Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2004, 05:09 PM   #1
anthonymoody
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
What's with the adjustable speed of the CPU in the imac G5?

Sorry if this is a dumb/noob type question, but I understand that the new iMac comes with a standard setting called AUTO which near as I can tell throttles the CPU up and down depending on demand. Further, I understand you can run it in max (or whatever it's called) by electing to do so.

So I guess my question is, since the thing is plugged into the wall at all times and is not drawing down a battery, why'd they do this? Why not run at full speed 100% of the time?

Thanks,
TM
anthonymoody is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 05:14 PM   #2
iMeowbot
macrumors 601
 
iMeowbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
It allows the computer to qualify for Energy Star.
iMeowbot is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 05:22 PM   #3
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
It also helps the CPU run cooler if you don't need its full power. This helps reduce fan noise.

By the way, just for future reference, a question like this would be better off if posted in the Hardware Discussion and Help forum.
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 05:28 PM   #4
stoid
macrumors 68040
 
stoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: So long, and thanks for all the fish!
Just because it's not on battery doesn't mean you can stop worrying about power usage. Someone has to pay the electric bill.
stoid is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 07:30 PM   #5
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Have had my new iMac G5 running on Highest for about an hour now. Fans kicked in once for about 30 seconds and were pretty quiet. I'm leaving it at highest. Who cares if my electric bill is a few bucks more a month?
rdowns is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 07:45 PM   #6
anthonymoody
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Thanks for the replies/explanations. Makes sense, though I agree I'll probably keep mine on full speed

BTW I'm a switcher to be - I pulled the trigger on a loaded 20" iMac today after the last frustrating straw with my PC....

And thanks too re: posting in the other forum. I realized that after I posted but didn't know how to change the forum, or if it was even possible, sorry!

TM
anthonymoody is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 07:52 PM   #7
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns
Have had my new iMac G5 running on Highest for about an hour now.
Do you notice a speed difference? It seems that if the "Automatic" setting did its job right. you shouldn't notice anything. Automatic should give you the speed when you need it, and let the processor run slower when it can (for example, playing a song in iTunes doesn't need the full processor).
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 28, 2004, 07:55 PM   #8
Elan0204
macrumors 65816
 
Elan0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody
And thanks too re: posting in the other forum. I realized that after I posted but didn't know how to change the forum, or if it was even possible, sorry!
Only moderators can move threads. It's not a big deal to occasionally post in the wrong forum, and sometimes a topic might fit equally well in a few areas, so it can be a judgement call. I just wanted to let you know for future reference.
__________________
Utada's U.S. debut album, Exodus, is now available on the iTunes Music Store. Make sure to check it out.

To learn more about Utada, check out my iMix.
Elan0204 is offline   0
Old Sep 29, 2004, 03:36 AM   #9
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elan0204
Do you notice a speed difference? It seems that if the "Automatic" setting did its job right. you shouldn't notice anything. Automatic should give you the speed when you need it, and let the processor run slower when it can (for example, playing a song in iTunes doesn't need the full processor).
Haven't done any heavy lifting yet so I can't tell. I plan on spending this weekend installing RAM, getting rid of wires, adding Airport Express to network, moving data and programs over and giving this puppy a good workout. Oh yeah, and watching my Jets go 3-0.
rdowns is offline   0
Old Oct 19, 2004, 10:36 PM   #10
andrewfee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elan0204
Do you notice a speed difference? It seems that if the "Automatic" setting did its job right. you shouldn't notice anything. Automatic should give you the speed when you need it, and let the processor run slower when it can (for example, playing a song in iTunes doesn't need the full processor).
I've had my iMac for almost 2 weeks now, and I run it on "Highest" all the time now. I have noticed with some programs, games especially (note: I don't use it for games, this was just to test) that the framerate was quite erratic at times, but running on Highest it was smooth. It seems it doesn't always know when it's best to drop the speed or raise it, however I'm sure it's fine for many other uses.
andrewfee is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 07:56 AM   #11
link92
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
On my Dual 2.5GHz G5, only occasionally do the fans start making more noise, but the performance gain is noticeable...
link92 is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 10:16 AM   #12
johnnyjibbs
macrumors 68030
 
johnnyjibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Send a message via AIM to johnnyjibbs Send a message via MSN to johnnyjibbs
I did switch my 12" PB to run on Highest when plugged in, but I got fed up with the increased fan useage. Now, I only run it on Highest when working in GarageBand or encoding/burning an iDVD. The only difference with Auto that i've noticed is that the dock magnification isn't quite as silky, but that shouldn't be a problem on an a machine with a 1.6 or 1.8GHz G5 anyway.

Oh, and it's good to save energy where possible
johnnyjibbs is offline   0
Old Oct 23, 2004, 11:14 AM   #13
FredAkbar
macrumors 6502a
 
FredAkbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
I have mine on Highest all day, but when put it on Reduced at night so it can fold without being really loud (I'm about 2 feet away from it when I sleep, so it's kind of noticeable).
__________________
Fred
27" iMac / 3.4 GHz Core i7 / 8 GB / OS 10.10 PB3
AdiumX | FreeRice
FredAkbar is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to determine CPU speed? Demigod Mac Mac Pro 3 May 3, 2013 11:55 PM
iMac CPU fan at full speed Ken Li iMac 8 Apr 12, 2013 01:04 PM
Late 2012 iMac - Fan speed and Temps under full CPU load Ynk iMac 0 Jan 19, 2013 03:10 PM
Here is the speed difference (CPU wise) slayerizer iMac 15 Nov 30, 2012 07:40 AM
2012 iMac - anyone want height adjustable? EphraimShay iMac 18 Sep 3, 2012 10:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC