Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 23, 2010, 05:59 PM   #1
BoozeRob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Reset all Settings taking forever

Hi,

I went and reset all settings on my jailbroken 3.1.2 3Gs and the phone has been stuck on the apple logo for a couple hours. Is this normal? How long does it take to reset?

Thanks.
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 06:19 PM   #2
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Using the reset buttons usually results in the phone locking up and always requires a restore since you have erased the OS.

Try to get it into recovery mode so you can restore it. Hopefully you have 3.1.2 SHSH saved or you will have to go to 3.1.3
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 06:29 PM   #3
BoozeRob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
I have SHSH saved, so I'm ok there, but how do I get it into recovery mode?
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 06:40 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Plug it to iTunes and shift-restore or option-restore to your desired ipsw.
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 06:52 PM   #5
BoozeRob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Plug it to iTunes and shift-restore or option-restore to your desired ipsw.
Ok I gotr this far, can I restore it using shift restore and a downloaded 3.1.2 ipsw?

Thanks for your help guys
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 06:58 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoozeRob View Post
Ok I gotr this far, can I restore it using shift restore and a downloaded 3.1.2 ipsw?

Thanks for your help guys
Yep. You already edited your hosts files to redirect to cydias server right?
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 07:00 PM   #7
BoozeRob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yep. You already edited your hosts files to redirect to cydias server right?
Nope not yet, but I will google how to do that right now
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 07:37 PM   #8
BoozeRob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yep. You already edited your hosts files to redirect to cydias server right?
So I got my phone into recovery mode and the screen is black, I added the host from sauriks website and when I go to install iPhone2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore using shift and restore, it tells me that my device is not eligible for the requested build.... am I screwed? I know I added my shsh to the server the first time I logged into cydia....
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 09:44 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoozeRob View Post
So I got my phone into recovery mode and the screen is black, I added the host from sauriks website and when I go to install iPhone2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore using shift and restore, it tells me that my device is not eligible for the requested build.... am I screwed? I know I added my shsh to the server the first time I logged into cydia....
How long ago?
Did you click make my life easier thru cydia before February 2 when 3.1.3 came out?
Did you edit your hosts file correct?
Try it again: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7557
If it still gives you that message and you did the above steps correct then you dont have SHSH's for 3.1.2
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 11:33 AM   #10
BoozeRob
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
How long ago?
Did you click make my life easier thru cydia before February 2 when 3.1.3 came out?
Did you edit your hosts file correct?
Try it again: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7557
If it still gives you that message and you did the above steps correct then you dont have SHSH's for 3.1.2
That might be my problem... I'm pretty sure I did the jailbreak and logged my SHSH after 3.1.3 came out. Crap.

Well at least I can jailbreak 3.1.3, just no hope for unlocking.
__________________
iPad 32 GB; iPhone 3GS 32GB White
BoozeRob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 01:58 PM   #11
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhlizard View Post
Using the reset buttons usually results in the phone locking up and always requires a restore since you have erased the OS.

Try to get it into recovery mode so you can restore it. Hopefully you have 3.1.2 SHSH saved or you will have to go to 3.1.3
A reset all settings doesn’t erase the OS.
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 02:00 PM   #12
dhlizard
macrumors G3
 
dhlizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Jailbreak Community
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
A reset all settings doesn’t erase the OS.
Are you sure ? With the exception of Reset Network settings, every reset switch on the iPhone renders the OS un-bootable.
__________________
Two iPhone 5S
iPad 4 iPad Air AppleTV 2
MacBook Pro Two iMacs

Look for me here
dhlizard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2010, 02:20 PM   #13
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
A reset all settings doesn’t erase the OS.
That is correct.
I think the OP probably meant "Eare All Content and Settings"
That does render the OS un-bootable and in need of a restore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoozeRob View Post
That might be my problem... I'm pretty sure I did the jailbreak and logged my SHSH after 3.1.3 came out. Crap.

Well at least I can jailbreak 3.1.3, just no hope for unlocking.
Yep, if you can hold off a month or 2 a new unlock will be released with 4.0
Applejuiced is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5s flash taking forever when taking pictures cchunk iPhone 9 Oct 19, 2013 04:03 AM
rMBP is taking forever to come!!! NickPhamUK MacBook Pro 14 Oct 10, 2013 10:03 PM
Verizon taking forever Traderalways iPhone 4 Nov 20, 2012 03:34 PM
FCP X: transcoding/analysis taking forever sunandsurf Digital Video 4 Nov 19, 2012 02:46 PM
AppleCare+ taking forever to process stevo505 iPhone 5 Sep 24, 2012 06:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC