Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 7, 2010, 12:00 AM   #1
motox25
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Apple TV with no hard drive?

Why doesn't Apple release an Apple TV with no hard drive? I am considering purchasing one in order to stream my media (movies and music) from my Mac Pro to my home theatre system. The Mac Pro is currently connected to my system via a HDMI cable and toslink cable. This setup works well but I'd prefer to not have to have all the cables. I find it interesting Apple doesn't have an option of this sort available, as I simply need a device to stream my media to. The small HDD in the Apple TV wouldn't come close to holding all my media and I wouldn't use it unless it serves some other purpose I don't know about. I've considered getting a mac mini for my home theatre PC but I think this is overkill for simply streaming media content.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz 4 Core, 4 GB RAM, 2.5 TB HD, 20" Cinema Display || 13" MacBook 2.1GHz, 2.5 GB Ram, 500GB HD || 3G iPhone || 32GB iPad
motox25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 02:25 AM   #2
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
The Apple TV uses a form of progressive download when streaming. Given a fast enough network and/or internet connection it actually buffers about 30 minutes of content to its internal hard drive which makes for better responsiveness (fast forward, etc.) and also helps it to recover from interrupted/paused streams. Thus, as long as you have a network that can keep well ahead of the playback it's almost like having the streaming content local to the Apple TV. The same is true (only more so) for movie/TV rentals from the iTunes Store, the stream is saved to the Apple TV's hard drive and can then be accessed anytime within the rental period (even up to 30 days later).

Last edited by fpnc; Apr 7, 2010 at 03:42 AM. Reason: fixed typo
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 02:56 AM   #3
markfc
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Prestatyn, Wales, UK
Send a message via ICQ to markfc Send a message via AIM to markfc Send a message via MSN to markfc Send a message via Skype™ to markfc
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpnc View Post
makes for better responsiveness
Ha Ha, Can we really say that about the AppleTV? ;-)
markfc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 04:30 AM   #4
pacmania1982
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
The Apple TV's OS and restore partitions live on the hard drive, so does any media you choose to sync (if any) like photos and music.

It would still need some form of storage on it to boot up from, and I'm sure would be more of a pita if it was in some ROM somewhere

pac
__________________
15" Late 2013 Quad Core i7 Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB VZW iPad 3 | 16GB iPhone 4s
pacmania1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 07:28 AM   #5
2contagious
macrumors 6502a
 
2contagious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by markfc View Post
Ha Ha, Can we really say that about the AppleTV? ;-)
I don't understand what you mean.. my Apple TV has been really snappy
2contagious is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 08:50 PM   #6
Airforcekid
macrumors 65816
 
Airforcekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United States of America
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2contagious View Post
I don't understand what you mean.. my Apple TV has been really snappy
If you use iTunes bought content you probably wont notice any lag high quality torrents or boxee etc will slow it down a lot!
__________________
"The answer to 1984 is 1776" Google Infowars to learn more or search Endgame on YouTube
Airforcekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2010, 09:38 PM   #7
motox25
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by markfc View Post
Ha Ha, Can we really say that about the AppleTV? ;-)
ha this lag you speak of, is it that bad? Say on an "N" single band wifi network? I don't have much HD content on my Mac, mainly just DVDs I've ripped from my library. I've tried using connect 360 and streaming the content to my xbox, but the lag was terrible and I had problems where the sound and video timing would be off.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz 4 Core, 4 GB RAM, 2.5 TB HD, 20" Cinema Display || 13" MacBook 2.1GHz, 2.5 GB Ram, 500GB HD || 3G iPhone || 32GB iPad
motox25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2010, 02:05 AM   #8
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by motox25 View Post
ha this lag you speak of, is it that bad? Say on an "N" single band wifi network? I don't have much HD content on my Mac, mainly just DVDs I've ripped from my library. I've tried using connect 360 and streaming the content to my xbox, but the lag was terrible and I had problems where the sound and video timing would be off.
I stream to my Apple TV (have used both wireless and wired) and I've never seen a problem with video timing (sound and video are always in rock solid sync). When streaming, there can be delays in starting video playback but they are usually pretty short and much faster than trying to load up a DVD (for the first time -- once the DVD is loaded, however, you'll probably see better performance on the DVD player than you will when streaming to the Apple TV).
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2010, 07:37 AM   #9
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by motox25 View Post
ha this lag you speak of, is it that bad? Say on an "N" single band wifi network? I don't have much HD content on my Mac, mainly just DVDs I've ripped from my library. I've tried using connect 360 and streaming the content to my xbox, but the lag was terrible and I had problems where the sound and video timing would be off.
Since we tested using vbv with AppleTV encodes (both SD and HD) in the #handbrake IRC channel, I've had no problems with playback lag or studdering, except maybe in the first few seconds. These changes have been reflected in the latest development snapshot AppleTV preset, and will be present once .9.5 is released.

Once it has had a chance to fill some of its buffer, it plays without issue. My network config is a little unique as well; I think if the media was hosted locally on my iMac it would behave even better.

NAS -> Gigabit Ethernet -> iMac -> Airport 5GHz 802.11n -> AppleTV
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple TV (with Hard Drive) dohdoh Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Jun 12, 2013 11:43 AM
Mac partition is smaller than hard drive? How to reformat the entire hard drive? diablo9333 OS X 6 Mar 11, 2013 11:15 PM
External Hard Drive to Apple TV 3? jason.siegel Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Dec 8, 2012 06:02 PM
Apple TV with External Hard Drive rgar7 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Jul 29, 2012 11:21 AM
Dead hard drive - need temporary external hard drive solution Gwenyn iMac 20 Jun 14, 2012 06:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC