Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Old May 1, 2010, 04:13 PM   #1
knew2mack
macrumors regular

Which processes to quit in Activity Monitor???

Hi everyone

Ok I am new to computers as a whole. I read somewhere that in is vital to make sure to 'quit' everything instead of just clicking on 'x'....then I read that it's best to keep 'activity monitor' as certain levels.

I do NOT understand most of what I have read. Could someone please tell me if it's ok to quit every process in activities monitor? What are the ones that are vital to my machine running properly, quickly and at a relatively cool temperature??

I am just afraid that if I 'quit' the wrong thing, my computer will stop running and performing as it should.

Please please help me figure this out. Would it be better if I took a screenshot?

I appreciate any & all of the help you can provide me with

Dawn
knew2mack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2010, 04:15 PM   #2
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)

I don't think you need to quit everything. I leave Mail, Safari, and iTunes running all the time. I do quit other apps that I'm not using.

Just click on the App name next to the apple in the upper left hand corner of the screen. Then click quit at the bottom of the menu. Alliteratively, press cmd + Q.
Old May 1, 2010, 04:17 PM   #3
spinnerlys

To quit an application (program / software) in Mac OS X, either use CMD+Q as keyboard shortcut or go to the Menu Bar and select the name of the program (Safari for example) and choose QUIT.

That is enough. You don't need to quit running processes in Activity Monitor, only if they stop responding.

Also have a look at the following links, as the information presented there might be helpful in your future endeavours into Mac OS X and could clear up initial confusion and may even prevent harm to your system or your files.

spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2010, 04:19 PM   #4
Eidorian