Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 21, 2010, 05:24 PM   #1
macgrl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Correct cable to connect a router to a switch?

To connect a pc to a router I need a cross over cable. What do I need to connect a router to a switch - cross over or straight through? I will be using cat5e cable

Many thanks
__________________
13" 1.8 GHz i7 MBA 4GB 256GB HD
iPad 2 16GB Wi-Fi
macgrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 05:29 PM   #2
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Unless you are connecting a Computer to the Internet port or WAN on a Router you use a Straight-Through Cable. If you are connecting to a Hub, either a Straight-Through Cable to the port that supports Uplink, or a cross-over cable to any port.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 06:02 PM   #3
macgrl
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I am wanting to use a switch as my router doesn't have enough ethernet ports for my network so I need to have more ports so a cross over cable from router to switch should be ok? right?
__________________
13" 1.8 GHz i7 MBA 4GB 256GB HD
iPad 2 16GB Wi-Fi
macgrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 08:41 PM   #4
HenryAZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Congress AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by macgrl View Post
I am wanting to use a switch as my router doesn't have enough ethernet ports for my network so I need to have more ports so a cross over cable from router to switch should be ok? right?
Yes a crossover cable will work for you. It may very well not be necessary, as the ports on many modern switches autosense and adapt to the correct transmit/receive orientation. If they do autosense, you will still be OK.
HenryAZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2010, 08:02 AM   #5
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryAZ View Post
Yes a crossover cable will work for you. It may very well not be necessary, as the ports on many modern switches autosense and adapt to the correct transmit/receive orientation. If they do autosense, you will still be OK.
Haven't seen or used a crossover in almost a decade, and the odds you have a device that requires one is on the order of a billion to one.
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2010, 05:36 PM   #6
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Hubs are rare now too. Pretty much anything mainstream you buy with multiple ethernet ports is a switch now.

Hubs = dumb, low capacity. Switch = more intelligent ethernet transmittion. Used to be a big difference in price, but switches are very cheap. If you're getting something *really* cheap, check it's a switch, not a hub.

Ditto, pretty much anything mainstream that deals with ethernet has auto-sensing ports on it, meaning you don't need to worry about cross-over vs straight-through. Again, auto-sense should be on the list of features.
__________________
This is a signature.
RedTomato is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zuni Connect Travel Router / Charging Station wasabinuki iPad Accessories 0 May 25, 2011 01:28 PM
Can i use a usb > firewire cable to connect my seagate external HD? TheDoorsi Mac Peripherals 4 Jan 3, 2011 03:09 PM
What FW cable to connect Mac Mini to MacBook Pro? joerichsen Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 19, 2008 10:46 AM
What is correct syntax to connect via internet to Airport disk? HoosierInFL Mac Peripherals 1 Mar 10, 2008 02:17 PM
WTB: Cable to connect my guitar to my Mac someguy Marketplace Archive 2 10 Oct 12, 2006 09:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC