Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 21, 2010, 05:24 PM   #1
macgrl
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Correct cable to connect a router to a switch?

To connect a pc to a router I need a cross over cable. What do I need to connect a router to a switch - cross over or straight through? I will be using cat5e cable

Many thanks
__________________
13" 1.8 GHz i7 MBA 4GB 256GB HD
iPad 2 16GB Wi-Fi
macgrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 05:29 PM   #2
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
Unless you are connecting a Computer to the Internet port or WAN on a Router you use a Straight-Through Cable. If you are connecting to a Hub, either a Straight-Through Cable to the port that supports Uplink, or a cross-over cable to any port.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 06:02 PM   #3
macgrl
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I am wanting to use a switch as my router doesn't have enough ethernet ports for my network so I need to have more ports so a cross over cable from router to switch should be ok? right?
__________________
13" 1.8 GHz i7 MBA 4GB 256GB HD
iPad 2 16GB Wi-Fi
macgrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2010, 08:41 PM   #4
HenryAZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Congress AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by macgrl View Post
I am wanting to use a switch as my router doesn't have enough ethernet ports for my network so I need to have more ports so a cross over cable from router to switch should be ok? right?
Yes a crossover cable will work for you. It may very well not be necessary, as the ports on many modern switches autosense and adapt to the correct transmit/receive orientation. If they do autosense, you will still be OK.
HenryAZ is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2010, 08:02 AM   #5
Les Kern
macrumors 68030
 
Les Kern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryAZ View Post
Yes a crossover cable will work for you. It may very well not be necessary, as the ports on many modern switches autosense and adapt to the correct transmit/receive orientation. If they do autosense, you will still be OK.
Haven't seen or used a crossover in almost a decade, and the odds you have a device that requires one is on the order of a billion to one.
Les Kern is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2010, 05:36 PM   #6
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Hubs are rare now too. Pretty much anything mainstream you buy with multiple ethernet ports is a switch now.

Hubs = dumb, low capacity. Switch = more intelligent ethernet transmittion. Used to be a big difference in price, but switches are very cheap. If you're getting something *really* cheap, check it's a switch, not a hub.

Ditto, pretty much anything mainstream that deals with ethernet has auto-sensing ports on it, meaning you don't need to worry about cross-over vs straight-through. Again, auto-sense should be on the list of features.
__________________
This is a signature.
RedTomato is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Cable modem/router is everyone using? Outkast27 Buying Tips and Advice 25 Apr 27, 2014 12:44 AM
Do I need a router, switch or neither ? vim147 Mac Peripherals 12 Mar 7, 2014 06:44 AM
Weird WiFi issue (connect to Apple Store WiFi, but can't connect to home router) nicz888 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jul 29, 2013 07:47 AM
Correct way to connect stereo mini to RCA cord to HDTV timelessride MacBook Pro 7 Dec 30, 2012 05:54 PM
Do I need a switch or router? macstatic Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 31 Aug 23, 2012 01:14 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC