Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 15, 2010, 05:54 AM   #1
f34r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
US iPad charger - is it multi voltage or do you need a step down converter in the UK?

As title really

Anyone with a US iPad in the UK

Do you just need a US to UK adapter?

Must chargers are multi voltage these days so I would guess the iPad is?
__________________
MacBook Pro 13"
iPhone 4S 32GB
iPad 2 32GB
f34r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 06:06 AM   #2
tdream
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
100-240v
__________________
rMacbook Pro 2.6 4G 32GB 3G 16GB iTouch 1G 32GB Mini 1.6 iPad 3 64GB
Moto G | Sony Vaio Flip 15A
tdream is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 06:21 AM   #3
jdaco6
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by f34r View Post
As title really

Anyone with a US iPad in the UK

Do you just need a US to UK adapter?

Must chargers are multi voltage these days so I would guess the iPad is?
I have just stuck the uk plug that came with my MacBook air on the us adaptor and it's working fine. Hope that helps.
__________________
27" 2.8ghz I7 Imac; Macbook Air 1.6ghz 9400M; 32GB Iphone 3GS White
jdaco6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 06:29 AM   #4
f34r
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdaco6 View Post
I have just stuck the uk plug that came with my MacBook air on the us adaptor and it's working fine. Hope that helps.
ah good idea

Dunno if my macbook pro one comes off

Def got some old iPod chargers kick around though and the plug comes off those

Thanks for the help
__________________
MacBook Pro 13"
iPhone 4S 32GB
iPad 2 32GB
f34r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 06:35 AM   #5
-iKris-
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
My iPhone charger has one of those plugs that snaps off the little main unit, so if I just snap the British plug onto the charger that comes with my US iPad, it'll work okay? (sorry for asking something that might have been answered - I'm not a techie!)
-iKris- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 06:37 AM   #6
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by f34r View Post
ah good idea

Dunno if my macbook pro one comes off

Def got some old iPod chargers kick around though and the plug comes off those

Thanks for the help
Your MBP should have come with both a plug on its own and a plug with a two meter cable. You just slide it off sideways off the charger block.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 10:39 AM   #7
angle123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Getting mine, flights permitting on sunday.

I don't have any previous Apple products with a detachable plug.
Am i able to use a standard converter?
angle123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 10:50 AM   #8
andyblila
macrumors 65816
 
andyblila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On My iPhone, or my iPad?
Send a message via Yahoo to andyblila
All of Apple's power connectors are universal. All you need is the World Traveler connector kit. It will work fine.
__________________
27" iMac
MacBook Air
64GB iPhone 5S⃣
32 GB iPad Air
andyblila is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad 2 screen quality - is it just me, or... MoodyM iPad 29 Apr 19, 2011 07:16 PM
****, is it multi tasking or not?! frosse iPhone 0 Jun 23, 2010 10:52 AM
What website do you use to monitor app prices in the UK? naryn iPhone 2 Oct 12, 2009 02:54 PM
Ok is it just me, or do all the iTunes stores out side of the U.S. Suck? Cowinacape Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Oct 2, 2006 05:02 PM
This is going to sound wierd but - Do you need a keyboard to set up the Mac Mini? GreyFox1221 Macintosh Computers 19 Jun 24, 2005 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC