Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 7, 2010, 12:22 AM   #1
55test55
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
what does a + next to a number mean?

Eh? i think it means that the number has been in your phone before?
55test55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 12:22 AM   #2
troop231
macrumors 601
 
troop231's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Steve did say it would be an A+ update after all lol
troop231 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 12:32 AM   #3
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
The "+" is Cellphone short code for International Access. If you are in the US, it just means that you received the number, and didn't enter it yourself (at least that is what I can tell).

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 12:37 AM   #4
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
International calling code.

So to call international from anywhere I just need + at the start of the number before the country code and I don't need to remember the local int. dialling number.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 11:35 AM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
+ is for International codes... example:

if you dial to the US you must dial +1 before the area code...

if you are calling to a foreign country (say Honduras) from inside the US. you say

+1 (504)-area code-number
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 12:39 PM   #6
sgar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Ok, lets say you call a number in the UK, int. code is 0044, you can use +44, so it can be used instead of the zero.
sgar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2010, 01:53 AM   #7
toomanyphones
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Skype and Cellphones uses the +(country code)(area code)(number) format. If you save all your numbers that way, you don't have to do anything different whether you are calling local or long distant.
toomanyphones is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xcode build phase - unknown number of input files to unknown number of output files TheChekt Mac Programming 0 Dec 15, 2013 09:42 AM
Your Apple store order number is also your UPS reference number Gjwilly iPhone 0 Sep 23, 2013 10:36 AM
4S- Changed phone number, old number still shows up in messages dbabytro iPhone 4 Jul 18, 2013 02:58 PM
Serial number or phone number? davidra iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 13, 2013 11:04 PM
Apple Mail: number of messages in inbox doesn't match number of messages on server joshwillmarth OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 24, 2012 11:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC