Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2004, 09:18 PM   #1
Bhennies
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC & Baltimore
DVI switcher b/t PC and mac (new 23" display)

Hey all, while I'm on a posting rampage about building a PC, I was wondering if there is a way I can get an A/B DVI switcher that will let me share my 23" cinema display between my Powerbook and PC. I already checked out dr. bott and their DVI box doesn't support the 20 and 23" flat panels. Anyone seen anything out there suitable?

BTW, cheap is good- not the 500 dollar "extend" products, and I don't need USB switching, although that would be nice.

Thanks!
__________________
-15" PB, 1.33 ghz, 1.25 gig. RAM
-23" alu. cinema display
-30 gig iPod
Bhennies is offline   0
Old Oct 6, 2004, 11:34 PM   #2
Xenious
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Texas, USA
Waaaaay back when I was pondering this I looked at this switch from Belkin:

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=160592

BTW I realize it only lists 1600x1200 as the max resolution, but it might work. DVI is DVI so I don't see why it would not. My take is they pick common PC resolutions.

Tho end in the end I decided to use my 15" display as my Windows box monitor (mostly for TV via Media Center) and keep my 23" only on my G5. That decision was based solely on being able to have both systems displayed at the same time on multiple monitors. Otherwise I would have gotten the DVI switch.
-jim
Xenious is offline   0
Old Oct 7, 2004, 12:36 AM   #3
Dr. Dastardly
macrumors 65816
 
Dr. Dastardly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: I live in a giant bucket!
I went looking around for a switch a while back and came to two conclusions.

1) The switches I've seen don't give you the resolution you need to really make use of the 23 inch screen. And whats the use of buying a $2000 monitor if your going to cripple it with a bad switch.

2) If I found a switch suitable enough it, the price was so high you might as well buy another screen.

Maybe someone has found one that I have not seen before, but I'm still looking off and on and have found nothing for this. The best way imho is to just unplug form each tower. Yeah that sucks but its the best way.
Dr. Dastardly is offline   0
Old Oct 7, 2004, 02:19 AM   #4
Bhennies
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC & Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Dastardly
I went looking around for a switch a while back and came to two conclusions.

1) The switches I've seen don't give you the resolution you need to really make use of the 23 inch screen. And whats the use of buying a $2000 monitor if your going to cripple it with a bad switch.

2) If I found a switch suitable enough it, the price was so high you might as well buy another screen.

Maybe someone has found one that I have not seen before, but I'm still looking off and on and have found nothing for this. The best way imho is to just unplug form each tower. Yeah that sucks but its the best way.
damn...I was afraid someone would say that. Oh well, it was worth a shot.
__________________
-15" PB, 1.33 ghz, 1.25 gig. RAM
-23" alu. cinema display
-30 gig iPod
Bhennies is offline   0
Old Oct 28, 2004, 12:59 AM   #5
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
[double post]
__________________
the year of HD

Last edited by Rod Rod; Oct 28, 2004 at 06:39 PM. Reason: double post
Rod Rod is offline   0
Old Oct 28, 2004, 01:03 AM   #6
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
If I were in your situation I might look into selling the Apple display and buying an HP 23" LCD. You'd have the same resolution, likely better brightness and contrast, and you wouldn't need a switch because the monitor itself has multiple inputs (DVI, VGA, component video, s-video).

here's the link.

The only thing wrong with it is the HP logo.. but I suppose I could get over it. The neat thing about it is that it rotates 90'. I think ATI enabled display rotation in its Mac drivers recently but I could be mistaken.
__________________
the year of HD
Rod Rod is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Apples Old 27" cinema display (DVI) vrs New 27" Thunderbolt display between2tides Mac Peripherals 5 Feb 28, 2014 12:40 PM
Display Problem, mini DVI to VGA or DVI male cable for early 08 Macbook? peglegjack MacBook 1 Feb 28, 2013 08:46 AM
Problem with Mini Display to HDMI+DVI+DisplayPort and DVI to VGA adapter hi5grant MacBook Pro 3 Feb 27, 2013 02:43 PM
dual display: Thunderbolt and typical 23" DVI 1080p gowanis Mac Peripherals 2 Sep 3, 2012 12:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC