Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 4, 2010, 02:21 AM   #1
hasanito
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Power lights on G4 AGP is continuously on

G'day
I've just picked up a G4 (450MHz) AGP from a friend and trying to get it to work. However I need a bid of a help to even start

I've went through the usual battery reset procedure word by word, as listed at apple support page.

The problem is, as soon as I connect the power cable, the power lights on comes on and stays on. This is before even pressing or turning anything on.
If I press on the power lights, still nothing happens, no fan, no noise nothing... just the power lights are continuously on...

any help or suggestions?
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 08:26 AM   #2
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasanito View Post
G'day
I've just picked up a G4 (450MHz) AGP from a friend and trying to get it to work. However I need a bid of a help to even start

I've went through the usual battery reset procedure word by word, as listed at apple support page.

The problem is, as soon as I connect the power cable, the power lights on comes on and stays on. This is before even pressing or turning anything on.
If I press on the power lights, still nothing happens, no fan, no noise nothing... just the power lights are continuously on...

any help or suggestions?
I've tested the PSU and it's working, following the suggestions at apple support forum. Replaced the front power-on unit with an another spare one and this time power light didn't light up at all.... so I'm not sure if this an indication of another problem or just that the spare power on unit is the faulty one...!!!
I will now remove the PRAM battery for overnight and see what happens in the morning.

Last edited by hasanito; Jun 4, 2010 at 08:56 AM.
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 09:18 AM   #3
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasanito View Post
I've tested the PSU and it's working, following the suggestions at apple support forum. Replaced the front power-on unit with an another spare one and this time power light didn't light up at all.... so I'm not sure if this an indication of another problem or just that the spare power on unit is the faulty one...!!!
I will now remove the PRAM battery for overnight and see what happens in the morning.
Good news about the light no longer staying lit when off. You certainly don't need to leave the battery out all night. 15 minutes is plenty. After that press the reset button right by the battery but be sure to press it just once.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 10:15 PM   #4
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
I've pulled the Pram batter overnight and still no luck!
I've got two Pram batteries in my hand and they may both be dead!!

If Pram batteries are low or just plain dead, what would be the actual symptoms?
Could that be the cause of nothing happening with the G4?
Is there another way to fault finding on G4?
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 11:05 PM   #5
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
The bettery could very well be the cause. I'm pretty sure that the only Mac tower in the last 10-12 years that will boot without the battery is the B&W G3. You need one on yours.

Another thing to keep in mind is if you press the board reset button more than once within 2-3 seconds it can drain the battery.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:26 AM   #6
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
The bettery could very well be the cause. I'm pretty sure that the only Mac tower in the last 10-12 years that will boot without the battery is the B&W G3. You need one on yours.

Another thing to keep in mind is if you press the board reset button more than once within 2-3 seconds it can drain the battery.
could they be recharged? or just needs to be replaced?

I'll try to beg/barrow/steal a multimeter to see how much charge in them, I think their max charge level is 3.7v...
at what charge level they'd be useless?
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:29 AM   #7
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
They are not rechargeable batteries.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 11:29 AM   #8
CubeHacker
macrumors 65816
 
CubeHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
The battery does not need to work at all for the computer to boot. The only issue with a dead battery is that the computer will lose clock settings if unplugged from the outlet. I have an iMac G3 who's battery is dead and i'm just too lazy to replace it. The machine works fine, but will lose clock settings if unplugged.
CubeHacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 11:44 AM   #9
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
cubehacker is right.

Last edited by zen.state; Jun 5, 2010 at 12:46 PM.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:02 PM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
I'm pretty sure that the only Mac tower in the last 10-12 years that will boot without the battery is the B&W G3.
With all respect to you - As a PPC geek, you should know, that it's completely false . Every G4 and G5 will boot without battery just fine, even better than with dead (or almost dead) one. I can tell it from my personal experience with G4 and G5 that i owned or repaired (total amount near to 200+).
CubeHacker is right.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:07 PM   #11
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
With all respect to you - As a PPC geek, you should know, that it's completely false . Every G4 and G5 will boot without battery just fine, even better than with dead (or almost dead) one. I can tell it from my personal experience with G4 and G5 that i owned or repaired (total amount near to 200+).
CubeHacker is right.
I was simply speaking from personal experience from owning 3 sawtooth, 2 gigabit eth, 1 quicksilver and 2 MDD. The digital audio is the only tower I have never owned. None of them booted without batteries. The MDD seems the most reliant on the battery of all the towers.

Not sure what we are doing differently but in my world what I said is true.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:20 PM   #12
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Well what do you know.. I just tried booting my sawtooth without battery and boom! It booted?

I guess in the past whenever I was dealing with the battery (which wasn't often) there was something else stopping it from booting.

I humbly stand corrected. The geek torch goes to cubehacker and 666sheep on this one.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:24 PM   #13
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Edited: it was hard to believe to me... THX for the torch

Back to the OP problem:
- how did you checked PSU (link goes to nowhere)?
- double checked all cables inside?
- when you open case and push power btn is there red light on logic board?
- is fan completely not run or is it tries to spin and stops?

Post more details about what you do and what you get.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jun 5, 2010 at 12:38 PM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:32 PM   #14
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
It's really hard to believe. I got few PM G5 and G4 (QS and MDD) and i can make video for you with everyone (maybe not everyone, cause i got about 20 right now and some are dead) booting without battery. Only one difference that comes to my head is, that you in America are running on 110/120V and i'm in Europe on 230V - but this makes no sense to me...
I'm not American my fellow PowerPC loving friend. Canadian.

In all those Macs I don't think I had to deal with batteries in each one. The only thing I can think of is there was something else stopping the booting. One of the times it turned out to be the psu not having a fan plugged in to it's 2 pin connector. I replaced the psu fan in my sawtooth and first tried to run it on molex with the wire sticking out and running down the side. Once I plugged the fan into thew 2 pin it booted fine. I went with molex first as I thought 2 pin might not alwats run the fan at max. It's a very good double ball bearing fan meant for constant high rpm.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2010, 12:42 PM   #15
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Yes, yes, edited it completely, see above BTW, i meant America (North one precisely) as continent, not States ofc.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 01:24 AM   #16
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Edited: it was hard to believe to me... THX for the torch

Back to the OP problem:
- how did you checked PSU (link goes to nowhere)?
- double checked all cables inside?
- when you open case and push power btn is there red light on logic board?
- is fan completely not run or is it tries to spin and stops?

Post more details about what you do and what you get.
uhm... the link is dead.. dunno what happened there but...
I've basically unplugged the psu from motherboard and connected the green cable o/p with one of the black (earth) o/p cable and connected the power. The psu worked and fan was fanning away :-)... thus psu works -tick!

I've checked the cables inside as much as I could and they all seem to be connected.

After the power button pushed, there is no red light on the logic board either.

The fan does not run at all, in fact nothing in the G4 does any kind of sound!!
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2010, 10:10 AM   #17
kbfr08
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Check for bad resistors or diodes near the PSU connection on the board, you'll see black smoke marks around them. If it's a 0 ohm resistor, you're in luck because you'll you can just bridge the two pads. It won't hurt to check the voltage regulators, they're labeled SC2602S. Also, check mosfets or capacitors for a bulge.
kbfr08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 04:54 AM   #18
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasanito View Post
uhm... the link is dead.. dunno what happened there but...
I've basically unplugged the psu from motherboard and connected the green cable o/p with one of the black (earth) o/p cable and connected the power. The psu worked and fan was fanning away :-)... thus psu works -tick!

I've checked the cables inside as much as I could and they all seem to be connected.

After the power button pushed, there is no red light on the logic board either.

The fan does not run at all, in fact nothing in the G4 does any kind of sound!!
PSU seems to be OK then. It will be difficult do diagnose without working parts.
Inspect all possible parts for visual damages (like kbfr08 said), including those both front panel modules. Also open PSU and inspect it's capacitors (unplugged ofc ). It might work without load but when it must produce some power, it fails (just a guess).
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2010, 08:13 AM   #19
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
PSU seems to be OK then. It will be difficult do diagnose without working parts.
Inspect all possible parts for visual damages (like kbfr08 said), including those both front panel modules. Also open PSU and inspect it's capacitors (unplugged ofc ). It might work without load but when it must produce some power, it fails (just a guess).
thanks
I've replaced the Pram battery with a new one and it didn't make any difference.
I may try inspecting PSU as suggested but what am I looking for? just if there is any burned damaged capacitors??

I found this link
http://www.scribd.com/doc/21536787/A...-Repair-Manual
to use as a guide to check the m'board.

I'll also take apart few parts PSU/front power panel/ram/videocard etc... to a friends place and test them on his G4
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 02:43 AM   #20
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
After going through all the peripherals and parts on a friends G4, I traced the problem to the faulty front power control panel.
The one and the spare are both seem to be faulty!!

Now I have to find a working one from somewhere!!
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2010, 04:12 AM   #21
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
I saw few on eBay, about $10.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 12:29 PM   #22
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
One more Mac saved from oblivion and put to good use!!
I found a part for the front power panel and it works like a charm..
Already installed Tiger and thinking about using it as a second computer and file server...
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2010, 05:01 PM   #23
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Good to hear it's up and running.
Regards for mactalk.com.au (blacksheep)
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2010, 08:58 AM   #24
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Good news! The power button panel is a strange part to stop working.

I'm sure you will get years out of it as a file server which I think is a great use for it if you don't want to upgrade it. These Sawtooth towers are the most reliable Macs that Apple ever made in my experiences.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2010, 09:44 AM   #25
hasanito
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
Good news! The power button panel is a strange part to stop working.

I'm sure you will get years out of it as a file server which I think is a great use for it if you don't want to upgrade it. These Sawtooth towers are the most reliable Macs that Apple ever made in my experiences.
just one question...
a hdd I had bought much earlier, 10.3.9 Panther-Server installed on it already.
I'm not sure upgrading whether to 10.4.8 Tiger or leave it as it is.
Which one is better, Panther-Server or Tiger on Sawtooth?
hasanito is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Mac G5 power issues - Red lights on CPUs gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 23, 2014 05:34 PM
Little part knocked off!!! No power no lights khaledq MacBook Pro 7 Aug 8, 2013 02:23 PM
rMBP : LED on power adapter never lights up, why? cooa99 MacBook Pro 8 Sep 12, 2012 02:03 PM
Help with installing tiger on AGP Power Mac G4? TotalNewbie PowerPC Macs 21 Aug 10, 2012 03:24 PM
Power Mac G4 AGP Graphics Best Upgrade. Good and bad news. Gionnimata PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 26, 2012 11:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC