Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2004, 11:44 PM   #1
Kethoticus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
OWC's iPod Battery Upgrade

I read about OWC's iPod battery upgrade a couple of weeks ago on Maccentral. I ordered it almost immediately, as my 2.5-year old iPod has a battery that lasts no more than 2.5 hours on a fresh charge.

Got this battery a couple of days ago in the mail, and I installed it that night. Now my iPod's dead. I put the original battery back in there, but no difference. If the iPod shows anything at all, it's a language menu with a lock icon in the upper left. I can not select anything. The buttons and scroll-wheel do nothing. Then my screen goes clear. All the button-pressing in the world does not change this.

I can charge my iPod. I can watch the little battery-power-level bars in the upper right go through their little progress animation thing. Then when it's fully charged, I get the check mark and no battery meter animation. I remove the iPod, only to get the language menu and a blank screen.

I wrote OWC's tech support, which was supposed to get back to me within 24 hours (or "most likely" within 24 hours). That was about 2 nights ago. I have yet to get anything but an automated message from those guys.

Unless I did something wrong that I am completely unaware of, performing this transplant somehow ruined my iPod. Let this be a warning to anyone considering a purchase of it (although I am certainly open to tech support suggestions).
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 12:07 AM   #2
Duff-Man
macrumors 68030
 
Duff-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Duff-Man says...I don't have any suggestions for your issue...but I do suspect it is an isolated incident. OtherWorld is *very* reputable and have no doubt sold quite a few of these batteries - unfortunately it seems you may be in that small percentage that has a problem (as happens with almost anything, as posts on this board will attest to).....oh yeah!
__________________
Duff-Man computes with...Mac Pro 3.2GHz 8 core 18GB RAM + MacBook Pro 2.5GHz C2D + 16GB iPod Nano + iPhone 4S 32GB...Oh Yeah!
Duff-Man is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 12:10 AM   #3
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
have u tried doing a hard reset? or reloading the ipod software?
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 12:15 AM   #4
Kethoticus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
hard reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by virividox
have u tried doing a hard reset? or reloading the ipod software?
Hard reset? I did reinstall the software. Twice. What's a hard reset?

As for Duff-man, thanks for your comments. You may be right. I hope not, but it would be the first time for me.
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 12:24 AM   #5
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kethoticus
If the iPod shows anything at all, it's a language menu with a lock icon in the upper left.
The hold switch isn't on, right? Becasue when it is, there is lock symbol present in the upper left, and "all the button pressing in the world" will do nothing until the hold switch is moved to the off position.
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 01:32 AM   #6
virividox
macrumors 68040
 
virividox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbara - Boston (ugh hate not knowing where to call home)
Reboot an iPod


09/12 2003 - Even the best MP3 player on the market can sometimes run into trouble. Remember, it's only a machine, and as you know, machines run on software and software is easily confused. This might happen if you, against all warnings, take the iPod out of the dock while it is mounted on your desktop.
***


iPod hard reset

If your iPod won't mount on your computer's desktop and can't be soft restored, you need to hard reset. Follow these steps to mount the iPod:
Connect the iPod to a built-in FireWire port on your computer (it won't work with an unpowered FireWire port on a PC Card, for example).
Reset the iPod by pressing the Play and Menu buttons for 10 seconds.
When you see the Apple logo, press and hold the Previous and Next buttons for 10 seconds.
The FireWire icon should appear in your iPod's display.
__________________
17" MBP , 2 gig ram, 200 gig fw800 + 120 gig fw400 + 250 gig usb2 ext, 5g 80gig Ipod, Tiger
d200 & d70
virividox is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 01:34 AM   #7
Kethoticus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
Hold switch and not playing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elan0204
The hold switch isn't on, right? Becasue when it is, there is lock symbol present in the upper left, and "all the button pressing in the world" will do nothing until the hold switch is moved to the off position.
Thanks Elan. That solved the lock-up problem I was having, but the thing still shuts completely down after a few moments. And, again, "all the button pressing" does nothing to wake it from its coma.
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 01:40 AM   #8
Kethoticus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
Hard resets

Quote:
Originally Posted by virividox
Reboot an iPod


09/12 2003 - Even the best MP3 player on the market can sometimes run into trouble. Remember, it's only a machine, and as you know, machines run on software and software is easily confused. This might happen if you, against all warnings, take the iPod out of the dock while it is mounted on your desktop.
I can safely say that this is not the reason.



Quote:
Originally Posted by virividox
iPod hard reset

If your iPod won't mount on your computer's desktop and can't be soft restored, you need to hard reset. Follow these steps to mount the iPod:
Connect the iPod to a built-in FireWire port on your computer (it won't work with an unpowered FireWire port on a PC Card, for example).
Reset the iPod by pressing the Play and Menu buttons for 10 seconds.
When you see the Apple logo, press and hold the Previous and Next buttons for 10 seconds.
The FireWire icon should appear in your iPod's display.
I got everything but the firewire icon. The problem, I'm beginning to feel, is power-related. There's something up with this battery. I'm gonna try recharging the original battery and see what happens. If that works, then I know it's OWC's battery.


Thanks folks.
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 01:40 AM   #9
Abstract
macrumors Penryn
 
Abstract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Location Location
Did Apple offer a battery replacement plan for such old iPods?

Anyway, I'm not sure what else you can do except emailing again and again. They should email you back. Like Duff said, they're a reputable company....no slouches. Its probably an isolated incident, but even if it is, their battery mucked up your player, and they should probably do something about it.
__________________
"Hard? It's supposed to be hard. Hard is what makes it great!" - Tom Hanks.

Last edited by Abstract; Sep 25, 2004 at 12:07 PM.
Abstract is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 01:46 AM   #10
Kethoticus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Physically, I live in LA. But I miss my native NYC.
Send a message via AIM to Kethoticus
re: iPod battery

Alright folks, this is interesting. My original iPod battery's playing just fine. No falling into a coma after 10 or so seconds. It's OWC's battery. This bad boy just doesn't want to charge up.

Thanks everybody. I got some complaining to do.
__________________
There are only two kinds of men: the righteous who believe themselves
sinners; the sinners who believe themselves righteous.
-Blaise Pascal
Kethoticus is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 10:41 AM   #11
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
I would call them. They are actually a very responsible, trustworthy company. I've had nothing but the best from them on over 20 orders.
__________________

Macbook Pro 15"
8GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 6 Silver
crazzyeddie is offline   0
Old Sep 25, 2004, 10:51 AM   #12
solvs
macrumors 601
 
solvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: LaLaLand, CA
Give OWC a call if you still haven't heard from them (though I don't know if they e-mail on the weekend). They are pretty good about sending replacements. You probably just got a bad battery that won't charge. They usually do exchanges without hassle.
__________________
True love never dies
The only thing more dangerous than a woman scorned, is a man with nothing left to lose...
solvs is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC 32GB memory upgrade tommy0614 iMac 11 Mar 13, 2013 09:48 PM
OWC Processor Upgrade swpmac Mac Pro 11 Feb 11, 2013 04:36 PM
OWC MBA SSD Upgrade jakesaunders27 MacBook Air 6 Jan 27, 2013 10:42 AM
Is OWC the only way to upgrade MBAir's SSD? Hexley MacBook Air 13 Dec 20, 2012 11:03 AM
OWC SSD Upgrade bradbrad1016 MacBook Air 6 Oct 5, 2012 12:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC