Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 9, 2010, 02:39 AM   #1
iBunny
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Aperture 3: Can I select a photo and make it my wallpaper?

So I can do this with iPhoto... but I dont use iPhoto. I only use Aperture 3.

I just want to select a photo from my photos, and make it my wallpaper.

Is this an option anywhere?
__________________
Sergeant
United States Marine Corps
Information Assurance Technician: Net+, Sec+
Mid 2010 15" MBP / i7 2.66 / 8GB RAM / 120GB Vertex 3 / Hi-Res Glossy/OS X 10.7
iBunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2010, 02:50 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Does the Aperture library not show up in System Preferences > Desktop & Screensaver > Desktop?

spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2010, 07:58 PM   #3
DougY
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Dont need Aperture for that!

You want to change your background? Just Rt Click on the Desktop, then Change Desktop Background, and pick whatever background you want. It's that easy.
DougY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 01:47 AM   #4
kirvent4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Aperture Library Not Available in "Change Desktop" Preference

I'm unable to get my Aperture Library to appear in the Change Desktop preference...

I'm created an iPhoto library. Deleted the plst file. Disabled the preview sharing with iLife and iWork. I even created a new Aperture Library outside and within the Pictures folder...

Any ideas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Does the Aperture library not show up in System Preferences > Desktop & Screensaver > Desktop?

kirvent4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 10:01 AM   #5
jdavtz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirvent4 View Post
I'm unable to get my Aperture Library to appear in the Change Desktop preference...

[...] Disabled the preview sharing with iLife and iWork.
I think that's your problem; the desktop picture selector uses the preview picture crated by Aperture (so make sure you set your preview size in Aperture > Preferences to at least as big as your desktop).
__________________
iMac 27" i7 ('12), MBA 11" ('10), iMac 24" C2D ('08), BlackBook ('07), iMac G5 ('05)
Fuji X100, X-Pro1, 14, 35, 60
Hablo espaņol
jdavtz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2010, 03:12 AM   #6
harry72
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougY View Post
You want to change your background? Just Rt Click on the Desktop, then Change Desktop Background, and pick whatever background you want. It's that easy.
Is there no way that when you are viewing a photo in aperture that you can select it and make it wallpaper? I would have thought that would have been standard?

Cheers,
Hazwald
harry72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2010, 08:32 AM   #7
urkel
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Anyone find a solution to this? My aperture library used to show up in the Wallpaper System Preference but now it can't be accessed. My iPhoto library shows up fine though. I uninstalled/reinstalled A3 and downgraded iPhoto but still nothing.
urkel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 05:35 PM   #8
ref123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Hi, still no answer to this?

I have kind of the same problem, my Desktop preferences does not show more than a row named Aperture that is not expandable.

In other applications like Screensaver preferences, mail ... the Aperture library shows up and i can use pictures, projects, smart albums.

Any ideas for how to solve this? I have tried to move the library, change the name, regenerate the previews ... but nothing seems to work. I have populated iPhoto with pictures and it works just fine.

Edit: Just realized that if i create a new A3 library the problem is gone. Can there be any sizelimitations? My library contains 24000+ images and the size is aprox 100GB. It is also stored on a external harddrive if that can be a factor.

Last edited by ref123; Jun 29, 2011 at 05:41 PM. Reason: New info
ref123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2011, 03:12 PM   #9
misterpetey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Solution

1. Select the image you want as your background
2. Go to FILE
3. Click SHOW IN FINDER
4. "Right click" on the image and click SET DESKTOP PICTURE
misterpetey is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I install an SSD as a 2nd drive, can I make it my boot drive? a random John MacBook Pro 5 Apr 21, 2011 02:51 PM
I got the Incase Neoprene Sleeve, can I wash it and make it shrink? Neil1138 MacBook Pro 3 Nov 28, 2008 12:34 PM
Is it possible to erase my computer and make it work using Target Mode? iPowers OS X 12 Apr 20, 2008 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC