Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nrwrit3r

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 25, 2010
Hey guys!

Like many people who just found out about the new limit on the iPhone, I am wondering what 2gb of data really is? I'm planning on buying a 4g but I want to make sure I won't be going over the usage every month. I am young and use the internet a huge amount (thankfully I'm on a college campus and will mostly be on wifi).

But what is 1 mb of "usage" ?

I am a newbie...I am good with computers/phones, but I don't understand the whole usage thing.

If I watch a youtube video and download a new app every day, will I go over 2gb of data? Does the iPhone download a youtube video to watch it, or is a youtube video normally just 1mb? The new iPhone will have a higher res screen, meaning higher grade streaming....will I go over it?

And what about videochat? Would videochat easily suck up 2gb of usage over 1 month?

I don't currently have an iPhone and therefore cannot really go online and check my usage. Any information would be much appreciated!

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
Why don't you log in and have a look? If you were using airvideo for example 2gb wouldn't last you very long.

I can see alot of people trying to save a buck and losing out on this one.

Nrwrit3r

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 25, 2010
Why don't you log in and have a look? If you were using airvideo for example 2gb wouldn't last you very long.

I can see alot of people trying to save a buck and losing out on this one.

What is airvideo?

And I don't have access to the account (I'm still on my dad's account haha), and I don't currently own a smartphone so it wouldn't apply to me.

GFLPraxis

macrumors 604
Mar 17, 2004
Especially since we're going to have two-way video calling on the iPhone 4G.
That 2 GB is going to go really quick with that.

iMrNiceGuy0023

macrumors 68000
Jun 5, 2009