Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2010, 08:30 AM   #1
nzmc36
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gainesville FL
Automatic graphics switching

Okay, so the new machines will switch between graphics chips... all very nice (at last), but my 15" MBP 2.8 doesn't and it's a real pain for me as I often go between apps than need the extra speed and then back to e.g. Word, and could really do with the extended battery life (I have the old style battery pack)

... any news if the older graphics systems can be worked to switch on the fly...i.e. without having to logout and shut down all the open apps, and work?

Cheers, P
nzmc36 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 08:32 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
It won't work, as the now "older" system has to close the WindowServer process, thus a log out is required.

If you want that automatic switching, sell yours and buy a new one.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 08:37 AM   #3
nzmc36
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gainesville FL
Ugly but true

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
It won't work, as the now "older" system has to close the WindowServer process, thus a log out is required.

If you want that automatic switching, sell yours and buy a new one.
Dang.... such a pain . I got used to the switching in the G4's and didn't think they would 'about-face' with the idea when I brought this one. Nice it's back tho'. I won't be selling this one unfortunately as it's part of my job.... so I'm stuck with it for awhile.... unless I can palm it off on on of my students (I'm sure they won't complain)
nzmc36 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 08:50 AM   #4
Relznuk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UT, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzmc36 View Post
Okay, so the new machines will switch between graphics chips... all very nice (at last), but my 15" MBP 2.8 doesn't and it's a real pain for me as I often go between apps than need the extra speed and then back to e.g. Word, and could really do with the extended battery life (I have the old style battery pack)

... any news if the older graphics systems can be worked to switch on the fly...i.e. without having to logout and shut down all the open apps, and work?

Cheers, P
Is it in fact confirmed that the new machines will do fast-switching?
Relznuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 11:26 AM   #5
nzmc36
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gainesville FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Relznuk View Post
Is it in fact confirmed that the new machines will do fast-switching?
From the Apple web page under the graphics details

"On-demand performance.
Off-the-charts efficiency.
The 15- and 17-inch MacBook Pro models come standard with automatic graphics switching. Itís a breakthrough technology from Apple that switches graphics processors on the fly to give you performance when you need it (when youíre playing the latest 3D game, for example) and better battery efficiency when you donít (such as when youíre reading email). MacBook Pro transfers the workload between the powerful discrete NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics processor and integrated Intel HD Graphics so seamlessly, you wonít even notice. Whether youíre using applications like Aperture, Motion, or Final Cut Pro or just surfing the web, your MacBook Pro always knows which processor to use. You donít have to log out, shut down, or change your preferences. Automatic graphics switching does it all for you."
nzmc36 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turning off the automatic graphics card switching jsm68 MacBook Pro 5 Feb 24, 2014 09:08 PM
Automatic graphics switching on 2012 MBPr azzarocks86 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 24, 2013 11:56 AM
Automatic Graphics Switching on 2013 high-end rMBP erigas MacBook Pro 1 Oct 22, 2013 06:07 PM
No automatic graphic switching option Oetam MacBook Pro 3 Sep 30, 2013 04:25 PM
Disable Automatic Graphics Switching Ulfhedinn MacBook Pro 13 Jul 3, 2013 12:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC