Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Old Jun 2, 2010, 10:27 AM   #1
Nrwrit3r
macrumors 6502a

So, what IS 2gb of "usage" for an iPhone?

Hey guys!

Like many people who just found out about the new limit on the iPhone, I am wondering what 2gb of data really is? I'm planning on buying a 4g but I want to make sure I won't be going over the usage every month. I am young and use the internet a huge amount (thankfully I'm on a college campus and will mostly be on wifi).

But what is 1 mb of "usage" ?

I am a newbie...I am good with computers/phones, but I don't understand the whole usage thing.

If I watch a youtube video and download a new app every day, will I go over 2gb of data? Does the iPhone download a youtube video to watch it, or is a youtube video normally just 1mb? The new iPhone will have a higher res screen, meaning higher grade streaming....will I go over it?

And what about videochat? Would videochat easily suck up 2gb of usage over 1 month?

I don't currently have an iPhone and therefore cannot really go online and check my usage. Any information would be much appreciated!
Nrwrit3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2010, 10:28 AM   #2
Gav2k
macrumors 601

Why don't you log in and have a look? If you were using airvideo for example 2gb wouldn't last you very long.

I can see alot of people trying to save a buck and losing out on this one.
Old Jun 2, 2010, 10:30 AM   #3
Nrwrit3r
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Why don't you log in and have a look? If you were using airvideo for example 2gb wouldn't last you very long.

I can see alot of people trying to save a buck and losing out on this one.
What is airvideo?

And I don't have access to the account (I'm still on my dad's account haha), and I don't currently own a smartphone so it wouldn't apply to me.
Nrwrit3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2010, 10:38 AM   #4