Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 5, 2010, 11:09 PM   #1
bludodge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
All of sudden IPad not connecting to internet, full bars

WFT, was laying in bed reading Macrumors site and all of sudden got "not connected to internet message" on my iPad through my wifi. Has full wifi "bars". Turned iPad off and on, (not just to sleep, rebooted). This sucks, now what? When I go into settings everything is correct there. I did, right before this all acted up, do an App update for ABC.com and GoodReader. Could that have screwed something up? Geesh, pretty much makes this iPad worthless not being able to hit the net. Pissed had to get out of bed to write this. Anyone else have this issue? When I turned on my mac mini, I got a message about an update for software. I wonder if I should try docking my iPad?

Last edited by bludodge; Apr 5, 2010 at 11:22 PM.
bludodge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2010, 11:37 PM   #2
bludodge
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Unplugged router and restarted it, got the full bars back, and after once more typing in my password, the iPad now not only sees the wifi signal, it is able to use it. This is getting frustrated. This issue isn't like the other where people are complaining about having to retype passwords, which I also still have to do. It was seeing my router.
bludodge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2010, 03:22 PM   #3
patman2862
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
fix to no internet

hi...ive just gone through the stupidest registration page to tell you this so hope it helps.
i had the exact same problem.
in settings click wifi. press the blue arrow at the side of your network.
i had a random ip address set automatically the correct subnet mask and no router or dns settings.
check what ip adress range your router uses and set manually.
worked perfect for me.
i have always been an apple hater and the first time i go apple i get this simple fault.
typical
hope this helps
patman2862 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2010, 03:26 PM   #4
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Go into settings > general > reset > reset network settings.

This generally works for me. It doesn't delete any info, just means you have to connect to the wifi with your network passcode again.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 12:58 PM   #5
drapestar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Hi I am having the same problem.

I have reset my network settings, turned it off and back on, but don't know what to do now. I am using my macbook on the same wireless network right now and it works fine.

The bars on my 'pad seem to go from 1 to 3 to disappearing altogether and then back on. If I try to load Mail it can't connect to Gmail server. If I go to Safari, I am not connected to the internet-immediately.

Please help?
drapestar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 01:08 PM   #6
hsotnicam8002
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by patman2862 View Post
i have always been an apple hater
I'm the same with strawberries.
__________________
iMac 27" Core i7 3.4GHz 16GB 2Tb 10.9.4 | 16GB iPod Nano 7G | 16GB iPhone 5 8B4 | 128GB iPad Mini Retina WiFi 8B4
hsotnicam8002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 06:42 PM   #7
Robin4
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Have you downloaded Spyke recently? I never had a problem until this morning. It was very frustrating. I realized that I had just downloaded Skype and it got me wondering, no problems before, why now. I deleted the app and everything is back to normal.

It may not be the actual reason, but if you just downloaded an app., you might want to give it a try.
Robin4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2012, 10:05 PM   #8
ineedaname
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Plug it in

Use the USB cable to plug it directly into your home modem/router. it should connect, and then once connected renew the lease under settings > wifi > blue arrow.
ineedaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2013, 12:45 PM   #9
freddie11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Thumbs up Panic over

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBritishBloke View Post
Go into settings > general > reset > reset network settings.

This generally works for me. It doesn't delete any info, just means you have to connect to the wifi with your network passcode again.
Brilliant. This worked for me.
freddie11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme Issues :*No Internet, no DSN, iPad not connecting JJB63 Mac Peripherals 4 Aug 16, 2014 01:48 PM
Sudden shutdown, battery from full to zero charge in the blink of an eye jObooW MacBook Pro 6 May 2, 2014 02:20 PM
iPhone 4s has no bars but internet still works Moneyz52 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Aug 23, 2013 05:42 PM
How do I watch Netflix full screen without black bars. Macbook pro? Richey Villa MacBook Pro 26 Jun 6, 2013 12:24 PM
Iphone 5 signal dropping from full bars to 3 bars every 24 hours onearsenewenger iPhone 4 Oct 14, 2012 07:44 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC