Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2010, 02:26 PM   #1
jyhash
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Question Which is a better Hi-Def Player: MacBook (Early 2008) or PS3?

My home theatre is set up to run Boxee Media Center through a 2.4GHz MacBook from '08, but I also have a PS3 hooked up to play Blu-Ray's and games. Am I shooting myself in the foot (i.e. losing Hi-Def quality) by using the MacBook as my MKV and m2ts Player instead of the PS3? I have them both hooked up the same way (kinda): Mac>Mini-DVI>HDMI and PS3>HDMI, but does the PS3 process the HD videos a better way than the MacBook?

Just curious.

~JYH
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 02:37 PM   #2
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyhash View Post
My home theatre is set up to run Boxee Media Center through a 2.4GHz MacBook from '08, but I also have a PS3 hooked up to play Blu-Ray's and games. Am I shooting myself in the foot (i.e. losing Hi-Def quality) by using the MacBook as my MKV and m2ts Player instead of the PS3? I have them both hooked up the same way (kinda): Mac>Mini-DVI>HDMI and PS3>HDMI, but does the PS3 process the HD videos a better way than the MacBook?

Just curious.

~JYH
PS3 period!
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 02:44 PM   #3
jyhash
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
PS3 period!
Is it the respective video cards that make the difference? It's just a shame if I have to ditch the Media Center aspects of Snow Leopard for Sony's lackluster interface...
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 03:30 PM   #4
aixporter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Send a message via ICQ to aixporter Send a message via MSN to aixporter Send a message via Yahoo to aixporter Send a message via Skype™ to aixporter
interface aside, what type of hidef will u be playing?

1080p WILL choke on macbooks... while ps3 plays m2ts 1080p files like bluray.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2013)
15" Aluminum MacBook Pro (2008)
20" iMac G4 (2002)
aixporter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 03:38 PM   #5
jyhash
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aixporter View Post
interface aside, what type of hidef will u be playing?

1080p WILL choke on macbooks... while ps3 plays m2ts 1080p files like bluray.
I only have a 720p Plasma, so the 1080p is kinda wasted if I used those. I mainly use 720p res or lower on my videos. It does kind of piss me off though that with my media center interface (even when set on 720p in the macbook display settings) there is about a 1 inch black border around the screen that just WON'T go away that kinda pisses me off (and frankly, I HATE that ActiveResX program, or whatever the hell it's called)...
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 05:33 AM   #6
hardkoreprawn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
PS3 purely because of HDMI I'd say...
hardkoreprawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 06:04 AM   #7
carlosbutler
macrumors 6502a
 
carlosbutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London City
PS3, and the PS3 interface isn't exactly bad. Simply and easy to understand. Remember that you can also create a media server on your computer (just by installing something like Vuze) and stream it to your PS3 if it's on your computer.
__________________
24" iMac, 3GHz, 15" MacBook Pro quad
iPod Classic, iPod Nano, Apple TV
iPhone since release of original
easy-bills.co.uk
carlosbutler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 05:55 PM   #8
jyhash
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardkoreprawn View Post
PS3 purely because of HDMI I'd say...
Um, if you read the original post, I have a MiniDVI to HDMI adapter. So it is running in Hi-Def. Your Comment is irrelevant.

bigmanathome24

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmanathome24
PS3, and the PS3 interface isn't exactly bad. Simply and easy to understand. Remember that you can also create a media server on your computer (just by installing something like Vuze) and stream it to your PS3 if it's on your computer.
Indeed I can stream with a number of paid and free program options, but I don't get the MetaData access that I have on Boxee with my MacbBook when I use the PS3. I just wish Sony didn't illegally take away the "Other OS" option, then at least I could use Plex on Ubuntu as the media center and still get the benefits of the PS3's Hardware.

All in all though, I think my MacBook it probably doing a fine job of rendering the Hi-Def videos. I just need to get rid of the overscan border and I'll be set.
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 06:20 PM   #9
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyhash View Post
It does kind of piss me off though that with my media center interface (even when set on 720p in the macbook display settings) there is about a 1 inch black border around the screen that just WON'T go away that kinda pisses me off
what brand and model is your tv?

I have a LG LCD, and there is a "just scan" option in the aspect ratios. Also i discovered by labeling the input as pc, the tv made all the corrections, and it works fine.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 10:53 PM   #10
jyhash
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by waw74 View Post
what brand and model is your tv?

I have a LG LCD, and there is a "just scan" option in the aspect ratios. Also i discovered by labeling the input as pc, the tv made all the corrections, and it works fine.
It's a Panasonic 50" 720p plasma . It has a number of aspect settings and most times I end up putting it on Zoom setting and it fills the screen with only about 1/4th" of an inch cropped off the screen. But I would think that it should be able to fill the screen without cropping. And to be able to use the desktop, I have to shift the aspect back down to "full" which has the 1" border. The whole situation is just aggravating...
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 02:49 PM   #11
hardkoreprawn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyhash View Post
Um, if you read the original post, I have a MiniDVI to HDMI adapter. So it is running in Hi-Def. Your Comment is irrelevant.
I'd say it is relevant, seeing as the PS3 will be running video AND audio over HDMI. But, each to their own.
hardkoreprawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 02:56 PM   #12
jyhash
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardkoreprawn View Post
I'd say it is relevant, seeing as the PS3 will be running video AND audio over HDMI. But, each to their own.
No it's not. There's no point. If I run Video and Audio over HDMI, it negates the point of me using my Digital audio on my PS3 or MacBook running to my Amp, 7.1 Surround sound, and Sub. This really isn't to do with bundling audio at all as much as it is asking which graphics card and rendering engine does a better job with the HD Video Files, and as I'm putting HD video out over HDMI with both the Mac and the PS3, I'm still using HDMI for the video.
jyhash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 02:58 PM   #13
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyhash View Post
No it's not. There's no point. If I run Video and Audio over HDMI, it negates the point of me using my Digital audio on my PS3 or MacBook running to my Amp, 7.1 Surround sound, and Sub. This really isn't to do with bundling audio at all as much as it is asking which graphics card and rendering engine does a better job with the HD Video Files, and as I'm putting HD video out over HDMI with both the Mac and the PS3, I'm still using HDMI for the video.
I guess someone from an engineering perspective can answer that. I for one dont have the patience to use any PC as a Media Center.
PS3 is basic plug and play for me.
I remember the time spent on modding my XBox.
I sure dont miss those days :P
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 05:31 PM   #14
hardkoreprawn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyhash View Post
No it's not. There's no point. If I run Video and Audio over HDMI, it negates the point of me using my Digital audio on my PS3 or MacBook running to my Amp, 7.1 Surround sound, and Sub. This really isn't to do with bundling audio at all as much as it is asking which graphics card and rendering engine does a better job with the HD Video Files, and as I'm putting HD video out over HDMI with both the Mac and the PS3, I'm still using HDMI for the video.
I get the same from a single HDMI cable to my AV processor from the PS3. But, as I said, each to their own.
The PS3 has (on paper at least) a better graphics subsystem, being based on the GeForce 7800, whereas I would assume your MacBook is a X3100 Intel chipset. Both will be able to decode Full HD and when properly set up will probably be hard to distinguish from one another on a display.
One advantage of the MacBook is that you can use a multitude of applications as a media player, whereas you have a single choice on the PS3.
The PS3 is going to be a more integrated neater looking solution and will have a quicker startup time and probably be quieter in use.
The PS3 also has a BluRay player (and a very good one at that), which, depending on which model you have may also play SACD's - and also plays games...
hardkoreprawn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Is Better For Making Music...Which is A Better Buy ..... A IMAC or MacBook A.O.M.O Buying Tips and Advice 8 Jan 7, 2009 02:54 AM
recent powerbook or imac G5 which is a better buy? Old Smuggler PowerPC Macs 2 Sep 17, 2006 02:43 AM
In your opinion, which is the better purchase: MB or iMac? mattcube64 Buying Tips and Advice 22 May 26, 2006 06:00 AM
Which is a better deal? iBook or iMac? iMatt mini Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 11 Aug 10, 2005 11:18 AM
Which is a better buy; eMac or used iMac G5? Willy S Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 12 Jul 5, 2005 08:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC