Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2010, 05:48 PM   #1
aj350z
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Avatar Blu-Ray and Surround Sound

Alright i finally ripped Avatar using Make MKV. All fine a dandy. I use a normal Blu-Ray profile in Handbrake to rip to AppleTV. However, i decided to read some forum topics on Macrummors and one of them was on "5.1 Surround Sound and AppleTV" http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=910205

This got me into looking at how many rips i made that had 5.1

It turns out i dont have this for Avatar and i would like it. I tried 2 different settings for the audios.

1) English DTS 5.1 to ACC CoreAudio with Dobly Pro
2) English AC3 to AAC CoreAudio with Dolby Pro

Neither of these have worked. Looking for help with anyone that has gotten it to have 5.1 Surround Sound and able to play on AppleTV.

Thanks
__________________
Mac Mini 2012, 2.5 GHz Duel-Core Intel Core i5; the 3rd generation iPad Wifi/4G 16 GB; iPhone 4s 32GB
aj350z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 06:10 PM   #2
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Avatar's primary audio track is DTS-HD. The AC3 5.1 has commentary. You'll need to transcode the DTS core to AC3 5.1. There are ways of doing that describe here in the forum but I'm not able to do it.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 07:52 PM   #3
BigAudio
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Clown BD over on the windows side works well for that. It uses eac3to to do the transcoding DTS to AC3. But with out having to know how eac3to works, or how to do it in the command line.
BigAudio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 07:53 PM   #4
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Avatar's primary audio track is DTS-HD. The AC3 5.1 has commentary. You'll need to transcode the DTS core to AC3 5.1. There are ways of doing that describe here in the forum but I'm not able to do it.
oh you cant get DTS->AC3 working? why not? im looking for a way to do it also

oh thanks BigAudio - ill try that on my VM tonight!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD

Last edited by DoFoT9; May 6, 2010 at 08:09 PM.
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 08:04 PM   #5
aj350z
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
if i had a quick way to transfer the mkv to my GF's windows machine i would do that... however her PC is extremely slow at encoding anything (even basic DVDs)

With most new receivers would it be a horrible difference between having an AC3 5.1 track compared to a AAC track? Or would this just be a difference in my own ears?
__________________
Mac Mini 2012, 2.5 GHz Duel-Core Intel Core i5; the 3rd generation iPad Wifi/4G 16 GB; iPhone 4s 32GB
aj350z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 07:41 PM   #6
aj350z
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I just download Moyea MKV Converter and throwing Avatar thru it. I set it for AppleTV settings and for the audio "aac 6 channel". I am hoping this will work. I will post back if this does since this is an easy UI program for the Mac.

Has anyone else ever tried this method and got good results?
__________________
Mac Mini 2012, 2.5 GHz Duel-Core Intel Core i5; the 3rd generation iPad Wifi/4G 16 GB; iPhone 4s 32GB
aj350z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 07:43 PM   #7
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
sorry nup id never even heard of it! does it look alright? hopefully it will work for you
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 09:01 PM   #8
tommylotto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Here is a thread that claims to have a system to convert DTS to AC3 so handbrake can give you surround sound:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=836043

I could not get it to work.

If you have VMware Fusion or Parallels running Windows, here is a program that works for me:

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/PopCo...AudioConverter
tommylotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 09:02 PM   #9
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
intersting tommy! i shall try both when i have the time. thanks heaps for that!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 11:16 PM   #10
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj350z View Post
I just download Moyea MKV Converter and throwing Avatar thru it. I set it for AppleTV settings and for the audio "aac 6 channel". I am hoping this will work.
It won't. AAC 6-channel is 6 discrete channels and you'd need an amp with 6 line-outs to play it. The Apple TV won't, that's for sure. You need to go from DTS to AC3.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 12:32 AM   #11
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
It won't. AAC 6-channel is 6 discrete channels and you'd need an amp with 6 line-outs to play it. The Apple TV won't, that's for sure. You need to go from DTS to AC3.
The atv converts 6 channel aac down to kind of a weird 3.0 aac. Frankly for my money you are currently better off with the existing DPL2 mixdown imho.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 10:14 AM   #12
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Right dyna - I should have been more clear; you won't get 5.1 from the Apple TV using AAC 6-channel.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 02:48 PM   #13
REK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Solution

I stumbled on this thread looking for something else but figured i'de share what I do, most likely you've already found this solution.

I take the original mkv file and using flvsofts moyea video converter extract the DTS audio to AC3. Basically choose common audio -> AC3 as your conversion method. Make sure to go into setting and change the channels from 2 to 6.
Take the resulting AC3 5.1 audio file and add it to your apple tv version using subler.

The moyea software is not free, however the free trial version works for the above process.
REK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blu-Ray for MacBook Pros - Finally, a 9.5mm Slot-Load Blu-Ray Drive! Prodo123 MacBook Pro 72 Sep 15, 2013 10:17 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC