Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jack99

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 22, 2010
Hey all,

I've got a question concerning SSDs going with MBPs. I'm aware that OS X doesn't have TRIM support but I've also heard that Macbooks are still able to perform the garbage dumping functions.

What I would like to know is whether it's true or not. I'm considering buying a SSD to go with my MBP but would rather not have to keep WipeDriving just to maintain my SSD. As you can tell, I'm relatively new to the world of SSDs so a little explanation for this noob would be helpful! :D

Also I'm planning to bootcamp and VMware Win7 with OS X.

jack99

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 22, 2010
The bigger the SSD the less likely you'll need TRIM. Also, SSD quality is determined by the controller. In this case Intel, makes the best controller out there.

Ok. So I'm willing to pay more if the SSD does the job really well. But with OS X's garbage dumping feature, will I need to keep on reformatting OS X and time-machining just to get my OS X partitioning back? It may prove to be more of a hassle especially if I have to keep reinstalling Win7.

jav6454

macrumors Core
Nov 14, 2007
1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Ok. So I'm willing to pay more if the SSD does the job really well. But with OS X's garbage dumping feature, will I need to keep on reformatting OS X and time-machining just to get my OS X partitioning back? It may prove to be more of a hassle especially if I have to keep reinstalling Win7.

TRIM is useful in small capacity SSDs where space is filled up quickly and write speeds will degrade fast.

However, large capacity SSDs don't suffer from this problem much. That doesn't mean they'll be fine. It just means it'll take longer.

There are many ways to keep house cleaning on an SSD. Do not defrag an SSD, big no-no.

jack99

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 22, 2010