Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 15, 2010, 10:07 PM   #1
Duffinator
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 130 miles NE of Cupertino
Question ATV Reboot Problem

I have an ATV that I use exclusively for streaming music (and music videos) to a dedicated stereo system. I purchased it used almost two years ago and it has had an issue rebooting after a few hours since I purchased it. Recently it reboots much quicker after turning it on and multiple times. I have a 40 GB model connected to a LAN. I also have another ATV in my HT that has no issues streaming the same content and it never reboots. Both are connected to the same switch so I'm pretty sure the issue is in the ATV and not elsewhere.

When I turn it on it works properly and I have no issues streaming any content. Then, regardless if I'm streaming content or it's sitting static, it will freeze up. After several minutes it reboots. During this process the light blinks and I can hear the hdd. After the reboot the select language screen comes up. After selecting English the recovery screen comes up with Restart, Run Diagnostics, or Factory Restore options. I've tried all three and I'm running the latest Apple software. No outside software or external hdd is connected. I'm using the HDMI out to an Apple Cinema display and use the optical out to a DAC. I've also tried using music files stored on the hdd and the same thing happens.

Any idea if this is the hdd acting up or something wrong with a board inside?
Duffinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 05:20 AM   #2
fpnc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
If you've already tried a factory restore there is very little else you can do. Does it eventually reboot even if you haven't streamed anything to the unit itself?
fpnc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 08:38 AM   #3
Duffinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 130 miles NE of Cupertino
Quote:
Originally Posted by fpnc View Post
If you've already tried a factory restore there is very little else you can do. Does it eventually reboot even if you haven't streamed anything to the unit itself?
Thanks, I've done a couple of restores. Yes it will reboot.

Any idea if it's the hdd or some other hardware issue? I can replace the hdd is that's the problem and that's what I'm trying to determine.
Duffinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 09:41 AM   #4
cdavis11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffinator View Post

When I turn it on it works properly and I have no issues streaming any content. Then, regardless if I'm streaming content or it's sitting static, it will freeze up. After several minutes it reboots. During this process the light blinks and I can hear the hdd. After the reboot the select language screen comes up. After selecting English the recovery screen comes up with Restart, Run Diagnostics, or Factory Restore options. I've tried all three and I'm running the latest Apple software. No outside software or external hdd is connected. I'm using the HDMI out to an Apple Cinema display and use the optical out to a DAC. I've also tried using music files stored on the hdd and the same thing happens.

Any idea if this is the hdd acting up or something wrong with a board inside?
I was having a similar problem with my aTV connected via HDMI to a 50" plasma. It was incredibly frustrating to unplug/replug the danged thing every time I wanted to watch something.

I read somewhere - maybe on these forums - about an HDCP handshake issue with using HDMI @ 1080i causing the freeze and making a reboot necessary.

I backed my aTV down to 720p and it's been flawless ever since.
cdavis11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 10:10 AM   #5
Duffinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 130 miles NE of Cupertino
Thanks. I'm familiar with the HDMI handshake issue and this is not it. I'm using the 720P resolution.

I did another factory reset last night, the third time in the past month, but I'm not optimistic this is going to solve the problem. Does anyone have any idea if this is hard drive or other hardware related?
Duffinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2010, 07:44 PM   #6
Duffinator
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 130 miles NE of Cupertino
Anyone?
Duffinator is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 2013 6,1 Thunderbolt / Sleep /Wake Reboot Problem - Appreciate Help WillyWoo Mac Pro 15 Jul 16, 2014 07:12 AM
Bootcamp after reboot i have non-system disk press any key to reboot vigorito MacBook Pro 2 Mar 11, 2013 11:25 PM
Problem with servers services after reboot 05slvrscape Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Mar 5, 2013 09:09 AM
10.8.2 & Safari reboot/tabs problem DJTaurus OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 16, 2012 12:42 AM
iPhone5/iOS6 Reboot Problem canadianpj iPhone 3 Sep 25, 2012 07:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC