Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 30, 2010, 05:29 AM   #1
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
[solved]imac g3 won't boot

i picked up a imac g3 yesterday it was running os 9 i tried to install osx and this is where the problem started, it would boot normaly but the screen was very dim and a purpley colour, i tried what apple suggest if you have noo screen (pram reset) and now i don't even get a chime
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs

Last edited by max••; May 30, 2010 at 03:03 PM.
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 09:21 AM   #2
birdhouse1575
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Can you get into open-firmware or boot from a CD?
birdhouse1575 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 10:17 AM   #3
max••
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
no the screen is blank
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 10:23 AM   #4
birdhouse1575
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
If there are two RAM modules inside, take one out and try booting it up.
birdhouse1575 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 10:26 AM   #5
Radiomarko
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK & Russia
Its stretching my memory a bit but iirc some of these imacs needed a firmware update before installing OSX... or you will need to open it and connect another drive for a fix.

Found this.

http://db.tidbits.com/article/06973 with links to apple docs.

Google is your friend before trying OSX on old machines, I happily ran a G3 imac with OSX server until a short while ago.
__________________
Long time lurker....
Radiomarko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 02:55 PM   #6
max••
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
Thx people i just got my imac working again, first i took a stick of ram out and it started chiming again, so i took out the hdd put it in my pmg4 installed some vnc software update the system, did the firmware update with vnc, and it now works
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SN850572.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	1.00 MB
ID:	228255  
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 06:31 AM   #7
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
Thx people i just got my imac working again, first i took a stick of ram out and it started chiming again, so i took out the hdd put it in my pmg4 installed some vnc software update the system, did the firmware update with vnc, and it now works

great another happy iMac G3 owner
they are just great computers that still do every day computing perfectly fine considering they are 10 years old

btw here is a nice little website dedicated to the iMac g3
http://imacworld.110mb.com/index.html
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Jun 1, 2010 at 06:46 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 09:09 AM   #8
max••
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
great another happy iMac G3 owner
they are just great computers that still do every day computing perfectly fine considering they are 10 years old

btw here is a nice little website dedicated to the iMac g3
http://imacworld.110mb.com/index.html
this is my second imac, they are brillent little macs
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac G3 won't boot auptimus iMac 0 Jun 7, 2010 01:21 PM
iMac G3 won't boot at all Killyp PowerPC Macs 1 Jul 13, 2009 10:36 AM
My iMac G3 won't boot from my Mac OS X disk! dandeco Mac Basics and Help 8 Feb 23, 2009 09:42 PM
iMac G3 won't boot into Tiger install DVD EddyC30 PowerPC Macs 24 Dec 23, 2007 01:19 AM
iMac G3 won't boot gladiator Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 27, 2006 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC