Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 27, 2010, 03:28 AM   #1
macervantes
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
PowerMac G4 450Mhz AGP Graphics Freaking Out

First of all here are the specs i was able to pull before the incident.

Machine Name: Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics)
Machine Model: PowerMac3,1
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.7)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 450 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
Memory: 1.5 GB
Bus Speed: 100 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 3.1.3f1

Here is what happened, i had to hack the admin password since i had bought this mac on ebay, but when i tried to update it, it wouldnt boot, so i had to install Tiger various amount of times, until one day disaster hit, and the Mac wouldnt install Tiger, i though it was the HDD but not everything is fine, it chimes and the looks for bootable discs. Just recently at 2:25PM CST, i heard the video card make noises with the fan, now im wondering if its the Video Card that is messing up. Any help would be great since i cannot find the AHT for this Mac and it wont boot the ASD. Just for fun facts, i was able to boot up my old iMac G3 Slot Loading.

MarcoCervantes aka. Selim Bradley
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 02:58 PM   #2
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Some versions of OS X require a firmware update first.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120068
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 03:11 PM   #3
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Some versions of OS X require a firmware update first.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120068
Here the problem, how do i upgrade when it does not have Tiger running? I have tried running a hardware test using TechTool pro 4 but it Kernel Panicked. like i said my mac has no OS running.
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 03:18 PM   #4
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Well to do that particular firmware update, you have to be booted into OS 9.2.2 anyway. You'll need a spare harddrive or partition to use for the Classic OS.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 03:27 PM   #5
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Any version of OS 9 should work on a G4 Sawtooth.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.

Last edited by Dave H; May 28, 2010 at 03:33 PM.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 01:57 AM   #6
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Any version of OS 9 should work on a G4 Sawtooth.
My OS 9 will only boot to a screen where it has CD all over it and from there it stalls.....
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 02:28 AM   #7
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Does your OS 9 CD have a gold 9 on it (retail), or is it a gray disk (OEM)?
OEM disks are made for specific Mac models, and may not have the necessary drivers for other models.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 04:05 AM   #8
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Does your OS 9 CD have a gold 9 on it (retail), or is it a gray disk (OEM)?
OEM disks are made for specific Mac models, and may not have the necessary drivers for other models.
Ok major update! I got my mac to finally install Tiger AND get the 10.4.11 update not the problem is, it kernel Panicks after a few minutes of use. Any ideas?
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 06:18 AM   #9
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by macervantes View Post
Ok major update! I got my mac to finally install Tiger AND get the 10.4.11 update not the problem is, it kernel Panicks after a few minutes of use. Any ideas?
Ok i got it not kernel panic anymore (i think it was a bad ram) but now Safari and Software Update wont run, any ideas?
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G4 400mhz (PCI Graphics) owensky PowerPC Macs 14 Aug 29, 2013 04:57 PM
PowerMac G4 AGP/GE/DA, additional drives and PSU? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 7 Jul 29, 2012 06:26 AM
Best Graphics card for 733MHz PowerMac G4? MacPig PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 8, 2012 03:44 PM
Power Mac G4 AGP Graphics Best Upgrade. Good and bad news. Gionnimata PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 26, 2012 12:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC