Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2010, 02:52 PM   #1
Rockdoc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
AppleTv keeps dropping Network Connection

Ok, so I have had my Appletv for a couple of years now and have never had a problem connecting and staying connected to my wi-fi network, which in turn doesn't connect to my itunes until I reconnect. However, for some reason for the last month or so I have had to re-type (which is a pain on the Atv remote) my entire password (15+ digits) everytime I use my appletv. This is driving me crazy, so...here is my setup and what I have tried, any help would be great!

I use a logitech univeral remote and thought that perhaps because the remote shuts down the appletv when you use something else like the SAT receiver or PS3 that it was a remote setting...I have reprogrammed my remote to not shut down the Atv when I switch devices(sat, ps3)...still same problem. Next I moved to my firewall settings on my Imac which is running OS 10.5 and thought that perhaps the firewall setting was blocking the connection to my Itunes and somehow(yes I am desperate) kicking the Atv off the network and not allowing me to stay connected to my network and itunes. So I changed my firewall settings and still no change in problem.

I should note that I do sleep my computer and use the Apple-tab-quite funtcion to close itunes, firefox mail etc when they are not in use...I did try leaving my itunes open yesterday and this morning Atv still lost connection to network.

Help???
__________________
-24" Imac -13" Macbook -Ipod Collection -Ipad 16gb
Rockdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2010, 03:06 PM   #2
mstrze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Send a message via AIM to mstrze
A couple things:

AppleTV does not 'shut down' per se. It goes into a standby mode. I also have a Logitech remote and experience this same thing. In fact, more often than not...it doesn't even necessarily go into the true standby mode. It certainly does not shut off...there is no power-off option for ATV.

You need to have iTunes up and running on the computer. This is why you are losing the connection I feel. You can sleep your computer and choose the option to 'wake on wireless' to allow your computer to only be accessed by ATV when it needs to be.

('wake on wireless' is a Snow Leopard option...I don't think you have the option on 10.5...although I could be wrong)


How you were not having connection issues before with iTunes not up and running is beyond me.


EDIT: What did you change in the past month? Software update?
mstrze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2010, 03:59 PM   #3
Rockdoc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Seems connected to remote

It seems like I have started to have the problem since I switched to the logitech universal remote. I even tried changing the power off sequence for my devices and switched the Atv to remain on. I am aware that the Atv stays in standby, but when I have switched actions to use the Atv it starts up with the apple logo in the middle of the screen. Before I hooked up the remote it would open to front row or the picture slideshow when I switched inputs through the tv remote. Feels like I am rambling...I think I am going to go back to the Apple remote for a couple of days to see if that works. If not I would consider an upgrade to Snow Lep.

Thanks for the ideas and help!
__________________
-24" Imac -13" Macbook -Ipod Collection -Ipad 16gb
Rockdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2010, 08:12 AM   #4
mstrze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Send a message via AIM to mstrze
Weird...seeing the Apple logo implies to me that the AppleTV IS being turned OFF by the Logitech remote.

Like you, when I usually turn on my system with the remote, I see either the photo montage (if it was 'shut down' in the middle of playing something) or the main menu. I NEVER see the Apple logo unless I physically unplug and replug the unit.

Maybe Logitech has actually stumbled on some sort of IR combination that allows the ATV to power down?? That would be odd...cause the ATV really isn't designed to 'shut off'.
mstrze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2010, 12:58 PM   #5
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
FYI, "wake on network" only works on newer Macs, even if you have SL installed. I have a 24" iMac running SL (see sig.), but it is not capable of responding to a wake demand through the network. I set the CPU to be always on, and that fixed the issue I had with the ATVs dropping the link to iTunes.

I've never had an issue with my ATVs dropping the network itself, and I use 3 different models of Harmony remote on 4 individual ATVs.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 09:59 PM   #6
Rockdoc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Now I'm really getting frustrated!

So, I am by no means a genius, but I certainly don't stumble around electronics like I have been...however, I have run out of ideas and options for getting my appletv to retain it's network connection. In fact, now it doesn't even remember the last movie I loaded on there.

Here is what I have tried since my last post...

Disconnecting power cable and doing a complete restart

Disconnected and unlearned logitech remote

Left iTunes up and running for over 24 hours

Reststarted router

Result: appletv still can't retain network connection!

Any thoughts?
__________________
-24" Imac -13" Macbook -Ipod Collection -Ipad 16gb
Rockdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 11:19 PM   #7
cwaddell2002
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Have you tried restoring your ATV to factory defaults? Also - wired ethernet is the way to go... you may not have even changed anything in your setup, but if a neighbor has a new network, or a new pice of network equipment, or moved a router, or even furniture, it could be interfering with your reception. If you want and or need to stay with your wireless connection, you might want to log into your router and make sure it is on a channel as far away from other networks as possible. To get a clear picture of what is going on wirelessly in your neighborhood, try kisMAC. My ATV has been running wired for 2 years with maybe a monthly glitch that requires a reboot (although that usually has to do with HDMI handshake issues with my AVR and plasma...)
cwaddell2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2010, 09:42 PM   #8
Tasc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I'm having the same problem with my AppleTV and it just started happening within the last couple months. The wireless connection keeps getting dropped and I have to reenter all the information. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with the latest software update (if one was even released recently), since I never had this problem before.

The other possibility is I replaced my aging wrt54g router with a Linksys 320n router a few months back, which also could be the culprit - or just a coincidence.
Tasc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2010, 10:15 PM   #9
supermanfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasc View Post
I'm having the same problem with my AppleTV and it just started happening within the last couple months. The wireless connection keeps getting dropped and I have to reenter all the information. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with the latest software update (if one was even released recently), since I never had this problem before.

The other possibility is I replaced my aging wrt54g router with a Linksys 320n router a few months back, which also could be the culprit - or just a coincidence.
I too have started to see this in the last couple months I have four ATVs in my house and at least three of the four have this happen frequently (one a week). The fourth is not used too often, so not sure about that one.

I created a separate wifi network for my G devices (making the N and G bands separate), but that did not help.
supermanfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 12:52 AM   #10
Rockdoc
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Update...

So, I am finally back up and running without a dropped network and also not having any issues with Itunes not finding Appletv.

Here is what I finally did.

I reprogrammed my logitech remote to no longer control any Appletv features except sound.

I did a factory reset and then loaded all 80gb of content back on the appletv.

Almost 2 weeks now and not once have I had to put network passwords nor have I encountered any issues with Itunes finding device.

Hope that helps...I will at some point add appletv back to logitech universal remote, which may end up answering my original problem.
__________________
-24" Imac -13" Macbook -Ipod Collection -Ipad 16gb
Rockdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks to Win7 Network keeps dropping connection for MacDrive HDs rimmi2002 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Nov 4, 2013 12:43 PM
iPhone Dropping Connection With AppleTV mobiletaylor Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Mar 23, 2013 12:39 PM
Ethernet dropping connection mrdctaylor Mac mini 3 Mar 11, 2013 07:51 AM
Mac Mini dropping internet connection copydeskcat Mac mini 0 Jan 26, 2013 12:25 PM
Dropping WiFi Connection nanosour OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 6, 2012 07:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC