Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 11, 2004, 12:58 AM   #1
friendlyghost
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Can an Apple Display be used as a tv?

Is it possible to use an Apple display like the 20" or 23" version as a tv? I'm talking about doing so without a computer attached.
__________________
Incidentally,
friendlyghost
friendlyghost is offline   0
Old Oct 11, 2004, 01:56 PM   #2
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Re: Can an Apple Display be used as a tv?

If you're not hooking it up to a computer what would you propose to hook it up to?

The Apple displays do not have analog inputs, only ADC (older) or DVI (current) so connecting to a composite, S-Video or component output of a VCR or DVD player or satellite tuner is out.

The new Apple Cinema displays do have a DVI input, so potentially could hook to a high-end DVD player with DVI out. Maybe someone who has tried this can comment about how well it works.

Otherwise you would have to look at some outboard box to convert the signal, considerably more trouble than its worth. Most convertors go to VGA (analog) outputs, so that's no good. Here's a high end one for professionbal video on the Cinema display: http://www.ecinemasys.com/products/e...p100_intro.htm

Or go with a Mac-based TV solution like EyeTV 200 and Formac Studio TVR
CanadaRAM is online now   0
Old Oct 11, 2004, 04:39 PM   #3
bdomz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
It seems to me than any HDTV receiver that has DVI output would work. (provided you have an Apple Cinema dislplay with DVI input).
bdomz is offline   0
Old Oct 11, 2004, 04:46 PM   #4
gallagb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: IN
Send a message via AIM to gallagb Send a message via Yahoo to gallagb
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
Or go with a Mac-based TV solution like EyeTV 200 and Formac Studio TVR
do any of them really work?
i checked them out briefly
as a user- what would i need?
aside from the monitor and the box?
do i need cable? satelite? or does it download the stuff off the web?

how's it work?
is it worth it?
etc-
anyone use these things?
gallagb is offline   0
Old Oct 12, 2004, 05:16 AM   #5
sandman42
macrumors 6502a
 
sandman42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
I use EyeTV

I have a USB EyeTv, I use it all the time, and it works great. I understand that the firewire versions, like EyeTV 200, are even better (better video quality).

EyeTV USB and 200 connect to either cable or antenna. There are other versions that connect to digital cable, satellite, etc, and they now have one that receives HDTV.

In my case, I connect my cable to the EyeTV box, then connect the box to my computer with a USB cable - that's it. You can watch live tv full screen or in a resizeable window (and pause/rewind/etc like Tivo) or you can program it to record and watch later.

The video quality on the USB version is like low-end VHS; the audio is good. They use MPEG-1 in order to keep the data stream small enough for USB. The firewire version uses MPEG-2, same as DVDs - better quality but larger file sizes. USB version uses about 660Mb for an hour of TV. Don't know about the firewire version.

Programming is really easy. There's a searchable tv listing web interface, and you just click on the shows you want and EyeTV will record them for you. It's nice to have several hours of TV of your choice on your laptop!
__________________
Race fast, safe car.
sandman42 is offline   0
Old Oct 12, 2004, 09:43 AM   #6
Rod Rod
macrumors 68020
 
Rod Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdomz
It seems to me than any HDTV receiver that has DVI output would work. (provided you have an Apple Cinema dislplay with DVI input).
That seems to be the case but it's really not. You still need a scaling device between the HDTV tuner and the Apple Cinema Display - the same device linked by CanadaRAM.
__________________
the year of HD
Rod Rod is offline   0
Old Oct 12, 2004, 10:05 AM   #7
James L
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Wouldn't it be WAY cheaper just to buy a tv?

James L is offline   0
Old Oct 12, 2004, 10:29 AM   #8
Laslo Panaflex
macrumors 65816
 
Laslo Panaflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tokyo
Quote:
Originally Posted by James L
Wouldn't it be WAY cheaper just to buy a tv?

Yes.

Although the Cinema displays look phenominal when hooked up to a HD source, to use it with a Satelite/Cable box requires a scaler, which cost $1200-$1500

You could always buy the HP L2335 monitor, it is exactly the same panel as the Apple Displays, plus it has a built in scaler with s-video, component and composite imputs for HD. I use the L2335 at work, and have the 23 cinema at home, and for computer use the panels are identical. I have not tried to hook up an HD source to the HP, but from what I understand since the disply, (as well as Apple's) is not real 16x9 (16x9 is 1920x1080) and the native rez of the display is 1920x1200, so it will stretch the pixels to fit the screen. It does this even with SD content, but I would imagine the strecthing factor wouldn't be as noticable with HD content, since it closer to the same aspect than SD.

Anyway, yes you can use the Apple Display's as a TV, but you can't just hook it up to a DVD player or Satelite/Cable box with DVI out, it jsut won't work.

p.s. use the search, this is probably the 10th time I have replied to this same question in ten different threads
__________________
Mac Pro 2.6ghz, 12GB RAM, 4 - 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 3870
Macbook Pro 15" 2.8ghz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD || iPhone 4 16GB
Laslo Panaflex is offline   0
Old Oct 12, 2004, 11:34 AM   #9
ZaniCWB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandman42
I have a USB EyeTv, I use it all the time, and it works great. I understand that the firewire versions, like EyeTV 200, are even better (better video quality).

EyeTV USB and 200 connect to either cable or antenna. There are other versions that connect to digital cable, satellite, etc, and they now have one that receives HDTV.

In my case, I connect my cable to the EyeTV box, then connect the box to my computer with a USB cable - that's it. You can watch live tv full screen or in a resizeable window (and pause/rewind/etc like Tivo) or you can program it to record and watch later.

The video quality on the USB version is like low-end VHS; the audio is good. They use MPEG-1 in order to keep the data stream small enough for USB. The firewire version uses MPEG-2, same as DVDs - better quality but larger file sizes. USB version uses about 660Mb for an hour of TV. Don't know about the firewire version.

Programming is really easy. There's a searchable tv listing web interface, and you just click on the shows you want and EyeTV will record them for you. It's nice to have several hours of TV of your choice on your laptop!
EyeTV 200 uses up about 2GB per hour.
ZaniCWB is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Apple ever make the Apple TV Thunderbolt/Cinema Display compatible? Brandon263 Mac Peripherals 8 Sep 11, 2013 12:10 AM
Quality of iMac display VS. dedicated Apple Cinema Display? kat.hayes iMac 9 Jun 14, 2013 05:16 AM
Thunderbolt Display or Apple Cinema Display BRyken Mac mini 20 Dec 8, 2012 10:27 PM
Used Apple 20'' Cinema Display or New Dell Display? SimonUK5 Mac Peripherals 4 Aug 5, 2012 12:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC