Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2010, 10:02 AM   #1
mkstewartesq@co
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
iPad/Airport Express while traveling

My apologies if this is on the wrong forum - the topic seemed pretty iPad-centric, but you never know. . . .

Obviously, the iPad has no ethernet port, so using it at a hotel with only wired internet is out of the question without some workaround. I was considering taking my Airport Express with me to the hotel, hooking the hotel's ethernet into the Airport Express and creating a wif-fi hotspot in my room.

My question: will I also need to bring my laptop to set up the Airport Express in the room? I know I had to do some set-up when I installed it in my condo, and obviously the iPad doesn't have the Airport Utility (so I wouldn't even be able to set up a new password, etc., if I needed to). Or will the Airport Express "just work" when I plug it into a new location (i.e., remember the settings I previously set up, even though its been unplugged from the wall a day or two?)

Thanks for any assistance or thoughts in advance.

M
mkstewartesq@co is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 10:11 AM   #2
Bear Hunter
macrumors 6502a
 
Bear Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
You should be able to set everything up at home.
Bear Hunter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 10:20 AM   #3
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Top left corner
While you may encounter the oddball hotel setup, for the most part I've been able to just plug my Airport Express in at a hotel and get online. You'll still have to go through hotel's activation page - confirm the billing, etc. - but it's almost always worked without going through the Airport setup app on my Macbook.

I've got my travel Airport Express preset to a simple config (an SSID that hopefully won't draw too much attention, WPA2 secure password, DHCP-assigned IP address and such).

Try it somewhere where you can get it setup - have both your laptop and your iPad available to get things working, then try plugging it in elsewhere and see if you get the iPad online without using the Macbook. Always do a dry run before taking it on the road if you'll have bo ability to adjust it later.

Just hope that the hotel's login/confirmation page doesn't use Flash!
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac 1.8GHz i7 11" MacBook Air 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display
4TB RAID 10 8TB RAID 0 6TB RAID 0 2TB Time Capsule ac White/silver iPhone 5S & iPad Air
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 12:40 PM   #4
mkstewartesq@co
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Thanks to both for your advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xraydoc View Post
Just hope that the hotel's login/confirmation page doesn't use Flash!
Aaaaargh! I hadn't thought of this. With my luck, it will.

Thanks, again.
Best,
M
mkstewartesq@co is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2010, 12:42 PM   #5
ashVID
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Haven't seen a wifi log-in that was flash only in years.



ash =o)
ashVID is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 03:49 PM   #6
andiwm2003
macrumors 601
 
andiwm2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
I plan to set up an airport express in my moms house. So I can't set it up ahead. It will be pppoe.

Is there by now an app for this?

Or can I use someBodies box to set up an airport express?
andiwm2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run Airport Extreme on 5 GHz, and Airport Express on 2.4? williamsonrg Mac Peripherals 2 Aug 29, 2011 09:05 PM
multiple airport express setup Jefferyd32 Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 27, 2011 12:34 AM
What exactly does an airport express do? cootersgarage6 Mac Peripherals 29 Jan 27, 2011 02:44 PM
What makes an Airport Express 'refurbished'? windstarfy Buying Tips and Advice 2 Nov 4, 2010 11:27 PM
iPad and Airport Express While Traveling? gnortenjones iPad 8 Apr 11, 2010 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC