Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 21, 2010, 08:44 AM   #1
fstigre
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Conflict between devices connected to the same router Understanding IP addresses

Hi,

I have been using computers for a while now and I just realized that I dont know something as simple as IP addresses. Im correctly connecting my Notebook, my iPhone and a PC laptop to the same routing (wirelessly) and a few times I have seen a message in my Notebook saying that another device is already using the same IP address, Im assuming is my iPhone but to really find this out I would like to have a better understanding as to how IP addresses are assign to this devices when connected to a router, if Im not mistaking each device should have its own unique IP address and if this is true how in the world these two devices are interfering with each other.

Can someone help me understand how IP addresses work? Something like

1- What is an IP address?
2- How routers communicate to clients?
3- Does the router assigns unique IP address to all devices connected to it, or it uses the device's IP to communicate?

Can someone be so kind and explain this a little bit or direct me to where I can find these basics.

Thanks a lot.
__________________
MacBook (not the pro version) 2.4 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 160 GB HD - Snow Leopard - iphone First Generation
- Mac mini - 1.6GHz First Generation with Leopard
fstigre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 08:49 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
1- It's Internet Protocol address. When you connect your device to router/modem, your modem will ask for IP address from the ISP and give it to the device.

2. Do you mean ISP or devices?

3. When you connect device, it'll ask for IP which is unique for the device. In your situation, the ISP can't provide more IPs or your router lacks support for X number of devices (you have too many).

Hope this helps, not really an expert on this so please correct me if I'm wrong
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 09:23 AM   #3
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Your router is supposed to get an external IP from your ISP. The router then shares this single IP by assigning each of the computers on your network their own individual internal IP addresses via its onboard DHCP server. In effect, to your ISP everything on your home network appears as one device - the router, your gateway device.

The problems you describe can arise if you have one or more machines are assigned a static IP in their network settings, and that IP falls into the range used by the router's DHCP server. So make sure none of your machines have their IPs set manually. They should be set to get their IPs automatically by DHCP. If you do need to set a static IP for some reason, make sure and choose one that is outside the range used by the router but still on the same subnet. You can usually find out what range your router's DHCP server is using on its configuration screen accessed by a browser.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 03:43 PM   #4
fstigre
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Thanks a lot!
__________________
MacBook (not the pro version) 2.4 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 160 GB HD - Snow Leopard - iphone First Generation
- Mac mini - 1.6GHz First Generation with Leopard
fstigre is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 bluetooth devices connect at the same time?.....issue? om3ga785 MacBook 6 Jan 2, 2012 02:55 PM
Why does Mac OS say 3 users are connected to my shares? I'm the only one connected? alexreich Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Oct 2, 2011 02:16 PM
Need Some ATV2 and Router Help!! Jdstew1234 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Aug 10, 2011 02:46 PM
Why is my wireless device connecting to the weaker of two signals? m021478 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 May 28, 2010 05:32 AM
can't connect to mac pro with external IP address nick_harambee OS X 3 Oct 29, 2007 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC