00 PM   #31
lewjos1972
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
A solution?

So you want to tab? Double tap, click More..., then Insert..., and there you have it! Tab!!!!
lewjos1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2011, 06:39 PM   #32
xStatiCa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgfx View Post
Although I can see the argument for not using tabs in word processing, and I can kind of agree with that, I would still expect a tab key. My reasoning? Well when typing an email, or filling in a form online it can be quite a pain to keep repositioning my hands from typing mode, to having to touch somewhere on the screen to go to the next field.

eg. typing an email; going from the 'to' field, to the subject, then the message body would be so much quicker with a tab, or even create a new button, calling it something like 'next'?

That's really my only larger gripe with the iPad right now.
There are already buttons to *tab* between fields using safari.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ASk8rsPCAAEJpFs.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	290751  
xStatiCa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2011, 09:17 PM   #33
Blorzoga
macrumors 68020
 
Blorzoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBF View Post
That's why iPad is nothing but an oversized iPod Touch.
Yeah, that's all it is, genius.
Blorzoga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 05:45 AM   #34
lewjos1972
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Updated solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by lewjos1972 View Post
So you want to tab? Double tap, click More..., then Insert..., and there you have it! Tab!!!!
I should mention that I found this in Pages. Not sure if it works on other programs
lewjos1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 03:31 PM   #35
fjtb2000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Really - No Tab Key on iPhone & iPad?

My old Treo 650 smartphone had a tab key that functioned perfectly. Perfect columns whenever needed. It's Very outdated now and Treo long discontinued- but I find myself making columns all the time. To make indented columns Now on my iPhone I hit space bar a 3-9 times for each indented column needed and deal with poor results __THX APPLE__WHY IS THAT?___ or I do the following if it must be perfect.
____ (1) Example...My old Treo 650 had perfect keyboard functions
____ (2) Example...My old Treo 650 had perfect keyboard functions
____ (3) Example...My old Treo 650 had perfect keyboard functions
__________BUT REALLY APPLE DEVELOPERS TEK GUYS......
__________WHY NO "TAB" FEATURE ON IPHONE OR IPAD????

I also pray for the day Apple copies Palm Treo's FAR better Calender too.
.

Last edited by fjtb2000; Jun 23, 2012 at 03:47 PM. Reason: I needed to edit.
fjtb2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 04:58 PM   #36
Ahuber
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Insert

You can insert a tab using the insert button in the pop up dialog that appears when you tap in the text of your doc. However, does anyone know of a quicker shortcut (or had luck creating one)?
Ahuber is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tab Key Not Working In MS Word on MacBook Pro nhartt MacBook Pro 0 Sep 19, 2013 01:36 PM
Space between keyboard and Tab Bar... furrybaer iPhone/iPad Programming 4 Apr 5, 2013 09:40 AM
How can I allow the tab key only inside a specific div? sk3pt1c Web Design and Development 13 Feb 12, 2013 09:15 AM
BootCamp, no Keyboard/Trackpad Tab sebberdreng Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Nov 11, 2012 07:15 PM
TAB function on IOS 5 keyboard? Atomant669 iOS 5 and earlier 5 Jun 4, 2012 01:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC