Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 17, 2010, 11:22 PM   #1
jufros
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
How Much Better is the i5 vs. Core 2 Duo for Audio?

Any thoughts on this? Experience?
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2010, 11:41 PM   #2
lyons238
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
well obv the faster processor would be better, but to be honest audio isnt quite as much of a cpu hog as video so i doubt you would notice a diff. just my opinion im sure some others would beg to differ.
lyons238 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2010, 01:16 AM   #3
mesq
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Depends on what kind of work you do. Do you run alot of plugins, virtual instruments?
mesq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2010, 02:26 AM   #4
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
It depends on what I'm doing. The 2.8 Ghz machine is dedicated audio laptop, but I use it for mobile recording, live gigging, and composing. It hold up fine for gigging but my heavier duty short film compositions tax it pretty quickly. I use Omnisphere for a lot of those kinds of projects.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2010, 06:06 AM   #5
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I also run Native Instruments Komplete 6 and Voxengo plugins, all of which are pretty CPU heavy. I guess my question is how much more overhead processing power would I have with the i5 given the plugins I use.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2010, 03:16 PM   #6
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jufros View Post
I also run Native Instruments Komplete 6 and Voxengo plugins, all of which are pretty CPU heavy. I guess my question is how much more overhead processing power would I have with the i5 given the plugins I use.
It's only "incremental". To make a noticable improvment you need to double the CPU "power". You will not notice a 10% or 20% difference in CPU speed. To make a good jump you are loking at a quad core.

But is the CPU really the bottle neck?
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 07:16 PM   #7
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I doubt it. It's probably RAM, but I'm still running Logic in 32-bit because of some 3rd party plugins I use. I think all things it considered it makes more sense to double to 8GB when my plugins are supported and get Vienna Ensemble Pro so I can network my other computer.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2010, 02:36 PM   #8
jungeliest
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jufros View Post
Any thoughts on this? Experience?
Logic Pro did not utilize hyper-threading yet, not that I'm aware of.

Check this out: http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=9899526 A guy nicknamed "postfader" says that hyper-threading is no good for music production, so, there you go.
__________________
(:
jungeliest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2010, 01:34 PM   #9
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I agree. Hyperthreading would only really get used for things like bouncing Omnisphere tracks to audio and other non-realtime applications that I can live without. I'm just wondering how much better core for core the i5 is over the Core 2 Duo and if I could run, for example, run more coloration EQ's and limiters with greater oversampling settings.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2010, 01:01 PM   #10
lyons238
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
if you use reason 4 like i do you wont need much cpu power. i can have a **** load of components open in the rack and my cpu wont even be breaking a sweat. it really takes the cake for being efficient in the way it works. as far as live gigging i know ableton live is a cpu hog. im not sure about the prog you use, but you should look into the best program for you.

and like they have been saying, .2ghz isnt going to make a noticeable difference. just wait for the next update with macs and hopefully the base model will have around 3ghz and up
lyons238 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2010, 05:00 AM   #11
jungeliest
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jufros View Post
I agree. Hyperthreading would only really get used for things like bouncing Omnisphere tracks to audio and other non-realtime applications that I can live without. I'm just wondering how much better core for core the i5 is over the Core 2 Duo and if I could run, for example, run more coloration EQ's and limiters with greater oversampling settings.
Don't know about the oversampling settings but, here's an interesting thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ight=logic+pro
__________________
(:
jungeliest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2010, 12:39 PM   #12
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
If you haven't checked out Voxengo plugins, do yourself and your mixes a HUGE favor and do so. All of their plugins are extremely high quality sounding at all settings, but their internal oversampling capabilities makes them complete game changers. If you're doing a project in say 44.1khz, you can set the plugins to run at twice, 4x, and 8x that sample rate internally. I've tried out a LOT of commercial digital EQ's and GlissEQ is definitely the best for linear-phase EQing and its dynamic EQ capabilities are unique, easy to use, and the filters are just really sweet even at normally sampling.

But if you haven't tried ELEPHANT.... you'll never use another master limiter again. It's an industry leader IMHO and I use it constantly. It's in the same price range as garbage IK Multimedia mixing and "mastering" software but the sound quality is on par with if not better than the Oxford. It's just one of those plugins. 8x oversamping can still sound very transparent all the way up to 5 or 6db gain reduction depending on the mix material.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2010, 02:10 AM   #13
ImpostorOak
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I mix primarily in Pro Tools LE and I know that having 4 cores on my i5 iMac allows me to use many more plugins than my C2D MBP. First of all, it gives me two more processors to allocate to RTAS plugins in the playback engine dialog. But the i5 is just faster all around.
ImpostorOak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2010, 02:58 PM   #14
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Check out this thread:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music...rformance.html
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 12:50 AM   #15
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Anyone up for a little real-world testing? Quit out of every application you have open, turn off Airport, boot Logic. Create a software instrument track and load Ultrabeat. Don't change any of the settings but turn the sequencer on. Then, load two instances of Space Designer in stereo and make sure that Ultrabeat's output is set to stereo out.

Use the "create track with duplicate channel strip/instrument" command (command + D by default), and duplicate the track 4 times so you have 5. Open the activity manager and let us know what it's % of CPU Logic is using and then try it with a total of 10 duplicates.

Post your system specs and figures here. I definitely think that help people know how much more audio-related processing power can be had with the newer machines. I'll go first...

17'' Macbook Pro, 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD
5 Tracks: 60.1%
10 Tracks: 90.2%
Buffer speed: 128

Last edited by jufros; May 3, 2010 at 05:18 AM.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 08:37 PM   #16
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I found some benchmarks and emailed the pro audio company that ran them. They were thorough.

http://www.adkproaudio.com/images/laptopnew2.jpg

Basically, if you have a 2.66, 2.8, or 3.0 Ghz Core 2 Duo, the upgrade is TOTALLY not worth it and you should spend the money on RAM, SSD's, and storage.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:49 PM   #17
Teej guy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jufros View Post
...It's in the same price range as garbage IK Multimedia mixing and "mastering" software...
You should check out the new T-Racks 3 singles...the Fairchild and Pultec emulations are fantastic, as is the Opto compressor.
__________________
2.5 Late 2011 MBP 17"
Teej guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 10:52 AM   #18
jufros
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I actually owned T-Racks 3 Deluxe but sold the license after I got into Voxengo. I totally agree though the Opto in particular is really good.
jufros is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I upgrade my 2006 Mac Mini from intel core duo to intel core 2 duo? MacHaris Mac mini 2 Jun 22, 2013 11:12 PM
Core Duo vs Core 2 Duo laptop casing? BardiaD MacBook Pro 5 Mar 15, 2013 05:52 PM
Mid 2007 iMac CPU upgrade: Core 2 Duo to Core 2 Extreme or Core 2 Quad Hexley iMac 2 Dec 9, 2012 10:56 AM
Upgrade Late 2006 17in iMac core 2 duo 2.0 to core 2 quad q6600? drjaymez iMac 6 Oct 21, 2012 06:42 PM
Do Core 2 Duo Macs support Airplay Audio on ML? NazgulRR OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 26, 2012 03:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC