Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2, 2010, 11:02 AM   #1
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Who's that Mac?

Nowhere near my OSX Leopard Server at the moment but need to ask anyway
Can the Server read each Mac on Network System Profiler?
We have a few dozen and Im too lazy to open each System Profiler to do a database of what is what in my department
Or better yet, is there a Mac Software Utility that can do this?
Id love to gather all info with one press of a button

Thanks!
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2010, 11:32 AM   #2
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
What is "Network System Profiler?"

You wouldn't be able to do this with "one press of a button." Unless you have a decent inventory already (machines names, IP addresses). Meaning, you are going to have to input data into whatever solution you choose. A few options:

Push a launch daemon or logon script (via WGM) to the machines that will run:

Code:
system_profiler -xml > report.spx
I would write it in so that the report has the same name as the machine or serial number or however you keep track of the Macs.

You can view the man page to narrow down the details you want. For example, you can do a mini, basic or full report. You can even single out specific sections. For example:

Code:
system_profiler SPHardwareDataType
Will give you the general hardware overview.

Of course, using Apple Remote Desktop would make this process much easier, since you can gather reports from there.

I am not familiar with any 3rd party solutions to get this done, mainly because I use Remote Desktop for my management. However, there a number of ways to get this done in a way that is fairly automated.

If this is something that you need to do often, or even if you want more control of management, I would look into Apple Remote Desktop: http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/
__________________
ACSA, ACMT
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 11:06 AM   #3
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by calderone View Post
Of course, using Apple Remote Desktop would make this process much easier, since you can gather reports from there.

If this is something that you need to do often, or even if you want more control of management, I would look into Apple Remote Desktop: http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/
Just purchased Remote Desktop Unlimited. Works great for basic system management, however the reports options is not giving me the complete System Profiler?
I would like to be able to get all that info from all the Macs in our network.
Am I missing something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
Just purchased Remote Desktop Unlimited. Works great for basic system management, however the reports options is not giving me the complete System Profiler?
I would like to be able to get all that info from all the Macs in our network.
Am I missing something?
My bad. The option I was looking for is "Computer". It defaults to a few sub-options.

Last edited by yellow; May 5, 2010 at 11:10 AM. Reason: Merged Contiguous Posts
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 11:10 AM   #4
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Probably.. the reports can be expanded to pick up everything.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 11:13 AM   #5
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow View Post
Probably.. the reports can be expanded to pick up everything.
Yea after testing all possible report options, Im not getting the same results as using the System Profiler > Save As > XML or RTF doc.
That option is almost 800 pages long in RTF format.
That might be overkill for Remote Desktop but I would still like that as an option.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 11:14 AM   #6
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
There are different profiles at the top of the Reports window.

Under "System Overview Report" you can select to add additional item. If you want everything, click the "All Fields" checkbox and it will select all items.

One the top left, click on the "Template" dropdown. And select "Save as template." Name it complete report. Now when you select the System Overview Report, you can then select the "Complete Report" template to get all items.

Also, remember you can select multiple machines and even schedule the report.

Apple has a few video tutorials. Here is one for inventory management:
http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/t...anagement.html

EDIT: I see you still aren't getting the information you want. Remote Desktop is more targeted. Instead of getting a bunch of stuff, you get what you need.

Also, you may want to consider sending out the system_profiler command if you want the full report. I gave that above.
__________________
ACSA, ACMT

Last edited by calderone; May 5, 2010 at 11:19 AM.
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 11:18 AM   #7
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Which report type are you looking for? Everything populated in system profiler is broken into different categories in Reports, to my knowledge you'll have to get a massive dump individually from each machine, not through Reports.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 03:02 PM   #8
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow View Post
Which report type are you looking for? Everything populated in system profiler is broken into different categories in Reports, to my knowledge you'll have to get a massive dump individually from each machine, not through Reports.
Thanks calderone and yellow, I guess Ill have to accept with what I get. Only reason I wanted full detail is that some systems are a few floors away. That lazy
Im loving this Remote for situations like Avid/Protools studio.
I can check on renders and processes without having to walk a few hundred feet. I know that lazy huh
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 03:25 PM   #9
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
As I said, you can just send a command to the machine to produce the full report.

All you have to do is:

1. Highlight the machines
2. Click Manage in the menu bar
3. Click "Send UNIX Command"
4. type in

Code:
system_profiler -detailLevel full
And await the reports.
__________________
ACSA, ACMT
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 03:48 PM   #10
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by calderone View Post
As I said, you can just send a command to the machine to produce the full report.

All you have to do is:

1. Highlight the machines
2. Click Manage in the menu bar
3. Click "Send UNIX Command"
4. type in

Code:
system_profiler -detailLevel full
And await the reports.
awesome that did it man I dont know why I took this long to buy this software I just did a days work of running around in almost two hours
thanks calderone for the tips!!
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Adds 'Happy Birthday, Mac' Section to Mac App Store MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 16 Jan 24, 2014 07:18 PM
Migration assistant (Mac - Mac). New mac has mutiple drives, can't pick the right one Daftones MacBook Pro 4 Aug 29, 2013 09:32 AM
Mac Mini not visible in Mac network (shared drives, remote desktop) xterminated OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jul 19, 2013 12:13 PM
Linux and mac shared Data partition. (paragon extFS-mac, ntfs-mac, ntfs-3G ?) HiDeHo OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 15 Jul 17, 2013 05:09 PM
This is the last straw. (Mac Pro with Lion won't play DVD-Rs burned on a Mac). StephenCampbell Mac Basics and Help 5 Jul 22, 2012 01:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC