Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 26, 2010, 07:18 PM   #1
Cologero
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Transferring Hard Drives Help?

I been searching the net for an answer but everything requires to buy something. I have my original hard drive of 140 GB and just bought a new one thats 1TB. I want to transfer my applications from the 140 to the 1TB. Is there a simple way of doing this, please help thank you.
Cologero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 07:20 PM   #2
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CWB, Hong Kong
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
what computer is this on? are they both SATA connectors, or IDE?

you will most likely need an external USB/FW enclosure to put one of the drives into
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:03 PM   #3
Cologero
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Its a Power Mac G5 and the old one is a Serial-ATA and the new one is SATA
Cologero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:14 PM   #4
Bennieboyİ
macrumors 65816
 
Bennieboyİ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: england
Send a message via MSN to Bennieboyİ
plug the new HD in the 2nd drive bay plug it all in, use something like carbon copy cloner to copy the boot drive over to the new drive, change the boot drive pref in system preferences reboot and hey presto
__________________
Macrumors IRC: irc.krono.net room #macrumors download Colloquy or Adium
Search before you post: MRoogle
Bennieboyİ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:23 PM   #5
Cologero
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Will that copy over the OS as well? or just the files and apps?
Cologero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:47 PM   #6
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CWB, Hong Kong
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cologero View Post
Its a Power Mac G5 and the old one is a Serial-ATA and the new one is SATA
SATA = Serial ATA.

you can put the new 1TB HDD into the G5 and away you go.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:48 PM   #7
Cologero
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I just dont have a copy of Mac OS X, so will it copy over everything to the new harddrive, including the Mac OS X?
Cologero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2010, 09:56 PM   #8
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CWB, Hong Kong
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cologero View Post
I just dont have a copy of Mac OS X, so will it copy over everything to the new harddrive, including the Mac OS X?
hhmmm. you might have to get some sort of cloning program (carbon copy cloner etc) as it can copy from the drive you are booted into currently (boot into your 140GB, run carbon copy cloner to directly copy everything to the new one).
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I transfer music from an external hard drive on to my computer? MJNBGA Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Sep 3, 2013 12:42 AM
External Hard Drive Suggestions rabsparks iMac 9 Dec 30, 2011 12:09 AM
MacBook Pro Hard Drive Boot Speeds SSD and HDD NickZac MacBook Pro 0 May 15, 2011 07:39 PM
Resolved: Hard Drive Transfer (Macbook Pro) Help Please? ghandii23 MacBook Pro 3 Apr 23, 2011 07:18 PM
Portable hard drive zdlyons Buying Tips and Advice 20 Jan 26, 2011 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC