Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 22, 2010, 02:07 PM   #1
ThirteenXIII
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Is this normal for encode; (encoding WALL-E)

So i used Handbrake with the universal settings, everything default.

but compared to the dvd its slight reduced in image size...havent noticed that with most of my other rips at all. most of them match the size of the dvd.


Handbrake encode:



DVD Size:




any settings to tweak or is it particularly normal/standard for that?


thanks!
ThirteenXIII is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 02:12 PM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
What I can tell, it looks like the DVD version has resolution of 834x352 while the encoded version has resolution of 720x352.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 02:25 PM   #3
ThirteenXIII
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
right, and the inspector says it 720x352, the actual size/screen shot is 834x352 and the DVD actual size is 853x363


so im not sure why handbrake is reducing the size, nothing is cut off from the actual film. i tampered around with manually inputting values but it stretched it out even maintaining aspect ratio.


so idk, i guess it could be normal and not a big issue.
ThirteenXIII is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 02:28 PM   #4
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirteenXIII View Post
right, and the inspector says it 720x352, the actual size/screen shot is 834x352 and the DVD actual size is 853x363


so im not sure why handbrake is reducing the size, nothing is cut off from the actual film. i tampered around with manually inputting values but it stretched it out even maintaining aspect ratio.


so idk, i guess it could be normal and not a big issue.
Near the bottom of the video tab, there is input resolution and output resolution. Keep your eye on them when selecting settings
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 03:19 PM   #5
ThirteenXIII
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Near the bottom of the video tab, there is input resolution and output resolution. Keep your eye on them when selecting settings
good catch. thanks for that.

so i guess what it did was remove the black bars on top and bottom and might have compressed it.

now in handbrake, after i adjusted the cropping it did.

SourceL 720x480, Output 720x480, Anamorphic 853x480 Strict


and it matches the dvd perfect, thought just like the dvd on Dvdplayer/vlc it has the black bars but atleast the film looks normal and good quality.


i appreciate the advice.
ThirteenXIII is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSX Crash with Video Encode dfuerpo OS X 3 Feb 13, 2014 12:24 PM
Resolved: encode/decode custom object erdinc27 iPhone/iPad Programming 3 Jan 21, 2014 01:38 AM
AAC Encode Settings [XLD] Dnix Digital Audio 10 Sep 9, 2013 08:00 PM
Re-encode audio to filter out severe static? iphoneZ Digital Audio 3 Apr 5, 2013 02:55 AM
is that normal?batteryis it normal?battery talaada101 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 4, 2012 08:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC