Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 15, 2010, 01:45 PM   #1
Richdmoore
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Travel Router

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with using a travel router on the iPad?

Specifically, I tried the simulation software to set up a treadnet travel router, but it is not compatible with Safari for Mac or iPad, so I assume the real one is not as well.

Now I'm looking for another brand or suggestion for getting a wired-only hotel room internet into my iPad.
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 02:49 PM   #2
TraceyS/FL
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdmoore View Post
I was wondering if anyone had any experience with using a travel router on the iPad?

Specifically, I tried the simulation software to set up a treadnet travel router, but it is not compatible with Safari for Mac or iPad, so I assume the real one is not as well.

Now I'm looking for another brand or suggestion for getting a wired-only hotel room internet into my iPad.
Apple Airport Express.

Refurbs are $79.
TraceyS/FL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 03:12 PM   #3
barefeats
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
... or Sprint Overdrive 4G. We are using it in the California Pizza Kitchen as I write this. It's a palm-sized WiFi hotspot with 4G connection. With the iPad, I see between 3.5 to 4.5Mbps download. It supports up to 5 devices. We take two MBPs and two iPads and two iPhone3Gs on the road so we are quite pleased with the cost per device.
barefeats is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 07:46 PM   #4
MrMorden
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Guatemala
I got mine today, the Zoom 4506. You can connect your 3G stick directly, or an ethernet cable connection.
So far, it works great.

http://www.zoom.com/techsupport/mobi...and_4506.shtml

Amazon link

http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/attach/jpg.gif
Attached Images
 
MrMorden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 07:56 PM   #5
RaceTripper
macrumors 68030
 
RaceTripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
I have traveled with an Airport Express for years. I plug into an available ethernet port and I have my own private WiFi hotspot.
RaceTripper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 09:44 PM   #6
Richdmoore
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thanks for the response. I'm not interested in buying another data plan apart from my iPhone, and my company almost always negotiates the room internet into our rate for free.

(I'm also not interested in jailbreaking my iphone, at least until I have upgraded my iphone, then I may consider jailbreaking the older one into a 3g wireless router.)

Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?
Richdmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 09:59 PM   #7
elfxmilhouse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdmoore View Post
Thanks for the response. I'm not interested in buying another data plan apart from my iPhone, and my company almost always negotiates the room internet into our rate for free.

(I'm also not interested in jailbreaking my iphone, at least until I have upgraded my iphone, then I may consider jailbreaking the older one into a 3g wireless router.)

Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?

the airport express would be nice but yes you are correct. i dont think you can configure an airport express with an ipad since its configured using the airport utility not through a browser.

you never know what type of settings each network might require so i would want a router that can be configured through a browser.
__________________
MC238LL w/Intel X25-V SSD MB382LL MB715LL MC497LL
elfxmilhouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 10:00 PM   #8
RaceTripper
macrumors 68030
 
RaceTripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdmoore View Post

Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?
I've never needed to reconfigure mine. It's worked in every hotel I needed it.
RaceTripper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2010, 11:32 PM   #9
ctrack52
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reconfigure

I have and have used 4 travel routers: Linksys, netgear, and airport express "G" and now the "N" version. I have traveled with each one and once configured I have never had to reset any of them. So you are probably pretty safe. The Linksys and Netgear can be configured via the web browser. I have never tried reconfiguring A-Express without the utility.
ctrack52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 06:24 PM   #10
canyonblue737
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I bought the airport express and travel 3 days a week, we have free internet in all hotels we stay in per our company contract. I simply configured the airport express at home with a WPA password using my iMac, then connected my iPad to it. From that point on I simply plug it into the hotel ethernet cable and my iPad automatically hops onto the password protected WiFi network. in the view of the hotel i am plugged in so you will see the typical hotel sign in webpage first but it works normally as if plugged in, but your wireless. I stay in all chains imaginable that have wired internet (higher level chains) as well as the cheaper hotels that tend to have wireless instead of wired.
canyonblue737 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 08:24 PM   #11
ttate90303
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Similar experience here using the Airport Express for travel for many years. Also note that if you did a reset, the default function is to act as a wireless access point. But I've never had to and it's worked like a charm. Highly recommended.
ttate90303 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 09:19 PM   #12
Ak8s
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I have a question about this mobile hotspot devices. If I were in let's say Outback Steakhouse and Joe Blow has one of those Sprint devices in use. If I look for it with my ipad will it see it? Will I be able to use the hotspot while he is there or are they password protected somehow?
Ak8s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 09:50 PM   #13
patp
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ak8s View Post
I have a question about this mobile hotspot devices. If I were in let's say Outback Steakhouse and Joe Blow has one of those Sprint devices in use. If I look for it with my ipad will it see it? Will I be able to use the hotspot while he is there or are they password protected somehow?
most likely password protected. but in theory if you are in range you could tap into that network if you knew the password.

so far the speeds have been less than impressive. but once the 4G standard is everywhere it may change.

I use the airport express and it is great. my ipod touch always has full bars and never drops out. In comparison to my Linksys G router, the Apple works well and without issues.
patp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2010, 07:06 PM   #14
cheekyjeremy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Once I set up the airport express using my apple, is there ever a need to reconfigure it on the fly, which I believe you can't do with an iPad, or simply plug into any hotel room and go?
-----------

There shouldn't be any reason to reconfigure an airport express in a hotel room. While it isn't always needed, I always do a hard reset of the express at a new hotel, but other than that, I can't think of another reason to need to config anything in a hotel
cheekyjeremy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HooToo TripMate Nano travel router, AP robgendreau Digital Photography 0 Apr 6, 2014 12:01 PM
Apple TV Home Sharing: Router or No Router? bryanscott Apple TV and Home Theater 20 May 4, 2013 06:52 PM
iMac Router vs. Netgear router Tofray iMac 12 Jan 12, 2013 09:24 AM
iStone Translation&Talking Travel Phrasebook, Designed by a Travel Lover queenieriri iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 5, 2012 04:40 AM
Travel diary MrWingman Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Jul 9, 2012 05:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC