Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2, 2010, 07:10 AM   #1
alehel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
All handbrake content is choppy

I'm having problems with doing my handbrake rips. Almost all my films look choppy. I suspect that handbrake is getting the fps of the video wrong. I'm using the builtin apple tv preset. Has anyone else had this problem?
alehel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2010, 07:12 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Set the FPS to e.g. 30 and try again (with the original, not the rip as it has already been modified)
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2010, 07:14 AM   #3
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Open one or three of them in the QuickTime Player and then open the Movie Inspector via CMD+I to see their details.





Report back with the settings seen there and we might give you a solution.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2010, 05:05 PM   #4
alehel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
This is interesting. Quicktime isn't reporting on the fps at all. Could it be that it's unable to find the correct fps and is therefore reverting to the wrong fps as a result?

Another thing I noticed is that it's not showing the fact that it also has an AC3 passthrough file which I know it does. I chose it during the encode, and it's also available when viewing on the apple tv.

Also, I've watched several HD trailers on the Apple TV and none of them have an issue with choppiness.
Attached Images
 
alehel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 08:15 AM   #5
alehel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Just found this on the HandBrake wiki.

Quote:
However, understand that DVDs and other MPEG-2 video streams use inherently variable framerates. This means that the actual framerate is not a steady number. This doesn't matter in most cases--for example, iPods handle it well. But if you find that playback is jerky, you might want to experiment by specifying a particular framerate instead of using "Same as source."
Guess I just need to experiment a bit.
alehel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 09:44 AM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Ac3 is shown as the second track in "Movie Properties" called Surround. Click on that track and at the bottom it will show all of the channel assignments.

As far as choppiness my guess is that for some reason your player (presumably quicktime) is dropping frames for some reason (could be it can not keep up, or some other reason). Tough to say as you really do not give much info as to what your using for playback.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 09:53 AM   #7
tommylotto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
I have been trying to encode an MKV for AppleTV of Gladiator made from the Blu-Ray for about a month. It was always stuttering, unwatchable. I thought it had something to do with bit rate. So, I made it smaller and smaller, but it still stuttered. Finally, I set the fps to 24 and it was smooth, I even maxed out the picture at 1720x720 Anamorphic and it looked great. Reading this thread, it might look even better if I "hard" select 23.98 instead.
tommylotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 10:33 AM   #8
alehel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Woops, thought I mentioned that. I'm using an Apple TV, but seeing exactly the same problem on my Macbook Pro with C2D 2.5 GHz using both quicktime and VLC.
alehel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 10:40 AM   #9
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
tough to say without seeing a hb activity log, like we require on the hb forums.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 10:54 AM   #10
alehel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Well, I set the frame rate myself. Looks like it solved the problem. Thanks for all the tips and advice guys.
alehel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMovie Playback Choppy monkeydax MacBook Pro 3 Nov 23, 2013 05:13 AM
Choppy scrolling mat0r OS X 2 May 26, 2013 09:57 AM
AirPlay Choppy / Laggy rdunlap MacBook Air 8 Apr 8, 2013 12:22 PM
Choppy looking text djsound Design and Graphics 6 Nov 1, 2012 01:42 PM
Some animations are choppy mdimovv OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 56 Oct 17, 2012 02:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC