Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

paydayj

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 18, 2010
Alright so, I am a proud owner of a 21.5 in. iMac and a iPhone 3GS. However, since I'm now a college student, I need something else to fill that void. So, I'm trying to decide between the new Macbook they just updated vs. a Macbook Pro vs an Ipad? If I had an iPad I could use Logmein for my 21.5 in. iMac or just stick with one of the Macbooks? Also, if I should get a Macbook pro, I'll only be able to get the 13 in. For money reasons. Any help would be appreciated!

Note: I go to a broadcasting college if that makes any difference. Also, they don't care which computer you use.

Serelus

macrumors 6502a
Aug 11, 2009
Vm9pZA
I am going to disregard the MacBook as it really doesn't have any advantages over the Macbook Pro.
As an owner of the new model MacBook Pro's, I can assure you it's worth buying if you have the money. Only buy the MacBook if you're short on money or you need a laptop fast.

The question we all know is really:

What are you going to use it for?

dantiston

macrumors newbie
May 18, 2010
It's $200 more, fyi. And besides that, if you're going to have access to your iMac, you should definitely get the iPad. There's no need to have a laptop if you have an iMac. An iPad let's you take notes, write papers, watch movies, etc. etc. etc. etc. You'll just need the iMac for some small things (like printing).

mdatwood

macrumors 6502a
Mar 14, 2010
East Coast, USA
It's $200 more, fyi. And besides that, if you're going to have access to your iMac, you should definitely get the iPad. There's no need to have a laptop if you have an iMac. An iPad let's you take notes, write papers, watch movies, etc. etc. etc. etc. You'll just need the iMac for some small things (like printing).