Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Old May 7, 2010, 02:36 PM   #1
t1buccaneer
macrumors newbie

ichat without the cutesy aesthetic

The context: I am making a piece of multimedia theatre. For this, a performer and an audience member are able to have a text-based I.M conversation using two macbooks in the space.

The question: I need the two users to chat without internet. I know that two macbooks can chat via bonjour on ichat, but while this is perfect technically, the speech bubbles are not the right look. I am looking for an aesthetic more similar to a terminal/telnet window, no frills, just say your sentence and wait for the reply.

I thought maybe there was a way of creating your own chatroom using a local network, but I'm no computer expert and am hitting (virtual) brick walls everywhere. Perhaps there is also a way of doing this via bluetooth?

PS. To make matters worse, there's no budget left, so I'm limited to freeware generally.

Thankyou!
t1buccaneer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 03:16 PM   #2
calderone
macrumors 68040

Adium supports Bonjour chat.

http://adium.im/

In addition, there are a number of "Terminal" like message styles available.

http://www.adiumxtras.com/index.php?...l&sort=ranking
Old May 8, 2010, 01:12 PM   #3
Alrescha
macrumors 65816

Quote:
Originally Posted by t1buccaneer View Post
the speech bubbles are not the right look
Turn off the speech bubbles with iChat/View/Messages/Show as Text ?

A.
Alrescha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2010, 05:17 PM   #4
Mr-Stabby
macrumors 6502

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alrescha View Post
Turn off the speech bubbles with iChat/View/Messages/Show as Text ?

A.
This. iChat offers a few ways of displaying messages. I'm not a fan of the speech bubbles myself, and have turned off.
Mr-Stabby is offline   0 Reply With Quote