Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 6, 2010, 11:22 PM   #1
55test55
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
what does a + next to a number mean?

Eh? i think it means that the number has been in your phone before?
55test55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 11:22 PM   #2
troop231
macrumors 601
 
troop231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NSLog(@"Earth");
Steve did say it would be an A+ update after all lol
__________________
My iOS apps: MyTradeshow , Outdoor Rules & Regulations
iPhone 5
2013 15" rMBP 2.6
troop231 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 11:32 PM   #3
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
The "+" is Cellphone short code for International Access. If you are in the US, it just means that you received the number, and didn't enter it yourself (at least that is what I can tell).

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 11:37 PM   #4
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
International calling code.

So to call international from anywhere I just need + at the start of the number before the country code and I don't need to remember the local int. dialling number.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 10:35 AM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
+ is for International codes... example:

if you dial to the US you must dial +1 before the area code...

if you are calling to a foreign country (say Honduras) from inside the US. you say

+1 (504)-area code-number
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 11:39 AM   #6
sgar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Ok, lets say you call a number in the UK, int. code is 0044, you can use +44, so it can be used instead of the zero.
sgar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 12:53 AM   #7
toomanyphones
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Skype and Cellphones uses the +(country code)(area code)(number) format. If you save all your numbers that way, you don't have to do anything different whether you are calling local or long distant.
toomanyphones is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does the new Mac Pro lineup mean to me? advres Mac Pro 13 Jul 27, 2010 09:25 PM
What does the legit 999 Unlocked Iphone mean for Unlockers? mike0775 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Nov 26, 2007 04:00 AM
What does the 'automatically' in .Mac sync mean? natallica Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 13, 2007 10:39 PM
What does a switch to Intel mean for the average user? jessearl Macintosh Computers 14 Jun 6, 2005 07:22 PM
what does bring all to front mean? PHARAOHk Mac Help/Tips 2 Jun 26, 2003 10:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC