Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 27, 2010, 02:28 AM   #1
macervantes
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
PowerMac G4 450Mhz AGP Graphics Freaking Out

First of all here are the specs i was able to pull before the incident.

Machine Name: Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics)
Machine Model: PowerMac3,1
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.7)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 450 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
Memory: 1.5 GB
Bus Speed: 100 MHz
Boot ROM Version: 3.1.3f1

Here is what happened, i had to hack the admin password since i had bought this mac on ebay, but when i tried to update it, it wouldnt boot, so i had to install Tiger various amount of times, until one day disaster hit, and the Mac wouldnt install Tiger, i though it was the HDD but not everything is fine, it chimes and the looks for bootable discs. Just recently at 2:25PM CST, i heard the video card make noises with the fan, now im wondering if its the Video Card that is messing up. Any help would be great since i cannot find the AHT for this Mac and it wont boot the ASD. Just for fun facts, i was able to boot up my old iMac G3 Slot Loading.

MarcoCervantes aka. Selim Bradley
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 01:58 PM   #2
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Some versions of OS X require a firmware update first.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120068
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 02:11 PM   #3
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Some versions of OS X require a firmware update first.
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120068
Here the problem, how do i upgrade when it does not have Tiger running? I have tried running a hardware test using TechTool pro 4 but it Kernel Panicked. like i said my mac has no OS running.
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 02:18 PM   #4
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Well to do that particular firmware update, you have to be booted into OS 9.2.2 anyway. You'll need a spare harddrive or partition to use for the Classic OS.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2010, 02:27 PM   #5
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Any version of OS 9 should work on a G4 Sawtooth.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.

Last edited by Dave H; May 28, 2010 at 02:33 PM.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 12:57 AM   #6
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Any version of OS 9 should work on a G4 Sawtooth.
My OS 9 will only boot to a screen where it has CD all over it and from there it stalls.....
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 01:28 AM   #7
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Does your OS 9 CD have a gold 9 on it (retail), or is it a gray disk (OEM)?
OEM disks are made for specific Mac models, and may not have the necessary drivers for other models.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 03:05 AM   #8
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Does your OS 9 CD have a gold 9 on it (retail), or is it a gray disk (OEM)?
OEM disks are made for specific Mac models, and may not have the necessary drivers for other models.
Ok major update! I got my mac to finally install Tiger AND get the 10.4.11 update not the problem is, it kernel Panicks after a few minutes of use. Any ideas?
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 05:18 AM   #9
macervantes
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by macervantes View Post
Ok major update! I got my mac to finally install Tiger AND get the 10.4.11 update not the problem is, it kernel Panicks after a few minutes of use. Any ideas?
Ok i got it not kernel panic anymore (i think it was a bad ram) but now Safari and Software Update wont run, any ideas?
macervantes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermac G4 Hackintosh advice? Qwertyfish11 PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 11, 2011 09:15 PM
Will a dual 500mhz g4 chip work in a 400mhz g4 with AGP Graphics? raysfan81 PowerPC Macs 7 Mar 28, 2010 01:48 AM
help with powermac G4 450mhz maxterpiece PowerPC Macs 11 Jan 25, 2006 07:27 PM
Powermac G4 450mhz Sawtooth For Sale umgolfer Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 3 Dec 13, 2004 04:33 PM
Nvideia GeFroce2 MX 400 for old G4 450mhz AGP LimeiBook86 Macintosh Computers 7 Oct 30, 2003 07:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC