Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 16, 2010, 02:24 PM   #1
jamesryanbell
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Need help getting audio to output to TV.

This shouldn't be hard. I don't know why it's not working. I'm using a late '08 Unibody MBP 15" and a 52" Sony Bravia LCD TV.

I have a Monoprice MiniDisplayPort-to-HDMI cable, and it works great (I'm aware that there's no audio passing through the HDMI, even though technically it should be able to pass it through). Picture looks wonderful.

However, the audio will not work. I'm using a 1/8" (headphone) to RCA (left/right) cable, and I cannot get it to work for the life of me. The cable is good. It works for other applications (iPod to soundboard, etc). I plug the MDP-to-HDMI cable into the HDMI 2 port and the computer...bam...works great. Then I plug the RCA-to-1/8" cable into the computer's headphone jack and the appropriate inputs for sound underneath the HDMI 2 port, and nothing. Is there something I'm supposed to do to enable it? All volumes are correct on the computer and the TV. I'm tried other HDMI inputs and respective sound inputs, and still nothing. I've checked the System Preferences for sound, and the "output" is indeed the headphone jack.

ANY HELP AT ALL would be appreciated!! Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 02:52 PM   #2
reebzor
macrumors 6502a
 
reebzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Send a message via AIM to reebzor
this is most likely an issue with your tv. I have my mini setup the exact same way. You might need to go into your tv's menu and enable that analog input. The tv might think the sound is coming through HDMI instead of RCA.

Also, without letting us know what TV you have, it's kind of hard to help you.
__________________
Mac Mini, 24" ACD, Macbook Pro, iPhone, iPad
RIP Steve, You're an inspiration to us all
reebzor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 02:54 PM   #3
jamesryanbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by reebzor View Post
this is most likely an issue with your tv. I have my mini setup the exact same way. You might need to go into your tv's menu and enable that analog input. The tv might think the sound is coming through HDMI instead of RCA.

Also, without letting us know what TV you have, it's kind of hard to help you.
I did let you know. It's at the top of the post.

EDIT: I tried adjusting settings to no avail. I can't find anywhere in the menus to "enable" the audio input ports. I'm assuming they just work. Each HDMI input has stereo RCA audio jacks right underneath it. That's where I have it plugged in. All volumes are up where they should be. :/

Any other ideas?
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3

Last edited by jamesryanbell; Apr 16, 2010 at 03:19 PM.
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 03:40 PM   #4
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesryanbell View Post
I did let you know. It's at the top of the post.
There are several different 52" bravia LCD models, from different years, do you have a specific model number?
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 04:50 PM   #5
jamesryanbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
There are several different 52" bravia LCD models, from different years, do you have a specific model number?
KDL52W4100
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2010, 06:20 PM   #6
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
from page 11 of the manual (otherwise know as the M in RTFM )


a link to the pdf of the manual -- http://www.docs.sony.com/release/KDL40V4100.pdf

Quote:
If the equipment has a DVI jack and not an HDMI jack, connect the DVI jack to the HDMI IN 4 (with DVI-to-HDMI cable or adapter) jack, and connect the audio jack to the AUDIO IN (L/R) jacks of HDMI IN 4.
the audio inputs you say are by HDMI2 are not by HDMI2, they are by (and the audio inputs for) the yellow composite input which is Video2
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 02:44 PM   #7
jamesryanbell
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
jamesryanbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
from page 11 of the manual (otherwise know as the M in RTFM )

I lost it. Everything needs to be completely intuitive all of the time.

But yes, that did work! Thanks for your help!
__________________
iPhone 5S White/Silver 64GB AT&T
iPad Air White/Silver 16GB AT&T
MBA 11" / 27" ACD / ATV3
jamesryanbell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio default audio output system on MacBook Pros? jykim0806 Digital Audio 3 Mar 13, 2013 05:15 AM
default audio output vanfanel1 Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Dec 14, 2012 05:22 PM
Audio output themacster298 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 16, 2012 05:19 PM
Apple TV audio output Craigy Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jun 22, 2012 04:36 AM
Change audio output? themacster298 Mac Programming 2 Jun 5, 2012 10:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC