Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 3, 2010, 03:23 PM   #1
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
In with the new, Out with the old?

Were running Snow Leopard on a XServe Powermac 2.3GHz along with two Fibre RAIDS attached.
Its been doing great but have the budget to upgrade to a MacIntel one.
Anyone want to chime in on their thoughts as to what we should use this server for after we get the new one?
We dont handle any websites and the most traffic we get are below single digits (computers) at a time.
Most important thing we need are that the Fibre RAID Enclosures play nice with the new box.
Is there an option where we leave the old server up and running with the RAID drives and have it work as a load balance off the newer Server?

Please assume Im a newbie to this kind of tech
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2010, 03:37 PM   #2
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Well I can tell you that your current configuration is not possible.

Snow Leopard requires Intel. So you are running Leopard or below.

As far as hardware, if you want Fibre Channel you are going to have to go with a Mac Pro or an Xserve.

What would you be looking to load balance? Mail? OD?
__________________
ACSA, ACMT
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 11:16 AM   #3
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by calderone View Post
Well I can tell you that your current configuration is not possible.

Snow Leopard requires Intel. So you are running Leopard or below.

As far as hardware, if you want Fibre Channel you are going to have to go with a Mac Pro or an Xserve.

What would you be looking to load balance? Mail? OD?
Haha yea I had SL on my mind due to a few installs in the past week.
You are correct that its just Leopard.
Yes the XServe (G5) has a RAID card and is hosting an Apple RAID and G-Tech XL.
My bad on the load balancing. What I meant was, can the old XServe still be usefull to host the RAID boxes and have the new XServe act as the Main?
This is why I ask
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2010, 04:53 PM   #4
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Sure it can. If the new Xserve will provide DNS services, simply add a DNS record for the old Xserve. That way clients can use the existing share paths.
__________________
ACSA, ACMT
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2010, 08:33 AM   #5
mBox
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by calderone View Post
Sure it can. If the new Xserve will provide DNS services, simply add a DNS record for the old Xserve. That way clients can use the existing share paths.
Thanks for the tips, looking forward to trying this soon
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps