Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 29, 2010, 10:05 PM   #1
birdhouse1575
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Powermac G3 B&W - Two HD's Won't Install Tiger

Maxtor

I've had a 30GB Maxtor hard drive in this powermac. I've been able to install Mac OS 8.6 and it worked perfectly, but when I install Tiger, I get passed the first CD and it reboots to either: an apple logo, no spinning circle, then a black box over the apple; -or- the apple logo and spinning circle which doesn't go away; -or- the apple logo and spinning circle, and then a bunch of lines of text are displayed on the screen.

So every one of my attempts to install Tiger results in a kernel panic, except the first, which I was able to install successfully with both discs, setup my account and got to my OS X desktop... then the computer shut down, I turned it on again, and the kernel panic message displayed over the apple logo.

Western Digital

I also have a 80GB Western Digital drive. When I try to install either OS 8.6 or Tiger, the installer always results in some variation of the "Please try installing again" message. Basically, it doesn't work. For what reason, again, I have no clue.

edit: Disk Utility brings up that this drive, when attempted to be repaired: "Volume Bit Map needs minor repair".

What I've done so far...

- Formatted these drives with Mac OS Extended (Journaled) formats multiple times, trying both one partition and two.
- Zapped PRAM.
- Open firmware and reset-nvram, set-defaults, and reset-all.

I doubt those last two did anything, but still did them nonetheless.


This has been killing me for days.
Any advice please?

Last edited by birdhouse1575; May 29, 2010 at 11:44 PM.
birdhouse1575 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 10:45 PM   #2
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Do you have the beige G3 tower or the blue and white? Tiger will not install on a beige without some extra help with xpostfacto.

Another note.. from past experience with WD drives on powermac G3's. Use the "single" jumper setting if you have just one on the bus ever. For some reason they get data corruption when simply set to master without a slave. Thats the experience myself and a few others had on both beaige and blue and white when I looked for help back then which was around 99.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2010, 10:56 PM   #3
birdhouse1575
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Oh, it's B&W.
birdhouse1575 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 12:11 PM   #4
rickvanr
macrumors 68040
 
rickvanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brockville
Send a message via ICQ to rickvanr Send a message via AIM to rickvanr Send a message via MSN to rickvanr Send a message via Yahoo to rickvanr
It's been a while, but I think there was a firmware update or something for the B&Ws for OS X with 8.6

I could be mistaken though, but try googling around
__________________
rickdiculous.. < o >
rickvanr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 12:22 PM   #5
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickvanr View Post
It's been a while, but I think there was a firmware update or something for the B&Ws for OS X with 8.6

I could be mistaken though, but try googling around
Good point.

Check system profiler and be sure you're running version 1.1 of the B&W firmware. It's a must do for any version of OS X.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retail Tiger won't install eMac xtempo PowerPC Macs 13 Mar 29, 2014 08:14 AM
I have more than enough space to install an app on my phone, yet it won't install. petrucci666 iOS 6 5 Oct 1, 2013 11:18 AM
Installing Tiger On PowerMac G5 Hard Drive Issues Cisherwood321 PowerPC Macs 7 Apr 17, 2013 02:56 PM
MacBook pro running 10.5.8 won't install Snow Leopard, reboots 25% through install akmusher907 MacBook Pro 0 Feb 17, 2013 11:41 PM
My Mac won't install anything else than Leopard after clean install nampramos MacBook Pro 3 Jul 29, 2012 09:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC