Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 20, 2010, 11:54 AM   #1
Chuushajou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Turning an old desktop into a home server?

So, I have an old Dell Inspiron sitting in my garage not doing much, and I was wondering how I can turn this into a little home-server just to store some music & movies, preferably without spending any cash?

The specs aren't exactly amazing, but they should do the job;

Intel Pentium D Processor- 2.8Ghz
512MB DDR[1] RAM- 533Mhz
2x80GB IDE hardrives


... Couldn't I slap Ubuntu Server edition onto this, configure and away I go?
__________________
Macbook MC240B/A ; iPod Touch 2G 8GB ; iPhone 3G 16GB
Chuushajou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 01:43 PM   #2
danielcox
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
You could, although 160gb isn't a lot of storage space for a home server.
danielcox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 04:28 PM   #3
RedReplicant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
More than quick enough for my home server; mine is a P4 2ghz with 2gb ram and a gbit NIC. I have SABnzbd+, Transmission server, irssi running under screen, SMB, ProFTPD, and a basic LAMP setup running on it. My Wii is soft modded and has a 10/100 usb adapter - works great to play anything less than 720p off my server over SMB in MPlayerCE.

You can install ubuntu server on it and run headless, that is how I go. Pretty easy to setup. Toss an extra 1.5tb hdd in there for like $80 bucks.
__________________
2010 13" MBP - 8GB Ram, 115GB Corsair Force, 500GB Optibay - Covered with 'beauty marks.'
2012 27" iMac - i7, 32GB Ram, 3TB Fusion
RedReplicant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 06:13 PM   #4
danielcox
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
When building a server you should concern yourself more with memory, disk speed and network speed rather than the speed of the processor - it's largely irrelevant unless you're crunching numbers all day.
danielcox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 09:24 PM   #5
RedReplicant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielcox View Post
When building a server you should concern yourself more with memory, disk speed and network speed rather than the speed of the processor - it's largely irrelevant unless you're crunching numbers all day.
He's probably on 10/100, so he's not going to have any issues maxing out anything but the NIC. I am on gbit and I am maxing out my hdds at 390Mbit/s.
__________________
2010 13" MBP - 8GB Ram, 115GB Corsair Force, 500GB Optibay - Covered with 'beauty marks.'
2012 27" iMac - i7, 32GB Ram, 3TB Fusion

Last edited by RedReplicant; May 21, 2010 at 01:57 AM.
RedReplicant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 09:31 PM   #6
Zombie Acorn
macrumors 65816
 
Zombie Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
You can install ubuntu server on it and run headless, that is how I go. Pretty easy to setup. Toss an extra 1.5tb hdd in there for like $80 bucks.
Have to do it via USB as I doubt his computer supports sata.
__________________
--2.6 C2Q 4gb DDR3 GTX 260-Win 7--
--2.0 CE Macbook Alum-Leopard--
Zombie Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 09:42 PM   #7
rajendradhakal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Send a message via Skype™ to rajendradhakal
Its very nice

i'm also trying too.
the new system new configuration
good system works
rajendradhakal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2010, 10:18 PM   #8
RedReplicant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Acorn View Post
Have to do it via USB as I doubt his computer supports sata.
PCI SATA controller is $15
__________________
2010 13" MBP - 8GB Ram, 115GB Corsair Force, 500GB Optibay - Covered with 'beauty marks.'
2012 27" iMac - i7, 32GB Ram, 3TB Fusion
RedReplicant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 01:17 AM   #9
Zombie Acorn
macrumors 65816
 
Zombie Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
PCI SATA controller is $15
Good point.
__________________
--2.6 C2Q 4gb DDR3 GTX 260-Win 7--
--2.0 CE Macbook Alum-Leopard--
Zombie Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 09:37 PM   #10
Ttownbeast
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
I am considering something similar except for using one as a home server but rather as a web host. My ISP seems to be OK with it i am sure there might be a few small added fees switching from residential to business, but I'll have total control though.
Ttownbeast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 08:48 AM   #11
cherry su
macrumors 65816
 
cherry su's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
My personal server (serves files and my website) is a 7 year old Dell P4 with 2GB RAM and 500GB IDE Drive. It's a perfectly speedy machine for those tasks, but it surely gets really loud. You'll be fine with your machine; just add some more RAM and hard drives. The 1.5TB drives are around $99 each; why not pop two in?
__________________
MacBook Air 13/1.86/4/128 : Dell Streak 5 : Canon EOS 5D Mark II + 24-105L
MIT '14
My Blog
cherry su is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 08:51 AM   #12
djdavidgallant
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Ubuntu works very well for this. It is also nice to install SFTP so you can drag n drop files right onto the box, without remoting into it.
__________________
www.DJDavidGallant.com --Mixtapes
www.HubSpot.com --Marketing Automation Software
djdavidgallant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 11:40 AM   #13
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombie Acorn View Post
Have to do it via USB as I doubt his computer supports sata.
Any Pentium D based PC will have SATA ports.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 02:33 AM   #14
Love
macrumors 68000
 
Love's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Just southeast of Northwestshire
If it supports it, I'd recommend you throw in a decent drive and slap Ubuntu on it.

Or chuck it off of a roof and buy a Mac mini server, but I doubt that's as cost effective as the first option.
Love is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2010, 01:00 PM   #15
DC Boy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Hi im also thinking of turning my old PC into a home Server

I have a 2006 HP Pavilion desktop:

-it runs XP media center editon SP2
-has an AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core processor 4200+
-991MHz 1GB RAM (4slots 2used need to look up max cap for upgrade purposes)
-NVIDIA GeForce 6150 Le graphics
-4 usb2.0's, a VGA port, 1 ieee/firewire, 1 Ethernet jack, mouse and keyboard input(not usb! old school green and purple/pink depending on the brand), and a fully digital audio output as well as all the standard PC speaker outputs.on the back of the tower integrated directly into the CPU Board (no PCI needed).
-300w adjustable to 115w power supply/fan as well as two additional fans one on the case and one on the CPU Board
-3 PCI ports(used) and 1 PCI Express port(free)
--PCI(1) dial up modem(will probably chuck if need space)
--PCI(2) TV tuner with A/V component, S-video,and a Coaxial Cable/ANT in as well as an out, plus free DVR software.
--PCI(3) D-Link Wireless G LAN device [*1]
-2 Large Drive Bays(1 used) and 4 Small Drive Bays(all used)
--Large Bay(1) CD/DVDW drive with light-scribe.
--Large Bay(2) Free
--Small Bay(1) universal flash memory reader and 1USB 2.0
--Small Bay(2) HP Pocket drive bay(IDK it seems to be like a passport drive bay but i have never used it)
--Small Bay(3) head phones and microphone jack plus one other jack dk what its 4 but symbol kinda looks like a Antenna
--Small Bay(4)primary HDD 224GB and recovery HDD 8.83GB(really one drive just came partitioned from manufacturer for reboot instead of sending me a windows OS disk.)
-And a windows remote that works with TV tuner as well as Media Center

[*1]WLAN adapter was the only upgrade I added to this system because I don't have an ethernet jack in my room and needed a good wireless connection. router is in my basement.
(I'll be using ethernet when I transform it into a server)

I really want to turn this PC into a home server dedicated to a few functions. I want to work as a print server. I have a big laser printer in my room that i stupidly bought without a networking feature and i checked it cant be moded to network. so to print on it from my laptop i would have to attach it to a desktop that stayed on and never went to sleep and by that point you might as well go full server conversion. I would also like it to work as a media server that could push media over my home network for everything from Stereos to home theater systems as well as have access from other PC's. the third thing I want it to do is have remote access over ISP or VPN getting a Cissco VPN client is no problem for me my school gives them to students for free. ISP would be preferable though VPN's tend to slow down networks. I don't need commercial over ISP capabilities it will just be me and a few family members using the server.
I would like the Server to have a least basic pc capabilities web browsing gchat ect...
I plan to have a keyboard/mouse and monitor hookup attached to the server for convenience of those who just need to look something up real quick and don't have there laptop with them.

what I really need advice on is software/firmware. I have heard great thing about Ubuntu as well as other Linux based solutions such as BSD. and every where I go it seem someone is trying to push Windows Home Server On Me. but WHS is a lot of money i could be using to upgrade hardware for the long haul. and although I have a natural almost genetic ability to get along with commuters and understand them I have not spent much time with Linux based softwares and most of it was spent fiddling with early versions of android back before they before the broke away from Linux based OS completely. so there may be a bit of a learning curve there.

I really don't know what to do about the software issue. so many options so little information about each. and so many bias on the subject (this seems to be the least bias form I have found so far ) I don't know what to believe.

any advice?
DC Boy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2010, 01:42 PM   #16
Ttownbeast
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Just finished a purchase on Ebay yesterday this one is very bare bones but should suit my purposes pretty good as a headless linux server:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...fvi%3D1&_rdc=1
Pentium 4, 1.7 Gig 256mb ram--no HD(I got that covered already)
Thumb resize.Thumb resize.
Ttownbeast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2010, 06:05 PM   #17
waloshin
macrumors 68030
 
waloshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: in my world.
If you have to ask how to then Ubuntu Server isn't for you.

Cause have fun running it.

Though if you choose ubuntu server I would suggest you install Webmin. Then after that install a ftp server, and there ya go you can store all types of files.
__________________
Best camera lenses for real estate agents
[/B][/URL]2008 Macbook Unibody 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo
waloshin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2010, 08:16 PM   #18
RedReplicant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by waloshin View Post
If you have to ask how to then Ubuntu Server isn't for you.

Cause have fun running it.

Though if you choose ubuntu server I would suggest you install Webmin. Then after that install a ftp server, and there ya go you can store all types of files.
Ubuntu is about learning and the server setup is pretty set-and-go, very easy. Just go with Ubuntu since you have no linux experience (also, BSD is not linux).
__________________
2010 13" MBP - 8GB Ram, 115GB Corsair Force, 500GB Optibay - Covered with 'beauty marks.'
2012 27" iMac - i7, 32GB Ram, 3TB Fusion
RedReplicant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 12:47 AM   #19
DC Boy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedReplicant View Post
Ubuntu is about learning and the server setup is pretty set-and-go, very easy. Just go with Ubuntu since you have no linux experience (also, BSD is not linux).
LOL!!! I called BSD a linux based solution??? Funny I know its UNIX based, However I had been up 4 like over 24hrs when I posted that. LOL!!MyBad!! xp

THX 4 the advice though!
DC Boy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 02:52 PM   #20
RedReplicant
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Haha.
__________________
2010 13" MBP - 8GB Ram, 115GB Corsair Force, 500GB Optibay - Covered with 'beauty marks.'
2012 27" iMac - i7, 32GB Ram, 3TB Fusion
RedReplicant is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turning old iMac into a server with own cloud?? ccapman670 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 6, 2014 05:59 PM
Mac Mail 7: Does it work on Mavericks server w/Home folders on server? kk05629 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 10, 2013 03:24 PM
Mass Home Server/Network Setup w/ OS X Server WAM2 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jun 29, 2013 09:18 AM
Turning MBP into server marc11 Mac Basics and Help 2 Feb 27, 2013 09:55 PM
Turning a Mac Pro G5 into a Media Server/Box thenation7 PowerPC Macs 1 Jul 3, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC