Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 23, 2010, 06:48 PM   #1
kaslmedia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
"Network settings changed by another app"

When I open networks preferences, I get this message:

"Your network settings have been changed by another app"

When I click OK, it immediately comes back, locking me out of Network preferences. I must force quit to get out of Sys Prefs.

This started after (unsuccessfully) setting up a wireless connection for a PC to my mac network.

Thanks for your help.

Equipment:
Verizon FIOS ISP
Actiontech MI 424-WR Rev E router.
1 GHz PowerPC G4, 1.75 GB Ram
kaslmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2010, 10:12 AM   #2
BertyBoy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Which Mac OS ?

And what else has been installed ?

And exactly how were you trying to share a wireless connection with a PC ?

This happens if you have another app or utility to help your network security or throughput. Something like a firewall or content filter. Whether it's used as a firewall, or to limit upload speeds. There's no shortage of such utilities, freeware, shareware and commercial, but only you know what you've installed or "switched on".

I use one called Throttled on my old G4, to limit upload throughput on the http protocol, just so it leaves some upload bandwidth for the other Macs. All it does it set up a few dozen ipfw rules, but this is enough for me to get the same symptom as you.
BertyBoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2010, 02:03 PM   #3
kaslmedia
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thank you

Thank you, BertyBoy. That is very helpful. I will try to track down which setting I changed.
kaslmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2010, 02:07 AM   #4
wandal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
this is a known bug of Mac OS 10.4.X that pops up as soon as you update the system.
You should quickly clik on the "lock" button. After that, when you unlock everything will be fine.

Cheers

P.S.: remember that a return will confirm the dialog box, and cmd+Q will quit from the Sys pref panel. Quickly use both of them!

P.P.S.: there are some discussions on the subject here in the forum:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=576199
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=592305
and some others

Last edited by wandal; Apr 26, 2010 at 03:02 AM. Reason: discussions links added
wandal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Late 2013 15" rMBP- anyone else's audio "Balance" settings changing on reboot? benguild MacBook Pro 8 Dec 9, 2013 01:33 AM
iStat Pro network not showing "in" and "out" andyx181x OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 13 Nov 13, 2013 10:14 PM
iPhone: [3GS | 6.0.1 | 05.16.07] "unable to load network list" // "no service" Moritz1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Jan 22, 2013 10:36 AM
iPhone "Settings" app mbl007 iPhone 14 Jan 8, 2013 02:02 AM
What will happen if I click "Erase all Content and Settings" or "Reset all Settings"? CR125Honda iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 30, 2012 10:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC