Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 30, 2010, 08:44 AM   #1
Pilopew
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Question Help with installing Leopard on iMac G4 800MHz 10.4.11

Ohai,

A few months ago, I bought a new iMac 3.06 Intel etc.
Now, my poor little G4 was just standing there. After a lot of fumbling around, restores, it finally has regained life, running Tiger etc.
Now, I wanted to install Leopard, see for myself what I would prefer, and it would allow to tether wireless internet connection through my iPhone to the G4. But I need Leopard for that, Tiger is too old.
So, after Googling, I found out that if I put my Intel into Target Disk mode, I could use it as external DVD reader, seeing my G4's reader is dead as dead can be.
So I messed around etc, tried to use LeopardAssis, but no luck. I came accross this article here: http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/unsupported.html
Somewhere, under the header "Using a Supported Mac" there were a few explanations about how to do this with another mac at your disposition. It's something to do with external Harddrives and Firewires and partitions, but I didn't understand them, to be honest. I do have external Firewire drives aswell though.
Could anyone clear the instructions up for me, or post an alternative way? I am aware of the "Open Firmware tricking techniques" and modifying the OSInstall.mpkg packages etc, but the downloads were down, and I am not thŗt at ease with Terminal etc.

Cheers
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 09:10 AM   #2
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
if you want i can mod the osinstall.mpkg for you later tonight
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 09:53 AM   #3
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
if you want i can mod the osinstall.mpkg for you later tonight
Yes please, thanks, thatd be nice. Ill look up again how to work that. Would you by any chance know what the part of the article I mentioned was all about?
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 03:34 PM   #4
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
i might not get to do it for a few days
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 11:47 AM   #5
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
i might not get to do it for a few days
Ok, that's cool, thanks for the effort. Would anyone else know how the other methods would work?

Cheers
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 12:16 PM   #6
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Best thing to do as you will need an optical drive at some point anyway is just buy a new dvd drive for 20-30 bucks and install it yourself. I strongly recommend a Pioneer or LG as both work 100% with the built-in drivers.

Here is a guide on how to take the imac apart and replace/upgrade ram, hard drive and dvd drive: http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/i...takeapart.html

Once you do that follow this guide on how to install 10.5 on unsupported macs: http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/unsupported.html

Since your 800MHz is so close to the 867 minimum and it seems like you won't be doing much on it the performance will be decent.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 12:40 PM   #7
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
Best thing to do as you will need an optical drive at some point anyway is just buy a new dvd drive for 20-30 bucks and install it yourself. I strongly recommend a Pioneer or LG as both work 100% with the built-in drivers.

Here is a guide on how to take the imac apart and replace/upgrade ram, hard drive and dvd drive: http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/i...takeapart.html

Once you do that follow this guide on how to install 10.5 on unsupported macs: http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/unsupported.html

Since your 800MHz is so close to the 867 minimum and it seems like you won't be doing much on it the performance will be decent.
Great, could you explain to me the part in that guide under the header "Using a Supported Mac"? It was too cryptical for me.

Cheers
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 02:00 PM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
I strongly recommend a Pioneer or LG as both work 100% with the built-in drivers.
Since 10.4 ANY optical drive works with default OS X drivers.
OP, just grab one which reads DL discs (Leopard is on DL). You will also need BOX (retail) copy of 10.5 install DVD. Dedicated one (gray disks) will not work, it's all Intel only and contains no PPC code.

To fake out Leo installer, use OF method (i copied it for you from: http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html):

1. Reboot your Mac and hold down the Cmd-Opt-O-F keys until you get a white screen with black text. This is the Open Firmware prompt.

2. Insert the Mac OS X Leopard Install DVD.

3. Type the following lines exactly as shown below into the Open Firmware prompt. Be mindful of capitalization, spaces, zeros, etc. If the command is properly typed and understood, Open Firmware will display "ok" at the end of each line after you hit "return". What these lines do is set the CPU speed reported by Open Firmware to OS X as an 867 MHz G4 processor system. They then continue the boot from the DVD drive.

For single CPUs, use the following three lines:

dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
boot cd:,\\:tbxi


4. Continue the install normally.

5. This CPU setting is only in effect until the Mac reboots. Once OS X Leopard is installed and your Mac has rebooted, the proper CPU speed should once again be displayed when you select About This Mac under the Apple menu.


That's all you need to do.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 02:04 PM   #9
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Since 10.4 ANY optical drive works with default OS X drivers.
OP, just grab one which reads DL discs (Leopard is on DL). You will also need BOX (retail) copy of 10.5 install DVD. Dedicated one (gray disks) will not work, it's all Intel only and contains no PPC code.

To fake out Leo installer, use OF method (i copied it for you from: http://lowendmac.com/osx/leopard/openfirmware.html):

1. Reboot your Mac and hold down the Cmd-Opt-O-F keys until you get a white screen with black text. This is the Open Firmware prompt.

2. Insert the Mac OS X Leopard Install DVD.

3. Type the following lines exactly as shown below into the Open Firmware prompt. Be mindful of capitalization, spaces, zeros, etc. If the command is properly typed and understood, Open Firmware will display "ok" at the end of each line after you hit "return". What these lines do is set the CPU speed reported by Open Firmware to OS X as an 867 MHz G4 processor system. They then continue the boot from the DVD drive.

For single CPUs, use the following three lines:

dev /cpus/PowerPC,G4@0
d# 867000000 encode-int " clock-frequency" property
boot cd:,\\:tbxi


4. Continue the install normally.

5. This CPU setting is only in effect until the Mac reboots. Once OS X Leopard is installed and your Mac has rebooted, the proper CPU speed should once again be displayed when you select About This Mac under the Apple menu.


That's all you need to do.
Crap, whar do I get non-gray CDs from. Damn, thatll be another search for the BOX version I guess. Don't think that's worth it, I'm not willing to invest money in the upgrade. Then leave it like that, or try with the modded OSInstall.mpkg then. Thanks for all the help though!
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 03:52 PM   #10
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
this is the modded osinstall.mpkg, it should run on g4's from 502mhz and up, so it should work with you 800mhz imac, do you know how to put it into the disc image (remember to unzip he file first)
Attached Files
File Type: zip OSInstall.mpkg.zip (845.9 KB, 316 views)
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 03:59 PM   #11
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
this is the modded osinstall.mpkg, it should run on g4's from 502mhz and up, so it should work with you 800mhz imac, do you know how to put it into the disc image (remember to unzip he file first)
Ok, thanks a bunch! Ill look up the tutorial on working with the modified OSInstall, it was somewhere here I think, Ill find it.
Shall I post back here if it works(or not)?

Cheers
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 04:33 PM   #12
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
post back here if it works(or not)
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 12:04 PM   #13
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by max•• View Post
post back here if it works(or not)
YARRR, IT WORKS!

Epic win here, thanks to max••, thank you sooo much. I just copied to external, replaced the package, and BOOM!
By the way, would you know why for this installing, I didn't need the second Leopard CD?

Cheers anyways, ITS ALIVE
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 12:19 PM   #14
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilopew View Post
By the way, would you know why for this installing, I didn't need the second Leopard CD?
You probably not checked any additional software to install (iLife etc).

BTW, if it works with your gray Intel dedicated disks, it means that there is full install for both architectures (PPC and Intel). So, it's my bad. I've always thought that dedicated install disks contains only specific architecture OS version.
Good to know for the future
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 12:31 PM   #15
Pilopew
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
You probably not checked any additional software to install (iLife etc).

BTW, if it works with your gray Intel dedicated disks, it means that there is full install for both architectures (PPC and Intel). So, it's my bad. I've always thought that dedicated install disks contains only specific architecture OS version.
Good to know for the future
Thats cool
I indeed do not seem to have iLife installed, oh noes. Oh well, I'll take care of that later, atm I'm busy doing updates etc etc.
Thanks for the help though
Pilopew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 01:40 PM   #16
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilopew View Post
YARRR, IT WORKS!

Epic win here, thanks to max••, thank you sooo much. I just copied to external, replaced the package, and BOOM!
By the way, would you know why for this installing, I didn't need the second Leopard CD?

Cheers anyways, ITS ALIVE
I'm happy to help

Edit: it probably didn't install Ilife as the osinstall.mpkg was made from my retail leopard disc witch dosn't include Ilife
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 07:27 PM   #17
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Dedicated one (gray disks) will not work, it's all Intel only and contains no PPC code...
As an aside, that is totally untrue. Yes, a grey install DVD will only install on the Mac that shipped with the DVD but that OS will run just fine on a PowerPC Mac once it's been installed.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2010, 01:03 AM   #18
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Huh, to be exact, this what you were that kind to quote, is PARTIALLY untrue
That's why i wrote this after:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
BTW, if it works with your gray Intel dedicated disks, it means that there is full install for both architectures (PPC and Intel). So, it's my bad. I've always thought that dedicated install disks contains only specific architecture OS version.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jun 2, 2010 at 06:14 AM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2010, 06:47 AM   #19
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
just to clear up some confusion, the gray disks may well only install on intel, but it is only told it can't do that by the osinstall.mpkg, the osinstall.mpkg i used was from my retail disk so it is told it can install on ppc or intel
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2010, 03:00 PM   #20
Strandpirat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Question to max••

Hi max••,
is it possible to do something similar for installing the ILife08 to a G3 800 MHZ ? I am looking to have the iphoto08 running on the G3. thanks in advance
Strandpirat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2010, 09:49 AM   #21
Ramasjang
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I have used LeopardAssist for it.
Ramasjang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 03:28 PM   #22
Maxwelljr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Hi all

I have an Hi i have an Apple Power Mac G4 Desktop M8493 (January, 2002) - 250GB HDD. It has no operating system on it tho. I have an original OS X snow leopard disc however. The disc is in to the machine but nothing's happening.

Can you help

Btw it's dual processor
Maxwelljr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 08:02 PM   #23
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxwelljr View Post
I have an Hi i have an Apple Power Mac G4 Desktop M8493 (January, 2002) - 250GB HDD. It has no operating system on it tho. I have an original OS X snow leopard disc however. The disc is in to the machine but nothing's happening.

Can you help

Btw it's dual processor
This was answered in your other thread. Snow Leopard is an Intell only operating system. It will not work on PowerPC Macs. You need Tiger or Leopard.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Leopard on eMac G4 ATI 800Mhz Makaveli6103 PowerPC Macs 8 Jul 9, 2014 08:23 PM
Emac 800mhz ,is leopard possible? Deniz070 PowerPC Macs 17 Jul 9, 2014 06:48 PM
Overclocking iMac G4 800mhz Doward PowerPC Macs 12 Feb 12, 2014 04:35 PM
iMac boot problems after installing Snow Leopard Fred Prior Mac Basics and Help 1 Jul 30, 2013 11:21 AM
Installing a .DMG of OSX Tiger/Leopard from Firewire onto iMac G5 iSight? Dabidoe PowerPC Macs 7 Jul 24, 2012 12:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC