Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 11, 2010, 07:37 PM   #1
majordude
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Using USA iPad in Mexico?

Okay, I've heard the horror stories of people taking their iPhones into Mexico and ending up with $3000 AT&T bills.

1. Does the 3G part of the iPad work in Mexico?
2. If so, is the cost as insane as the phone plan?
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 07:47 PM   #2
Neous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Woodstock, CT
i don't think those are horror stories more like stupid stories.
it's called roaming outer space, or using your US phone out of the country.

one solution to your question: the Ipad is unlocked so go to mexico get yourself a mini sim card from a good provider and enjoy or at least try to since according to my tube there seem to be some kind of marshal Law in effect.
Neous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 07:52 PM   #3
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by majordude View Post
Okay, I've heard the horror stories of people taking their iPhones into Mexico and ending up with $3000 AT&T bills.

1. Does the 3G part of the iPad work in Mexico?
2. If so, is the cost as insane as the phone plan?
You will be roaming if use 3G in Mexico. You can either
1. sign up for and ATT international data plan
2. get a PAYG SIM from a carrier in Mexico.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 08:25 PM   #4
iKrl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neous View Post
one solution to your question: the Ipad is unlocked so go to mexico get yourself a mini sim card from a good provider and enjoy
I would recommend Telcel if you're going to Mexico City, although for every carrier you would have to cut it to the size of the micro-sim, Telcel offers something that allows you to pay 1 peso (like 0.08 dollars right now) for 1 MB of usage, it isn't extraordinarily cheap but it is a better option than even paying for the roaming plans that AT&T offers.
iKrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2010, 08:32 PM   #5
joseluis.17
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: monterrey, mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKrl View Post
I would recommend Telcel if you're going to Mexico City, although for every carrier you would have to cut it to the size of the micro-sim, Telcel offers something that allows you to pay 1 peso (like 0.08 dollars right now) for 1 MB of usage, it isn't extraordinarily cheap but it is a better option than even paying for the roaming plans that AT&T offers.
that's what I'm planing to do
or you can have a contract that's 400 pesos or 500 a month I think for unlimited data
__________________
sorry about my spelling is just that i'm learning english
Iphone 3GS 32 gb and a macbook
joseluis.17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 08:44 AM   #6
majordude
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
I am usually in Baja Norte or Sonora.

Where do they sell those sims cards?
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 01:23 PM   #7
riverfreak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Earth, mostly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by majordude View Post
I am usually in Baja Norte or Sonora.

Where do they sell those sims cards?
Most of the big grocery stores have mobile stores in them or nearby. Definitely get pay as you go. Definitely stick with Telcel and stay away from Movistar. And definitely bring lots of beer money.
riverfreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 03:52 PM   #8
leomac08
macrumors 68020
 
leomac08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Does anybody know if there is mini sim cards in el Salvador?

Like from digicel, tico, claro?
__________________
UC IRVINE ANTEATERS LOS LAKERS USC TROJANS Fight on!
leomac08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 03:55 PM   #9
DougFNJ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ
And whatever you do.....do NOT let your iPad drink the water
DougFNJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 04:13 PM   #10
iKrl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joseluis.17 View Post
that's what I'm planing to do
or you can have a contract that's 400 pesos or 500 a month I think for unlimited data
Yea but if you're only going there for a few days I would NOT recommend that!
Besides the pay as you go is really good for visiting because when you buy certain denominations of prepaid cards you get more because they like "gift it" to you, say you buy 200 pesos and you get 300.
iKrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 05:35 PM   #11
MigsVuitton
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Diego
Send a message via AIM to MigsVuitton
I just went to cabo a month ago with my iPhone and set up everything online. Got the 20mb international plan (was only planning to check mail on the fly and update a few social networks). Was there for a 4 days and only used up about 10mbs and got refunded what I didn't use.
__________________
instagram + blog
MigsVuitton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2010, 07:41 PM   #12
majordude
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougFNJ View Post
And whatever you do.....do NOT let your iPad drink the water
Quote of the day!

Quote:
Originally Posted by riverfreak View Post
Most of the big grocery stores have mobile stores in them or nearby. Definitely get pay as you go. Definitely stick with Telcel and stay away from Movistar. And definitely bring lots of beer money.
Glad you said that. I did a search and I think Movistar is cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MigsVuitton View Post
I just went to cabo a month ago with my iPhone and set up everything online. Got the 20mb international plan (was only planning to check mail on the fly and update a few social networks). Was there for a 4 days and only used up about 10mbs and got refunded what I didn't use.
I take it you turned off all the push features and stuff?
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 11:57 AM   #13
majordude
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Quote:
Originally Posted by skubish View Post
Get a PAYG SIM from a carrier in Mexico.
I was just thinking, will this work? If I take the AT&T chip out, since it's locked, won't it reject the Mexican chip?
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 12:01 PM   #14
iKrl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by majordude View Post
I was just thinking, will this work? If I take the AT&T chip out, since it's locked, won't it reject the Mexican chip?
It is not locked to AT&T, look there is a thread on this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=916982
__________________
MacBook Pro 15", iPhone 5 16 GB, Apple TV (second generation), iPod Nano 16 GB (fourth generation), iPad 3G.
iKrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 12:31 PM   #15
majordude
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKrl View Post
It is not locked to AT&T, look there is a thread on this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=916982
I JUST found that thread about 4 minutes ago. Thanks!
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 06:08 PM   #16
jburns
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC-USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougFNJ View Post
And whatever you do.....do NOT let your iPad drink the water
Wouldn't be a problem. Per Apple, what is downloaded to the iPad stays in the iPad.
jburns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 03:24 AM   #17
christof
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SFO, JFK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigsVuitton View Post
I just went to cabo a month ago with my iPhone and set up everything online. Got the 20mb international plan (was only planning to check mail on the fly and update a few social networks). Was there for a 4 days and only used up about 10mbs and got refunded what I didn't use.
Which Mexico carrier did you use?
__________________
Mac LC, Performa600CD, Centris660av, PB3400c, iBook SE FW, TiBook Gbit, PB G4 12.1, MBA A, rMBP 13. iPod mini 1, shuffle 1, nano 1. VZ iPhone 4S/5/5S, iPad 4/mini. ATT iPhone 1/3G/4S/5/5S, iPad 1/2/3.
christof is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 10:23 AM   #18
riam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mty, Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by christof View Post
Which Mexico carrier did you use?

This Are the possible carriers in Mexico

Telcel= Best Option Excelent Coverage, 3G service is bad

Movistar= Coverage Bad 3g service Bad

IUSACELL= It dosent use a SIM but they Have MIFI, Bad Coverage Excelent 3G Service.
__________________
21.5 iMac (late 2012), Mac mini (mid 2011), MBA 11' (mid 2012) iPad 2 WiFi +3G, iPad mini Celular
tv 1080p, iPhone 5s Silver
riam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 06:36 PM   #19
MadeTheSwitch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
And remember when traveling to Mexico, if you have an insurance plan with Safeware, and it gets lost, stolen or damaged while there, they will not cover it as Mexico is on the travel adversary list:

http://travel.state.gov/travel/cis_p...w/tw_1764.html

Other insurance plans might have this limitation too, so be aware and be careful whenever traveling to countries on this list!!
MadeTheSwitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2010, 03:59 AM   #20
pakito360
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
IpAD 3G TELCEL (MEXICO)

You Can See The Ipad 3G Working On Mexico

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlEGm...eature=related
pakito360 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Ipad USA - prepaid sims fatlardo iPad 2 Mar 7, 2013 02:07 PM
iPhone 4s Verizon iOS 6.1.1 reported as stolen in USA can be issued in Mexico pcortez099 iPhone 2 Feb 8, 2013 02:38 PM
iPad: iPad mini and iPad 4 stock level in usa ? ansabakhan iPad 4 Nov 5, 2012 04:47 PM
The New iPad from USA hw007 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Aug 1, 2012 10:39 AM
Recommend a charger for an iPad when in Mexico Arleff iPad Accessories 6 Jun 28, 2012 06:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC