Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2010, 11:00 PM   #1
Jordb2k10
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Handbrake and tv shows

Hi I was wondereing if anyone has a solution for importing tv on DVD tov iTunes. Anytime ive done it I am unable tovget all the episodes or it just shows up as one long episode. Is there anyway to separate and categorize tv shows when importing them. Thanks so much!!
Jordb2k10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2010, 11:45 PM   #2
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
There's tons of info on this subject in the Forums---I'll point you in the right direction but you should use the search function in the Forums for more specific answers.

There's 2 parts involved--decrypting the DVD (ripping) and then converting (transcoding) it to an iTunes friendly format. Two of the most commonly mentioned/used tools to rip DVDs are Mac the Ripper or Rip It. Either of these programs will decrypt the DVD and save it to your hard drive. From there you can use a tool like Handbrake (again, most commonly used tool by members here but there are others) to transcode the file into an iTunes friendly format. Handbrake is a very versatile program with tons of functionality that I couldn't begin to explain here (or honestly have the expertise to do so ) so I'll direct you to their site's Documentation and Wiki for a proper familiarization on how best to use it for your needs.

Personally, I rip all of my Movies/TV show DVDs using Rip It and transcode with Handbrake to an .m4v format, sometimes in multiple versions, for use on my family's Apple TVs/iPad/iPhones/iPod Touch and for viewing on my mac mini using PLEX and have had great success. Also, a third option that I occasionally rely on for the rare occasion when Rip It can't handle a DVD (i.e. many Disney DVDs) you can also use a media program called VLC in conjunction with Handbrake to handle the job. You install VLC (don't need to have it open) which Handbrake uses for decrypting the DVD directly--rip and transcode handled at the same time.

I prefer ripping first with Rip It when possible because it allows me to rip a bunch of DVDs and then queue up a number of transcode jobs for Handbrake to run overnight rather than having my optical drive spinning for a few hours for each DVD, but YMMV.

Hope this gets you pointed in the right direction.
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 12:52 AM   #3
flyfish29
macrumors 68020
 
flyfish29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New HAMpshire
I just ripped all my wife's x-files eps and Bones from DVD and Ripit and handbrake worked great (except there were two DVD's out of the season which would not work for some reason. All the others worked fine.

At first when using Handbrake I didn't realize how to convert all the episodes. The first time I thought I was getting one big converted video, but then I realized I had to select each episode with a drop down menu as the source, then add to the queue.
__________________
Johnny Go Missouri Tigers!
15" MacBook Pro, iPad, iPod Touch, iPod Shuf, Time Capsule and an iPhone!
SEARCH BEFORE YOU POST PLEASE!
flyfish29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 01:04 AM   #4
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyfish29 View Post
I just ripped all my wife's x-files eps and Bones from DVD and Ripit and handbrake worked great (except there were two DVD's out of the season which would not work for some reason. All the others worked fine.

At first when using Handbrake I didn't realize how to convert all the episodes. The first time I thought I was getting one big converted video, but then I realized I had to select each episode with a drop down menu as the source, then add to the queue.
Good point...especially with respect to TV shows since each DVD usually has multiple episodes. The Source dropdown box in Handbrake will list all titles on a particular DVD. To figure out which title corresponds to each episode, watch the DVD using your computer's DVD player program and after selecting an episode (at least for the mac's DVD Player), click Go > Title to see what title number corresponds to that episode. Then select that title from the source dropdown in Handbrake.
tbayrgs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake file shows white screen in QT, but is ok in VLC, when used decomb Cox Orange Digital Video 15 May 8, 2014 09:28 AM
Handbrake shows different Time length Tech198 Digital Video 0 Jan 8, 2014 04:05 AM
Handbrake and batch ripping TV shows mikeheenan Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Jul 10, 2013 09:47 PM
iTunes shows 7GB of photos, folder on phone shows 1GB awegew iPhone 5 Mar 25, 2013 08:16 PM
Handbrake and TV shows heisenberg123 OS X 2 Jun 13, 2012 01:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC