Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 16, 2010, 11:22 AM   #1
Dave S
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Hi-res for Logic/GarageBand?

Finally the new MBP. Would a hi-res screen be good for audio projects or would it not make that much difference. It would be 15". I'm not going to be editing video. Thanks in advance.
Dave S is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 12:23 PM   #2
joe.cavers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
The hi-res screen just allows you to fit more tracks on the screen.

Speaking for experience, when I went from using my 13" (1280 x 800) Macbook to using a 15" MBP (1440 x 900) for my audio work, I was extremely happy with the extra space. I'll be ordering the high-res screen for my Macbook Pro upgrade in a few weeks time.

If you can afford it, I'd say go for it.

J
joe.cavers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 02:29 PM   #3
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave S View Post
Finally the new MBP. Would a hi-res screen be good for audio projects or would it not make that much difference. It would be 15". I'm not going to be editing video. Thanks in advance.

Logic really sucks up screen space. I use a 24" iMac an my next computer will be the 27". Get the biggest screen you can.

Last edited by ChrisA; Apr 17, 2010 at 02:37 PM.
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 04:31 PM   #4
Penguissimo
macrumors 6502a
 
Penguissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Michigan
Echoing the "Go for the hi-res" sentiment. I've got the 17" MBP and Pro Tools still feels cramped sometimes.
Penguissimo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic for Pc and GarageBand betazed Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 May 19, 2014 12:50 PM
Open iOS Garageband projects in Logic pro x? wallraff Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 1, 2014 04:22 AM
Garageband/Logic Compatability nathanclarke Digital Audio 2 Aug 23, 2013 10:56 AM
Is GarageBand any good for a Logic Pro user? vladobizik Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 28, 2013 09:46 AM
Big problems installing Logic 8 over Garageband 11 les24preludes Digital Audio 10 Mar 7, 2013 11:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC